We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, wonderful stay....”
Review of Agora Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agora Life Hotel
Ranked #44 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, wonderful stay....”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We love the hotel for many reasons. The staff was amazing, and did everything they possibly could to make our stay comfortable. Even waking up to a power outage...we were greeted with breakfast by candle light, and somehow...hot coffee! The hotel itself was lovely, very clean, reasonably priced in a great location. We will definitely go back to this hotel when we travel to Istancool again.....

Room Tip: We had room number 103, and had a balcony and a view of the Aya Sofia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollerDiscoPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    192
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
168
416
73
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Honestly AgoraLife hotel has been booked by chance. We (my wife and myself) just looked for a reasonably priced hotel in the city centre and simply found it in Internet. We were lucky and the hotel appeared to beautiful!
Very friendly and hospital personal, nice location within 5 minute walking distance from Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque, splendid roof terrace... everything was really great! The hotel is small and quiet and city noise doesn't reach it. Nice fish reastourant next door.
We've been in Istanbul for the first time and enjoyed Turkish hospitality a lot. Istanbul in winter is a real magic place. It is a pity we had only five days there and our dream is to go there again. And of course to stay in AgoraLife!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at Agora Life Hotel for five nights in January 2012 and were so impressed with the excellent service, friendliness of the staff, stunning rooms and views! Centrally-located in Sultanahmet and very close to the Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, little restaurants and shops as well as tram stations, it's the perfect base from which to explore the magnificent city of Istanbul. The breakfast buffet was really varied and delicious and I would suggest ordering a bottle of wine to sip on while enjoying the views from the roof terrace - they even presented us with a sumptious veggie and cheese board for free when we ordered wine! Rooms are cleaned daily, are elegant and come with complimentary slippers and nightgowns and other nice goodies. You also get a bottle of water for free daily. I will recommend this hotel to other travellers, it's really made our stay in Istanbul super-duper wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I travelled to Istanbul with my husband and we stayed for 5 nights in this hotel. The staff was very helpfull and friendly, they recommended us all the places to see in Istanbul. They also spoke English very well. The hotel is very comfortable and clean, also the rooms are quite small but have a great view on Bosphorus and Hagia Sophia. The location is great, only few minutes walk from Topkapi Palace, the Hagia Sophia and Tram station. I definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateryna0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Agora Life accommodated us at a very busy time of year, and that too for 10 nights. Not only was the service excellent, but we became part of the Agora Life family by the end of our stay. Each and every staff member was bright, cheerful, helpful and in the warmest manner possible. The people at reception, Kadir, Isa, all of them took care in giving us personal attention and helped arrange our outings every day.

The location is perfect because it is literally a 2-minute walk from the Aya Sophia and the most happening and magical 'Sultanahmet' area. This puts it at a perfect distance from the Tram station making it a very good location for tourists who want to remain mobile. The views from the rooms are breathtaking. Our room had a view of an Ancient Hamam on one side and the Bosphorus on the other. Our other room in the last three days had a view of the Aya Sophia, the Topkapi Palace and the Bosphorus Bridge that just being in that room was like going sightseeing.

Everyday we found our room spick and span, with an inviting complementary bunch of hot drinks to warm us up. Never has any hotel made us feel this special not only as customers but as people. We became so comfortable over there, physically in the fantastic rooms and otherwise with the hotel environment, that it was like leaving home by the end. We made some lasting friendships with everyone at the hotel and Agora Life helped make the Turkey experience complete!

P.s. Don't forget to try their delicious Turkish delights at reception.They are the best I've ever had!

Room Tip: If you are on the first floor then best to get the one with the views of the side streets as the Aya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Being encouraged by other reviews I booked this hotel for our 4 night stay in Istanbul. We were certainly not disappointed and I wholeheartedly recommend a stay here. We had the Bosphorus suite which afforded outstanding views of the Topkapi Palace, the Golden Horn/Bosphorus and the Hagia Sophia as well as the Galata Tower. The hotel is immaculate and the staff go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The Agora Life is tucked along a quiet side street which makes for peaceful sleeping but absolutely central to everything within the old quarter. Breakfasts were a European buffet style with freshly made cooked dishes to order. There are a whole host of fabulous little restaurants within a stones throw for lunch and dinner A laptop is provided within the lobby for guests' use. The hotel has a super little library of guide books which we made good use of. We had a super trip to Istanbul and will certainly return to the Agora Life.

Room Tip: The two suites on the top floor offer outstanding views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolinerevell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I just came back from visiting Istanbul for a week. I randomly booked the Agora Life and I'm so happy I did because this place is awesome. The rooms were comfortable, clean, modern and I had an amazing view from the Bosphorus suite.

The front desk staff were extremely friendly, helpful and they spoke English. They gladly helped me arrange for a private guide, taxis, reservations at restaurants, etc. The level of outstanding customer service and attention to detail made me feel like I was staying at a really nice apartment building with a front desk that I had known for years. I never felt anything less than their best and most important customer and the other guests I spoke to felt the exact same way.

The breakfast downstairs was great. Lots of cereals, breads and cheeses. The breakfast attendant, Ugor (sp?), also made me eggs sunny-sided up every morning without any extra fuss. Towards the end of my stay, he had the eggs ready for me and I didn't even have to ask. That kind of attention to detail and willingness to go above and beyond was typical of my stay at Agora Life.

Lastly, the location was ideal to tour the old city. It's easily 5 minutes away from Hagia Sofia. It's about a 15 minute taxi ride from the bars and clubs of Taxim but the ride was about 18 Turkish Lira. I personally liked staying but the old stuff and then taking a taxi to the bars at night. Agora Life is perfectly situated so you can visit some historic stuff, walk back to the hotel to rest and then go back out at night. My friends and I walked around during the day, came back, rested and then took a taxi to go out.

OVERALL - Customer service and a great deal are really important to me. I know there are other hotels that are slightly cheaper than Agora Life but I would gladly pay the extra few dollars to stay at a nice hotel that's clean, modern, perfectly situated and that comes with great customer service.

-Nicole, Lindsay and Stacy

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OfficeTravelLeague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#24 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#71 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#64 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Life Hotel

Property: Agora Life Hotel
Address: Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, this boutique hotel offers modern accommodation with free wireless internet access, free breakfast and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of Sultanahmet, Agora Life Hotel offers an ideal location for guests who want easy access to Istanbul's most historic sites. Each of the rooms is tastefully decorated and has contemporary wooden floors. They feature LCD TV and laptop-size safeboxes. Thoughtful touches also include bathrobe, slippers and a work desk. Istanbul's Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes' walk away. There are also excellent public transport links close to Agora Life Hotel, providing easy access to the rest of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agora Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing