We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff”
Review of Agora Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Agora Life Hotel
Ranked #46 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We got a free upgrade to a suite for two days with a Bosphorus view and it was a wonderful surprise. It had a small attached terrace with a breathtaking view. The room that we got afterwards seemed smaller after the suite and it had no/partial view of Bosphorus. The room and bathroom was clean. The breakfast was good but it would have been even more amazing if it was served on the terrace. The hotel is in the heart of Sultanahmet so all the places to visit are within walking distance.

The staff is the best part of the hotel. Erican was the most helpful of all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    191
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
168
415
73
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

There are many hotels in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul, but of those that I've sampled Agora Life is, hands down, the best. The rooms are clean but generally average (seemingly a theme in the mid-tier Sultanahmet hotels). But the rooftop terrace, looking out over Haghia Sofia and Topkapi Palace, makes everything else matter less. Serenity amid chaos.

I also have to explicitly commend the staff. My (now) wife and I stayed there in the lead up to our wedding in Istanbul at another hotel. We had family and friends with us and organized a cocktail for guests on a Saturday night before the main event. The Agora staff went out of their way to make everything perfect - cannot say enough about them! Also we had at least 5 guests who lost luggage en route to Istanbul (thanks British Airways...) and the folks at the front desk worked tirelessly to locate and get the bags delivered - something that the 'nicer' hotel that we stayed at after Agora didn't do nearly as well.

In summary, definitely recommend Agora.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank talesofaturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agoralife, Manager at Agora Life Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear talesofaturkey,


Thank you very much for this stunning review you took the time to write on your recent visit at our terrace in Agora Life Hotel, Istanbul..
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel terrace . Thank you also for taking the time to underline the service you received from our dedicated team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Istanbul for another great experience.

Kindest Regards,

Kadir Cikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for 5 days, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, gave us good suggestions. The hotel's locations is perfect for discovering all that Sultanahmet has to offer. I would recommend this place to everyone, especially the Bosphorous suite which had a small terrace with beautiful views of the water. The only negative I have is that we were there at the end of July, it was quite warm, and I think the room's AC (in addition to a few other items) is nearing the end of it's life expectancy.

Room Tip: Suites on top (4th) floor have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agoralife, Manager at Agora Life Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Ahmad I,

Thank you for taking the time to post your warm recommendation on Trip Advisor.
We really appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear about your experience.

We will also analyse your criticism about AC and will improve it to the top level.

Thanks again for staying with us and look forward to meeting you again.

Sincere regards,

Kadir Cikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We (as parents) were staying at the hotel as the World Youth (u18) Championship for Water Polo was being played in Istanbul. We asked if the hotel was interested in hosting a dinner for the boys and other parents on their terrace. They said they would be delighted and Mr Kadir gave us a reasonable quote.

Well what a special evening and a memorable moment for the boys and parents. The owner attended the dinner and as a special gesture presented the mothers with a present of a scarf. (Lovely touch). We had a wonderful night, great service and excellent food. This why this hotel is so well rated on tripadviser and how the smaller hotels can just do special things. We must support these great people.

Attached is a photo if the Australia Youth (u18) water polo team on the terrace with the hotel owner and staff with the Aya Sophie in the background.

The staff worked so hard to set up, pack up and support us. A special mention to the chef as she ensured the boys had huge meals which was best quality that they had had on tour. Nothing was too much trouble and they all worked so hard. A big thank you. Now this is service. These guys just get great hospitality. I will rave about the hotel in another review.

Thank you to the Agora Life Hotel Owner, Manager (Mr Kadir) and their staff.


John P.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agoralife, Manager at Agora Life Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear John P,

Let me express how grateful i am for the time you dedicated to this review. It looks like you were able to make the best of your stay amongst us.

I am glad you could feel the strong commitment of all our staff and we are humbled by your kind words. Thank you for choosing Agora Life Hotel, Istanbul and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Kadir Cikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I spent 5 fabulous days at the Agora Life Hotel! Great location excellent views extremely clean and ALL members of staff most helpful and friendly! They made the right suggestions and helped us build wonderful new memories! Definetely a place to recommend to all my family and friends and for me a beautiful birthday to remember ! Thank you so very much Kadir and all your staff!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplydani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agoralife, Manager at Agora Life Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Simplydani,


Thank you for taking the time to post your great feedback on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you had chosen Agora Life Hotel and that you had a very positive stay.

The team and I would like to thank you for choosing us, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the city of history.

With warm regards,

Kadir Cikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

April was the 4th time I have stayed at this little gem. And I repeat verbatim my last review.
"It's tucked on a little side street 5 minutes from the tram and walking distance to everything. Rooms are modern, clean, simple and elegant. I will stay with them whenever I am in Istanbul. The staff is wonderful. Kadir and Isa and the staff are consistently helpful. A++++"

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agoralife, Manager at Agora Life Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Lee255,

Let me express how grateful i am for the time you dedicated to this review. It looks like you were able to make the best of your stay amongst us.

I am glad you could feel the strong commitment of all our staff and we are humbled by your kind words. Thank you for choosing Agora Life Hotel, Istanbul and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,


Kadir Cikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I spend 6 days in this fascinating city, Istambul. This was a perfect hotel just about 3 minutes walking. The area was sorrounded with very cozy and nice shops. The hotel was very nice, specially the rooms, very clean and terrace with the most fabolous view to a Mosque and the Bosfouros. They helped us to solve a problem we wncountered. I very highly recomendet it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verónica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agoralife, Genel Müdür at Agora Life Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Verónica L,

Thank you very much for your precious recommendation on Trip Advisor.
We are most grateful that you took the time to published this review about your recent stay at Agora Life Hote, Istanbul.

I am delighted that you choose to stay with us while in Istanbul and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Kadir Cikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#24 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#69 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#65 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Life Hotel

Property: Agora Life Hotel
Address: Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, this boutique hotel offers modern accommodation with free wireless internet access, free breakfast and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of Sultanahmet, Agora Life Hotel offers an ideal location for guests who want easy access to Istanbul's most historic sites. Each of the rooms is tastefully decorated and has contemporary wooden floors. They feature LCD TV and laptop-size safeboxes. Thoughtful touches also include bathrobe, slippers and a work desk. Istanbul's Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes' walk away. There are also excellent public transport links close to Agora Life Hotel, providing easy access to the rest of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agora Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing