We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, cramped hotel that's already looking dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bucoleon Palace Hotel
Ranked #282 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small, cramped hotel that's already looking dated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

On the surface, this hotel looks great; it's in a good location (within a 5 minute walk to all the main sights), it looks 'boutique' and it looks pretty new. However, there are many things wrong with it. First of all, the room is absolutely tiny for the price (I've stayed in other hotels literally around the corner so can compare). Not only is it small, but it's badly designed, so you can't open the wardrobe door without a lot of moving around. The bathroom was the same, and not helped by the fact that the shower leaked so we had to cover the floor in towels. Although the hotel is clearly quite new, there was already mould on the wall of our room. There was also not a lot of variety for breakfast, considering what we paid. There were a lot of minor things that made this hotel less comfortable than others - such as no instructions on how to use the safe and the TV channels all being in Turkish. I would not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svince80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunay y, Guest Relations Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Dear, svince80

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible services and experience and it it always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We are very happy to read that your experienced inconvenience regarding the services because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Many thanks for staying with us and we hope that have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Mohammad AlSamour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    66
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
38
108
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, excellent location, there was one less-than-friendly receptionist but the other two were super friendly so it made up for his grumpiness. A little noisy with the trains in front but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSteffens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunay y, Guest Relations Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Dear, MarkSteffens

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are more than pleased to learn that you were delighted with your stay and were happy with our hotel and services rendered to you in Bucoleon Palace hotel and your comments regarding our receptionist.

Thank you again for taking the time and let us know your kind and valuable observations and for your recommendation.

We do hope that we shall have the pleasure of seeing you again with us in not too distance future.

Kind regards,

Mohammad AlSamour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is set in a calm street. It overlooks the sea and is a few minutes' walk away from SultanAhmet mosque and the HagiaSophia museum, the grand bazaar and many other historic attractions.

For its price I find this hotel very satisfactory because I had free fast Internet wi-fi, flip-flops, reasonably priced mini-bar, satellite tv, a safe, and a laptop at the reception in case I didn't carry my own. Cleaning was done properly too.

The staff is very friendly, they all speak English and obviously know all about their city so their advice and suggestions were always a good addition to the brochures they have.

So all in all, if you're a casual tourist willing to see Istanbul while staying in a historic spot of the city with 4 star comfort and services, this hotel is a perfect choice. And if you're a businessman/businesswoman aiming for a more "cosmopolitan" place, then you might want to look into other places more to the north of SultanAhmet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Optimizt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunay y, Guest Relations Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Dear, Optimizt

Thank you very much for your nice review n our hotel. We are more than pleased to learn that you were delighted with your stay in our hotel and more than this we did meet all your expectations. we strive to provide the best possible services and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.

Many thanks for your nice compliments towards our services. you may rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and read with pride.


We truly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again in not too distance future.

Sincerely yours,

Mohammad AlSamour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

No problems with this very nice hotel. We had a junior suite and it was reasonably spacious with a panoramic view of the sea and a nice bathroom. True, if you looked down instead of out you could see the railway line and the road, but the sound didn't penetrate and this wasn't a factor. The hotel is on a quiet street too. The staff were helpful and will bring tea to your room if you ask. Breakfast is very nice and varied. The tv is LCD but only one English language channel and no dvd so bring a lap top and your own dvds if you want nights in. Sheets changed every afternoon, which is very nice these days. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunay y, Guest Relations Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
dear,Helen L

Thank you very much for your nice review on our hotel. we are more than pleased to learn that you were delighted with your stay and were happy with our hotel. We strive to provide the best possible services and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.

You may rest assured that your comments have been passed to the management for making corrective actions.

Once again, thank you for your kind observations. we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again in not too distance future.

Kind regards,

Mohammad AlSamour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Bucoleon Palace Hotel is lovely place to stay! The room was clean and looked just like the professional pictures on the website. Stayed in an economy room which had a street view, as opposed to sea or blue mosque, but it was a beautiful room, at a great price. Friendly staff, very close to all the sites. I absolutely recommend this hotel.

The only thing I would change - a double bed was actually two separate twin mattresses pushed together, wish they had one double mattress for a double bed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunay y, General Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Dear, Bethany R

thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Bucoleon palace Hotel. We are incredibly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. İt was a pleasure to welcoming you and we are honored that you choose to stay with us.

thanks you for your feedback and ideas for improvements and be sure i will share with our team to make suitable actions.

Once gain, many thanks for your kinds complements and your recommendation.

We truly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Mohammad AlSamour
On behalf of Bucoleon Palace Hotel Manager,
Mr,Sunay Yilmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piraeus, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Bucoleon Palace Hotel is located on nice and quiet street in a old city,in a few minute you are in Ayia sofia,blue Mosque and Top kapi.The staff was very helpfull and friendly,really accomodated all our needs.The breakfast was perfect on the terrace and the view of the marmara's sea is amazing.Just perfect i 'll be there again and the next time!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunay y, General Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Dear, Maria P

Thank you very much for your sharing your review of bucoleon Palace Hotel. We are honored that you choose to stay with us when you were in istanbul.

We pride ourselves on helping our guests create great memories of their time in istanbul. İ am so happy that we were able to do that for you. İ will pass your compliments onto our team.

Once again, many thanks for your kind review and for your recommendation.

We truly hope will have the pleasure to welcoming you back in not too distance future.

Kind regards,

Mohammad AlSamour
On behalf of bucoleon Palace Hotel manager,
Mr.Sunay Yilmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

l stayed ın thıs hotel one week ago with my girlfriend. we stayed ın the suit room which has gorcious sea view.there is a terrace on the top. we had our breakfast at the top. it was amazing. rich breakfast. we ate delicious homemade foods... everyday housekeping cleaned our room.the staff were friendly and helpful.they were all the time tried to help us and gave good recommendations for tours, restaurants and night shows.thanks a lot to all sttaf... altough we ask many questions to staff they always smıled and helped us. the locatıon ıs great; close to all hıctorıcal places. blue mosque, hypodrom area,sofıa,topkapi palace is close to the hotel..we went to all these places ın a few mınutes by walk. we had unforgotten memories in this hotel... we would like to stay here again ın our next trip.however we started to plan for staying in this hotel again.absolutely l recommend this amazing hotel to everybody...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alberto f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunay y, General Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Dear, alberto f

Thank you for sharing your positive and nice review of Bucoleon Palace Hotel. We are so happy that you choose to stay with us when you were in istanbul.

We pride ourselves on helping our guests create a great memories of their time in istanbul. We are so happy that we were able to do that for you. İ will pass your compliments onto our team.

Once again. <many thanks for your kind review and your recommendations.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mohammad AlSamour
On behalf of Bucoleon Palace Hotel Manager,
Mr.Sunay Yilmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#306 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#208 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#301 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#53 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#102 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Sultanahmet
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
#324 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucoleon Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucoleon Palace Hotel

Property: Bucoleon Palace Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No:22 | Sultanahmet ( Old City ), Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bucoleon Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a charming and quiet corner street in the heart of what used to be called "Stamboul" in the 19th Century of the Ottoman Empire, we welcome you to the Bucoleon Palace Hotel. Situated in the heart of what used to be capitol of two greatest Empires in history: Byzantine and Ottoman, in Sultan Ahmet District of Istanbul. Enjoy a comfortable stay while you sleep where the greatest empires have reigned. Have delightful, both savory and sweet, with diverse variety made in the hotel kitchen every morning. Breakfast is served on the terrace with sweeping views of the breathtaking view of the blue Sea of Marmara and the Princess Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bucoleon Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing