We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE! NOT RECOMMENDED!”
Review of Ast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ast Hotel
Ranked #1,029 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE! NOT RECOMMENDED!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

PLEASE pay attention to other reviewers! One good thing from this hotel is the receptionist, Mr. Ahmed. The others thing are totally minus! I can truly say, that this is not hotel, but HOSTEL! The information that is written are not completely true.

I traveled there with three friends, and according to the information, which I received by phone call, that I will get family room, with one big bed and two single beds. We got picked by one of the worker, Mr. Murat, who is acting friendly, but fake.

They took us to the hotel and we met the friendly receptionist, Mr. Ahmed. All of sudden they said that the room are full and they transferred us into another hotel, which is also the part of AST Hotel. They said, that it is a new building with new furniture.

We arrived there at 1 in the morning and we agreed to move, since we were very tired and need to sleep. The location of new hotel is quite far and we had to walk. The building is located near the vile area. And we saw that the building is not ready yet to be occupied. No internet connection, the floor is dirty and full of sands, the TV is not working, no BREAKFAST and the view is HORRIBLE!

The more minus thing is that they gave us one room with one king bed size and one single bed and they suggest all of us to sleep there! We are not a PIG! We pay for it! And we have argued with the porter, and he is not very polite and really disrespect the guests! And to solve the problem that night, we decided to get our money back and find other hotel. But they offered us to add more room and it is used only for a night.

We disagree and told them that we will move in the lunch time and still we asked for our money back. But suddenly we got information that we can stay at the main hotel at the lunch time.

At 10.00 in the morning the porter knocked our room and asked us to get out, because the room will be taken by other guests. This is one of the prove of lack of service and hospitality! We argued and we left the hotel at 12.00 as agreed.

Once again we met Mr. Ahmed, and with his smile and hospitality he welcomed us to the room that we order. The room is nice but the toilet is horrible. The water works very small. The view is horrible and you can not see the sea view as it is mentioned on the information.

The breakfast is only bread with jams and coffee or tea.

Then at night, the General manager of the hotel, Mr. Reis Tastan, talked to one of my friend with high tone in front of other guest at the lobby. He complained us, by making trouble. WOW! He is totally BLIND that his hotel is like a pig's cage! Dirty and smell awful! He argued with us and one really disrespectful thing is he insisted us to go out from the hotel. But we disagreed since he won't return our money!

Shortly, I DON'T RECOMMEND you this hotel! But if you enjoy wasting your energy by arguing with stupid porter and general manager, they will welcome you. And one more thing, at the time I was checking out in the early morning (05.00), I saw three guests are sleeping on the couch. I believe that they experienced the same problem and they did not get the room!

But yes, I have to say that Mr. Ahmed is really nice guy with pure heart to help people there! And yes, don't order airport shuttle from the hotel. order it at the agency near the hotel. The hotel will charge you 20 euro, while the agency will charge you only 5 euro! Enjoy you trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    19
    30
    14
    41
See reviews for
26
46
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Hotel is undergoing renovation at the moment. New rooms look simply fabulous and will likely be done within the next month or two. Old rooms are rather shabby, but all rooms are being renovated. Price was a bargain, likely as it was the off-season. Management exceptionally helpful, courteous, and accommodating. Included breakfast was simple, rather limited, and European-style, consisting of coffee, water, sliced baguette with butter and jam; better breakfasts could be found at other hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Check my pictures. This is the worst place ive ever seen! Greedy hosts also.. never again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schranzkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2011

It is good hotel if you want to rest near the historical center of Istanbul. Good rooms, friendly personnel, friendly atmosphere, all very liked us in this hotel! Minuses are not present.
I advice it to all of you!

Room Tip: The second floor is okay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaterynaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Me and my friend stayed in this hotel one week and had a magnificent stay. Everything here is excellent! If Turks are well known with their hospitality, the Neorion hotel family is much more; they really make you feel the most special! And the hotel itself is very new with beautifully decorated big rooms and high standard sauna department downstairs. Also it is ideally situated for all the city sights, walking distance almost everywhere. The breakfast is very tasteful and nicely untill 11 am., so you dont have to hurry in the mornings. So you really feel you are on holidays!
This was our third visit in Istanbul and because of the Neorion, definately the best! Next year we are coming back and for sure staying in this brilliant hotel again!

Room Tip: this hotel was very lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kama342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

we was there few nights the staff is very kind and helpful the hotel is nice and clean 24 hourse hot tea and coffee was ready in a day we drinked 5 time turkish the hotel very near to sultan Ahmet mosqe its really place nice to stay and the recepionist Ahmet was very kind and helpfull
i recomond this this hotel

i will come back

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ali a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#486 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#378 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#270 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#575 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#888 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#568 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ast Hotel

Property: Ast Hotel
Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. No 137/A, Istanbul 34211, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,029 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel where the guests are welcome in a warm atmosphere and where all employees have the concept of customer service department in their minds is designed with a total of 16 guest rooms. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, direct dial telephone, smoke detector, bathtub and shower, satellite TV, minibar and hairdryer. All rooms are sound proof due to their special double glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing