We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing hotel”
Review of Fors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fors Hotel
Ranked #575 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Confusing hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 6 night and i can say the hotel is ok since you are supposed to have some rest at night and go out the whole day in istanbul. But if you are not this kind of people and you like staying in your hotel room dont come here. The rooms are sooo small and the bed definitly not a double. The staff is nice and helpful. First nice i had a room at the ground floor with a window facing the street when people pass by i can hear their talk. The curtains are white and there was a horrible light coming from outside. Well my first night was a nightmare. Then i asked to be moved to a room not facing the street and i had a better room where sleeping wasnt a mission impossible. The hotel deserve 2.5/5 but i give it 3 because it deserves better than 2. The location is fine 10 minutes from the nearest tram station. I think in this hotel you just realise that you got what you paid for. Next time i will definitly pay a little more and stay somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Zeinab G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    38
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
42
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The best place to start explore Istanbul. Blue Mosque and Ayasofya in five minutes walk. Spice market and Eminonu Mosque in 15 minutes walk. Place itself is nice, room is small, but very clean and cosy. I was surprised by the fact that they change the bed and towels every day:) The breakfast was pretty good. And staff were nice:)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Note `Old Town`. Accept that first and you then apreciate the rest. Good location for walking all over Sultanahamet, most of the big things to visit are within a kilometer and there is a taxi company just on the next corner. Easy walking to the Kumkapi `tourist` eating out area, but don`t be afraid to try some of the more `local` places too, often with better food (try the one across the street from hotel for food cokked by the guys mum). We had no problems walking back around midnight from Kumkapi. The hotel itself is well presented inside with friendly smiles from all the staff, maids, kitchen and reception (as it should be but in many hotels is not). Yes rooms are small (put your suitcases on top of wardrobe!), yes bathroom tiling is ready for re-grouting, but overall functional, are kept clean and made a great base for us for wandering out all day. Look out from the roof to see just how old the area is, 16th century baths across street, and shoe factories for streets to the right (with shops to buy direct from) and some very old housing.
If you`re looking for luxury, this hotel is not for you but if you want Turkey, "warts an` all" with some of the friendliest people in a hotel you will meet, this is for you.

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Everything was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was continental style with plenty of choice and freshly made Turkish tea if wanted.Our room wasn't all that spacious but was adequate and very comfortable. Located at the edge of the main hotel area about 6 minutes walk into town, it was very quiet with restaurants, cafes etc just nearby. Heading away from town is a warehouse/retail area primarily for shoes with good cheap street food. There is also a Turkish baths opposite and a cab rank 25 metre away.

Room Tip: We had a twin overlooking the street which was quiet as the street is closed at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindaken152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This hotel is a small and cosy hotel near famous mosques and Top Kapi. You can also reach the new city with a comfortable tramway.
The hotel has small rooms but is very comfortable with friendly staff and a very good breakfast.You can feel the friendly athmosphere.
You can walk to the Grand Bazaar and a lot of small and good restaurangs are situated nearby.
Here you are in the middle of everything.
Close to the hotel there is an old hamam from 1505 which we also can recommend.

Room Tip: It is better too live on the first floor because of the stairs, which are a little bit steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleanor and Ulf Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Rooms are extremely small:
We asked for a double room, according to the north American standards we were expecting a room with a double bed that is big enough for two people or at least two twin beds; all we got was a small standard size bed that was pushed against the corner of the room. This was very inconvenient for two people to get in or out without disturbing the other; ascend or descend of the bed was possible only from one side. The one sleeping against the wall hast to climb over the one sleeping on the edge to get in or out of it. The bed linen was fresh, seemed like they changed it every day, but not sure as we were never there during housekeeping. But they didn’t clean the floor; I am a dark haired person and I saw my hair rolling around the room and bathroom for the whole time we were there. Speaking of bed linens, there was no fitted sheet; only one flat sheet and a cover. The cover was only a little thicker than the regular bed sheets. The pillow sizes were extremely small and you get only one pillow per person. We asked for extra pillows and got one, but next day it was gone!
The walls were paper thin; you can pretty much hear every conversation on the floor. We stayed on the 3rd floor (2 floors up from the lobby), and was able to hear everything from the rooms and the hallway; right down to the every flush of the toilet even the neighbour’s “business” on the bed or the toilet… (You catch my drift….).
One other thing I should mention is because it is an old building the way the stairwell is built is in a spiral design; therefore, the steps were triangular shape and narrow. Remember to watch your step.

Bathroom size is of an elevator (lift):
It was the most inconvenient and the tiniest bathroom perhaps in the world with no exaggeration. Let’s start with the toilet, the most important fixture of a bathroom. It was stuck between a wall and the shower stall. You can only sit on it and nothing else (see pic). The toilet paper was on the wall but couldn’t reach it without bumping your elbow on the wall. (Hint: take the toilet paper off the holder and put in on the door handle prior to sitting on the toilet for easy access). Say you want to flush the toilet while you are sitting on it, good luck!; unless you are an acrobat and can bend your arm behind your back to reach the push button and press it, forget about it!. Oh! And another thing, ladies if you have long finger nails, get ready to say good bye to a couple of them if you want to flush the toilet.
Moving on to the shower stall... The size was a 2x2. Once the shower door closes, there was barely any room to do anything. Trying to lather with shampoo soap was a challenge without bumping your head elbows and knees every which way. (Hint: leave the shower doors open, even if the water goes on the bathroom floor, there is a drain in the middle that will remove the water. Just put a floor towel so you don’t slip and fall)
The sink in the bathroom was stuck between the shower stall and the wall, just like the toilet. The sink was very small and there was shelf placed just above it which was not practical, and here is why. Say you are brushing your teeth and you want to spit, you need to get closer to the sink (if not you you’d be spitting on yourself); but that shelf if in the way, when you go down to spit, you hit your forehead on the shelf. Because you are aware of this you try to go under the shelf to spit, but if you forget you did that, you’d hit the back of your head on the way back up!. There is a hairdryer right next to the sink on the wall, but cannot really use it because your elbows will be hitting the walls; it wasn’t a good one anyways, just like a one you’d find at the gym lockers. Bring your own hair dryer and plug it in the room.

You get one bath towel and one small towel per person, no face cloths or medium towels. They are fresh and smell nice but some of the towels we got were ripped and should be replaced.

Room Service and Breakfast:
Avoid it!, highly priced for nothing; they just order it from the restaurant across the street and charge double. Just go out of the building and down the block you’ll find really great local restaurants for tasty homemade style food for like 7liras per person. The breakfast is included in your room price; however, it is a joke! If you are from North America and have been to “real” B&B, get ready to be disappointed. All they had was bread, cold cuts, cheese, a variety of olives, dry cereals, boiled eggs and cut-up franks (hot dogs). The “fresh” orange juice is not fresh. It is a store bought orange “drink” that they fill the fountain with. There were coffee and tea but I didn’t find any of it worth having.

General location of the place:
Convenient! Close to most of the sites and shopping; walking distance to most places. Just be aware none of the taxi drivers know this place. Be ready with the actual street address and the cross streets of the place, if not you’ll be paying extra for the taxi meter. The entrance to the street is quite dirty and full of garbage, along with tons stray cats. Streets are extremely narrow (but I expected it as it is an old city), there is no sidewalk; you are literally walking on neighbour’s basement window sills. Keep in mind the garbage collection in this area happens Monday nights around 1am. Too noisy and in-considered, you can hear the rumbling of the truck, banging of the dumps, and the truck driver/worker yelling and screaming at each other to get the work done.

Overall, overly priced for 70euros, please find another place. Perhaps this is what it is at a bed & breakfast of Turkiye; I recommend spending a few extra and get an actual "Hotel". In North America you can get a better "motel" for 20USD per night that feels more luxurious than this place.

Bottom line: STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Don't bother, book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travels-a-lot-1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forshotel, Owner at Fors Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Guest,

It was really long and hard to read your comments. It seems you are expert of travel and hotels because you have a lot of idea. We guess you travel a lot all over the world but we don't understand why you have got only and one review untill today?

We always thankfull who write us share their complaints because by the way we can better drive our business but you are BAISED, CURUEL and EXAGGERATED. We don't know who you are and how long you stayed? My office was just next to breakfast room, why you didin't try talk to me? Or why you didn't leave the hotel after 1 night stay?

We are in old city center so most of the hotels are little boutigue hotels in this are because you can not touch the old buildings. We are not selling with HILTON rates and not offering 5 star service too. This is a little, clean budget hotel. You can call BB too. 70.00 EUR quite budget price in this high season for this area. We have got another hotel at the sultanahmet square and average price around 140 EUR. You bay what you see in our web site. We don't trick or cheat anyone. This is a small, clean family run hotel with bugetable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Was saying that location is great, but it is not. Me as person who knows Istanbul well, I was searcing for this hotel for about an hour. Rooms are very small. Bathroom is nightmare. Breakfast is very very poor. I bet you can find better hotels for price this hotel offers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vuessal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#481 of 1,141 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#562 of 1,141 in Istanbul
197 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#404 of 1,141 in Istanbul
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#895 of 1,141 in Istanbul
357 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#295 of 1,141 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#754 of 1,141 in Istanbul
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fors Hotel

Property: Fors Hotel
Address: Piyerloti cad. Kadirga Hamam sk. No.10, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #575 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fors Hotel is located in the old peninsula of Istanbul within walking distance to it's highlights; Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace Museum, Archeological Museum, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Milennium Stone and Byzantine Hippodrome. All of them in walking distance within few minute. This charming and elegant hotel is an ideal destination for those who wish to live old Istanbul in a modern and luxurious environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing