We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful visit - great location, beautiful terrace and SUPERB Staff”
Review of Agora Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Agora Life Hotel
Ranked #46 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful visit - great location, beautiful terrace and SUPERB Staff”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I have to admit, i was a little skeptical when i made my reservation via booking.com. there are so many hotels to choose from in Istanbul and I was overwhelmed with the choices - but this hotel kept coming up so i bit the bullet and made the reservation for 10 nights. Within 15 minutes of my reservation, i got an email from the hotel requesting for my airline arrival information so that they good arrange for a pick up. from the airport - so I was impressed because usually I have to call the hotel to make arrangements.

When i got to Istanbul, the driver was waiting and there was no hassle. We went to the hotel - I was happy to see that the hotel was located very close to all the main sites - Sofya, Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar, Spice Market! In addition, it is very close to the tram in case you want to head to Beyoglu. The staff is small - but very efficient - Kadir - the Manager - is probably one of the best managers in the hotel industry! They had a bottle of wine for me in the room - free of charge! What a nice way to start my vacation!

The rooms are updated and nice - typical European style in size - but the nice thing is the rooms are very clean and maitained well! the terrace is really nice along with the other amenities. Needless to say the facilities are probably one of the best in the boutique hotels in Istanbul - Sultanhamet!

But what makes this hotel so nice - is the Staff -including the owner! they were available and prompt in thier assistance - that goes without saying. But they did more - it was my birthday - and they were very kind and generous - they arranged for a cake and gave me a gift! we had a little birthday celebration with the staff - honestly, it was one of the best times I have ever had in any hotel!

I am planning to go back to istanbul and will stay there again!

Room Tip: The rooms are nice - as with any boutique hotel - the higher the floor the better. Make sure to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fauzia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    192
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
168
416
73
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Agora Life was definitely one of the best parts of our trip to Turkey. It has a great location within easy walking distance of the old city and it's wonders. Clean and comfortable, the Agore Life's terrace gives a great view of the city, including a stunning view of the Aya Sofya. The complimentary breakfast was very nice and the terrace exemplary. Courteous and professional, the staff were always pleasant and very helpful. Effortlessly exuding an ambiance of comfort and familiarity that all hotels strive for, but few achieve, the Agora Life is a marvelous place to stay while exploring the magic of Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mojomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Staying at Agora Life was such a lovely experience. From being greeted warmly upon arrival with hot coffee and tea, to the panoramic views on the rooftop terrace, everything about Agora was fantastic. It's within minutes of Istanbul's most famous attractions. The rooms were clean and comfortable, while the staff was always ready to help. Overall, the experience at Agora Life only added to the wonderful vibes of Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jcaesar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Recently stayed at the Agora Life and was very satisfied. The hotel was clean, comfortable and hospitable. The staff were very polite and helpful answering tons of questions and arranging transportation, food, etc. The location is great for seeing the big sites in the Old City area. It is just down the street from the cistern and Aya Sofia. However, it is tucked away on a side street, and it has a lot of charm. It is also close to several forms of transit that can easily take you to other neighborhoods, though we often walked. Especially to the Spice Market and Grand Bazaar, and over the Galata Bridge to the Galata Tower, Istikal Caddessi, Beyoglu, Taksim, etc. Perhaps the real highlight of the Agora Life is the rooftop terrace with its amazing 360 degree view of the city, particularly Aya Sofia. We spent several afternoons/evenings up there relaxing with drinks and snacks, enjoying the view and the sunset. It was never crowded.

This was my first time in Istanbul, so I can't compare to other places, but I would certainly recommend the Agora Life.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor, which obviously has less of a view. I would assume the higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our 15 member group traveled to Turkey for our daughter's wedding. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality of our hosts at AGORA LIFE hotel. They could not have been more helpful. The rooms were spotless and the Turkish breakfasts were delicious. The roof garden was
delightful and the views of the old city were spectacular. For a boutique hotel it was # 1 uin our eyes.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms had beautiful views of the Bosphorus and old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The hotel is a little jewel in an excellent quiet location close to the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia and Topkapi Palace. The staff are very helpful, polite and cheerful and the terrace (on which you can have beers plus light refreshment) has a world class view of panoramic proportions. The room we had was small but perfectly formed and kept scrupulously clean but we had one night in a suite which was excellent. The breakfast buffet is delicious and as good as we have experienced. There are nearby reasonably priced quality restaurants and the tram system is within a few minutes walk and easy to use so that you can quickly get to the ferries which go up the Bosphorus.

The hotel can arrange a private car from and to the airport at a price just slightly more than a taxi but much more luxurious.

We have done many short break holidays (this was 4 nights) and this was the most enjoyable with no problems. If we are lucky enough to go to Istanbul again the Agora Life will be our first choice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

What can I say, all the reviews on here are spot on. We stayed at the Agora Life Hotel for a week from 19th May, were met at the airport exactly as they had said we would, even though a technical hitch with the plane at Heathrow meant that we were 2 hours late. On arrival we were given tea and a taster of turkish delight while we signed in. Our room, number 101, was small but just right for us, as we didn't intend to spend much time in it anyway. It was very clean, had everything we could need and more. At the price I would say very good value indeed. Our window overlooked the cafe opposite, which to some may be a problem, but we found the early morning sound of men chatting while playing backgammon over tea really quite nice, and all part of Turkish life. There was never any music playing, as men did what we all should do more, talk to one another. The staff were always very helpful, and answered any questions we had. The terrace is breathtaking, and on first going out onto it in the evening, it pretty much did just that. A view of the Bosphorus, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and in the distance the Galata Tower....how good is that? The breakfast is very varied indeed, as others have said. Always fresh, as much as you care to eat, and the breakfast room nicely decorated, calm, and with someone there to attend to your needs at all times. We will be back next year for sure, as this hotel offers a perfect haven right in the middle of this wonderful city, with everything a five or ten minute walk away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#24 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#71 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#65 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Life Hotel

Property: Agora Life Hotel
Address: Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, this boutique hotel offers modern accommodation with free wireless internet access, free breakfast and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of Sultanahmet, Agora Life Hotel offers an ideal location for guests who want easy access to Istanbul's most historic sites. Each of the rooms is tastefully decorated and has contemporary wooden floors. They feature LCD TV and laptop-size safeboxes. Thoughtful touches also include bathrobe, slippers and a work desk. Istanbul's Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes' walk away. There are also excellent public transport links close to Agora Life Hotel, providing easy access to the rest of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agora Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing