We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”
Review of Old City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old City Hostel
Ranked #35 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Spent a great time at the cute city park hostel.everybody was very friendly and gave us tips about Istanbul.only few beds so its a little group of guys staying there so you get in contact quick with other people.when I go to Istanbul again it will alwaysbe the old city hostel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    28
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
7
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hostel was ok. Nothing too special. It's situated right beside all the main attractions in Istanbul, and was convenient for that. The rooms were clean, and so was the bathroom. There was a small bar downstairs to buy drinks from. There are windows in the rooms and you can hear some of the activity outside, so bring earplugs. Also, the owners will tell you the AC in the room doesn't work, and you'll sweat a bit at night in the rooms... Bullcocky. Open up the panel on the AC unit and hit a button to turn it on. Owners are a bit stingy...

But I didn't get a very fun vibe from the hostel. It was a quiet place to spend your time in Istanbul, and there wasn't really a place to hang out and meet other residents, and the staff wasn't the best.

That is, until we met Deniz the next day working at the hostel. She was very warm and welcoming, always greeting us with a hug and a smile. She took us up to the terrace and we played drinking games, with our group slowly being joined by other groups. We had fun until the owner told her to keep the noise down... (Is this a hostel? Party + fun = more people wanting to come...) Anyway, she then took us on a pub crawl, and actually invited some of her friends from college out to join us. I can honestly say this was one of the most fun nights I've ever had out, and my friends and I had a blast. We stayed out at bars and clubs Deniz took us to until about 4/5AM with a fantastic group of people.

Deniz made this hostel go from an "okay" rating to "awesome". Thanks Deniz!

Room Tip: The higher you stay the less noise you'll hear from the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was my first time visiting a city outside of the united states and we chose turkey because of the great airfare prices. This was also my first hostel and it was extremely close to all of the major sites and a bunch of good places to eat and some cheap ones if you wanna keep the budget low. But one of my favorite things at this hostel was Deniz who ran the office for a couple of days when we were there, she helped us find great things to see and get everywhere we needed to get, shuttles, buses, and cabs were all easy to get from here. It was also my birthday when they did their weekly pub crawl on the weekends and it was a really good time, we went to some local bars where we got free shots and the beers were a great price. This place is great and deniz is the best part, i really cant thank her enough for how fun my birthday was. Stay at this place

Room Tip: I like Dorm 2 if you can get it because its high enough to the terrace and low enough for the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

It's literally 5 minutes walk around the corner from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia, maybe 10 minutes the other direction to the Grand Bazaar and about a 15 minute walk down to the ferry crossing on the Bosphorous....so super central location. Right beside the tram line as well which is really easy to get around on.

Typical hostel - bunk beds, shared bathrooms, a slight feeling that you should wear flip flops in the shower, etc. I was badly stuck as a hotel I had booked claimed they never received the reservation, even though I had a copy of it printed off!! So I was very grateful that the owner had a spare bed in this place. If you like a bit of comfort and privacy then you obviously shouldn't be staying in a hostel, but if you're young or young at heart and on a tight budget then this is as good a spot as any. Cost for me was €25 for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The staff was unbelievably cool ! Great experience !
They gave us great tips of places to go eat and drink, and they let us left our baggages in the hostel and use their wifi even in a day that we weren't staying there !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtolomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The staff does everything they can possibly do to accomodate your stay, including setting up a beanbag hookah lounge on the roof in the middle of February! The location is incredible (our terrace view overlooked the Blue Mosque at night) and is easily walking distance from all the main sights. The heating isn't the greatest so just make sure to pack an extra sweater to sleep in. Istanbul was one of my favorite places to study abroad and this hostel definitely helped better my experience!

Room Tip: Don't forget warmer clothes to sleep in if you're going during a colder month!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miaa847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

First, there are two basic places where the hotels & hostels are. One is the Sea of Marmara side of the tram (T1) tracks (same side as Blue Mosque/hippodrome), and the other on the golden horn side (same side of the tracks as the grand bazar). From maps, you can not tell the difference. when we arrived in Isanbul we stayed on the marmara side. Don't do it. It is dark and steep, and not much there.

City hostel is in a excellent location. Bright, and right in the center of it all.

It is a dorm hostel, but it is clean. I saw them clean. They do an excellent job. Nice people.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#249 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arife Sultan Hotel
Arife Sultan Hotel
#476 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#23 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Inn14 Hostel
#1 of 72 in Ankara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cherry Hostel
Cherry Hostel
#165 of 1,195 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Hostel

Property: Old City Hostel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Bestekar Osman Sk No:9 | Divanyolu Cad,Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,195 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just in the heart of historical Istanbul, Old City Hostel is the best located hostel in Istanbul! Cleanliness, safety and comfort are top priorities for Old City Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Old City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing