We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second stay”
Review of Agora Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agora Life Hotel
Ranked #58 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Our second time at this quiet, clean and friendly hotel, right in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet. It is only a few minutes' walk from the Blue Mosque, St Sophia, Topkapi Palace, the underground Cistern. In a little side street, very tranquil, with fantastic views from the roof terrace, we would definitely go back. It is worth paying the extra for the deluxe rooms on the 3rd floor, with spectacular views of the Bosphorus. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: 3rd /4th floor rooms have brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fenerbahce2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

This small boutique hotel was perfect in every way. It is nestled in the heart of the Old City- a short walk to all the major sites- Haghia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, etc. The view from the rooftop terrace was breathtaking at sunset and throughout the day-- the views cannot be beat. I stayed with other members of my family and we all found the hotel tops. I highly recommend it for any travelers to Istanbul. The staff was more than helpful and gave helpful advice and spoke English well.

Room Tip: the rooms on the higher floors have impressive views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank christina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Perfect location, amazing views from the rooftop and incredible, helpful staff. We were walking distance from all the main sites and across the street from the very well known Hamam. The staff was wonderful and celebrated my friend's birthday with a cake. Every question we had,Kadir took care of it. The rooftop terrace has one of the most amazing views we experienced in the whole city. Breakfast was bountiful with a great variety of both savory and sweet selection. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank plavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I have to admit, i was a little skeptical when i made my reservation via booking.com. there are so many hotels to choose from in Istanbul and I was overwhelmed with the choices - but this hotel kept coming up so i bit the bullet and made the reservation for 10 nights. Within 15 minutes of my reservation, i got an email from the hotel requesting for my airline arrival information so that they good arrange for a pick up. from the airport - so I was impressed because usually I have to call the hotel to make arrangements.

When i got to Istanbul, the driver was waiting and there was no hassle. We went to the hotel - I was happy to see that the hotel was located very close to all the main sites - Sofya, Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar, Spice Market! In addition, it is very close to the tram in case you want to head to Beyoglu. The staff is small - but very efficient - Kadir - the Manager - is probably one of the best managers in the hotel industry! They had a bottle of wine for me in the room - free of charge! What a nice way to start my vacation!

The rooms are updated and nice - typical European style in size - but the nice thing is the rooms are very clean and maitained well! the terrace is really nice along with the other amenities. Needless to say the facilities are probably one of the best in the boutique hotels in Istanbul - Sultanhamet!

But what makes this hotel so nice - is the Staff -including the owner! they were available and prompt in thier assistance - that goes without saying. But they did more - it was my birthday - and they were very kind and generous - they arranged for a cake and gave me a gift! we had a little birthday celebration with the staff - honestly, it was one of the best times I have ever had in any hotel!

I am planning to go back to istanbul and will stay there again!

Room Tip: The rooms are nice - as with any boutique hotel - the higher the floor the better. Make sure to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fauzia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Agora Life was definitely one of the best parts of our trip to Turkey. It has a great location within easy walking distance of the old city and it's wonders. Clean and comfortable, the Agore Life's terrace gives a great view of the city, including a stunning view of the Aya Sofya. The complimentary breakfast was very nice and the terrace exemplary. Courteous and professional, the staff were always pleasant and very helpful. Effortlessly exuding an ambiance of comfort and familiarity that all hotels strive for, but few achieve, the Agora Life is a marvelous place to stay while exploring the magic of Istanbul.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mojomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Staying at Agora Life was such a lovely experience. From being greeted warmly upon arrival with hot coffee and tea, to the panoramic views on the rooftop terrace, everything about Agora was fantastic. It's within minutes of Istanbul's most famous attractions. The rooms were clean and comfortable, while the staff was always ready to help. Overall, the experience at Agora Life only added to the wonderful vibes of Istanbul.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jcaesar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Recently stayed at the Agora Life and was very satisfied. The hotel was clean, comfortable and hospitable. The staff were very polite and helpful answering tons of questions and arranging transportation, food, etc. The location is great for seeing the big sites in the Old City area. It is just down the street from the cistern and Aya Sofia. However, it is tucked away on a side street, and it has a lot of charm. It is also close to several forms of transit that can easily take you to other neighborhoods, though we often walked. Especially to the Spice Market and Grand Bazaar, and over the Galata Bridge to the Galata Tower, Istikal Caddessi, Beyoglu, Taksim, etc. Perhaps the real highlight of the Agora Life is the rooftop terrace with its amazing 360 degree view of the city, particularly Aya Sofia. We spent several afternoons/evenings up there relaxing with drinks and snacks, enjoying the view and the sunset. It was never crowded.

This was my first time in Istanbul, so I can't compare to other places, but I would certainly recommend the Agora Life.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor, which obviously has less of a view. I would assume the higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#61 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,303 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#29 of 1,159 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#75 of 1,159 in Istanbul
409 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
#77 of 1,159 in Istanbul
736 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Life Hotel

Address: Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £48 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, this boutique hotel offers modern accommodation with free wireless internet access, free breakfast and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of Sultanahmet, Agora Life Hotel offers an ideal location for guests who want easy access to Istanbul's most historic sites. Each of the rooms is tastefully decorated and has contemporary wooden floors. They feature LCD TV and laptop-size safeboxes. Thoughtful touches also include bathrobe, slippers and a work desk. Istanbul's Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes' walk away. There are also excellent public transport links close to Agora Life Hotel, providing easy access to the rest of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Agora Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing