We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Old City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old City Hostel
Ranked #32 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not bad but...”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Though it may be better equipped compared to other hostels around, it was not that a comfortable place to stay at. I should admit that it was clean enough but the attached bathroom was smelly. Another problem is the staff. One day a guy, who claimed that he was working for the restaurant downstairs, tried to get in the room and take one of the beds to take a nap. Of course I said no because I did not know who he was and it may cause a security problem. How can that kind of thing can happen in an average hostel? Oh, the breakfast was very poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Hoon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    28
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
7
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Old City Hostel is in the heart of Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul and at most 10 mins away from the Old City attractions. Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Basilica Cistern, Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar and many museums are around the hostel.

The dorms are clean, comfortable and cozy. The bar is active 24 hours a day.

And good price for beer ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TARIK_TEMELKOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the Old City Hostel at the beginning and end of a trip around Turkey. When we returned for the second time it was like coming home :) All of the staff were incredibly welcoming and generous - we had great fun drinking and doing shisha with Tarik and Rifat :)

There are two great areas to socialise - the roof top terrace (with and view of the blue mosque) and the downstairs bar where you can sit and soak up the atmosphere of Istanbul.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great. The location was superb - very close to all of the main sights.

If you are looking for somewhere friendly, safe and sociable... the Old City Hostel is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Spent a great time at the cute city park hostel.everybody was very friendly and gave us tips about Istanbul.only few beds so its a little group of guys staying there so you get in contact quick with other people.when I go to Istanbul again it will alwaysbe the old city hostel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hostel was ok. Nothing too special. It's situated right beside all the main attractions in Istanbul, and was convenient for that. The rooms were clean, and so was the bathroom. There was a small bar downstairs to buy drinks from. There are windows in the rooms and you can hear some of the activity outside, so bring earplugs. Also, the owners will tell you the AC in the room doesn't work, and you'll sweat a bit at night in the rooms... Bullcocky. Open up the panel on the AC unit and hit a button to turn it on. Owners are a bit stingy...

But I didn't get a very fun vibe from the hostel. It was a quiet place to spend your time in Istanbul, and there wasn't really a place to hang out and meet other residents, and the staff wasn't the best.

That is, until we met Deniz the next day working at the hostel. She was very warm and welcoming, always greeting us with a hug and a smile. She took us up to the terrace and we played drinking games, with our group slowly being joined by other groups. We had fun until the owner told her to keep the noise down... (Is this a hostel? Party + fun = more people wanting to come...) Anyway, she then took us on a pub crawl, and actually invited some of her friends from college out to join us. I can honestly say this was one of the most fun nights I've ever had out, and my friends and I had a blast. We stayed out at bars and clubs Deniz took us to until about 4/5AM with a fantastic group of people.

Deniz made this hostel go from an "okay" rating to "awesome". Thanks Deniz!

Room Tip: The higher you stay the less noise you'll hear from the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was my first time visiting a city outside of the united states and we chose turkey because of the great airfare prices. This was also my first hostel and it was extremely close to all of the major sites and a bunch of good places to eat and some cheap ones if you wanna keep the budget low. But one of my favorite things at this hostel was Deniz who ran the office for a couple of days when we were there, she helped us find great things to see and get everywhere we needed to get, shuttles, buses, and cabs were all easy to get from here. It was also my birthday when they did their weekly pub crawl on the weekends and it was a really good time, we went to some local bars where we got free shots and the beers were a great price. This place is great and deniz is the best part, i really cant thank her enough for how fun my birthday was. Stay at this place

Room Tip: I like Dorm 2 if you can get it because its high enough to the terrace and low enough for the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

It's literally 5 minutes walk around the corner from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia, maybe 10 minutes the other direction to the Grand Bazaar and about a 15 minute walk down to the ferry crossing on the Bosphorous....so super central location. Right beside the tram line as well which is really easy to get around on.

Typical hostel - bunk beds, shared bathrooms, a slight feeling that you should wear flip flops in the shower, etc. I was badly stuck as a hotel I had booked claimed they never received the reservation, even though I had a copy of it printed off!! So I was very grateful that the owner had a spare bed in this place. If you like a bit of comfort and privacy then you obviously shouldn't be staying in a hostel, but if you're young or young at heart and on a tight budget then this is as good a spot as any. Cost for me was €25 for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#246 of 1,129 in Istanbul
707 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arife Sultan Hotel
Arife Sultan Hotel
#476 of 1,129 in Istanbul
68 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Hotel Akdeniz
Istanbul Hotel Akdeniz
#922 of 1,129 in Istanbul
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#26 of 1,186 in Istanbul
337 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Lighthouse
Cheers Lighthouse
#7 of 1,186 in Istanbul
243 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,186 in Istanbul
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Hostel

Property: Old City Hostel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Bestekar Osman Sk No:9 | Divanyolu Cad,Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just in the heart of historical Istanbul, Old City Hostel is the best located hostel in Istanbul! Cleanliness, safety and comfort are top priorities for Old City Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Old City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing