We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and drink, great location, great service”
Review of Altin Kupa

Altin Kupa
Ranked #514 of 13,609 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Good food and drink, great location, great service”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very friendly and welcoming on our first evening in Istanbul. Maybe not 5-star cuisine, but exactly what we needed - with a complimentary brandy to finish off a very pleasant and relaxing experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    98
    18
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meyreuil, France
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Near the Hagia Sophia”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Altinkupa was chosen as a place for dinner due to a heavy rainstorm and the nearness to my hotel and the Hagia Sophia. The restaurant has a handsome interior, comfortable and warm inside. The staff were instantly friendly and supplied 3 menus, a classic Turkish one, a pictorial one, and a pictorial wine list. I didn't find the hummous starter to be very impressive, but the lamb stew and the aubergine kebab were very tasty. Also the 100% cabernet wine was excellent. We declined dessert because the choices were not seductive enough. Not a memorable place, but perfectly acceptable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeBaileyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice meal, good location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

This is a nice spot for lunch, good food and pleasant surroundings. Once we were inside, the waiters were attentive and friendly and we didn't feel rushed, despite taking our time.

The menu had a wide selection and food arrived in good time. Dishes were tasty, fresh and well presented.

A 10% service charge was quietly included in our bill without warning. An extra, expensive, drink was also wrongly added to our bill - this could've been a simple mistake, but be sure to check your bill.

Overall, a good experience. Shame about the surprise service charge which we felt was a little sneaky, especially as we're usually happy to tip well for a good meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The only reason why we went inside was due to the adamant guy at the door and also due to the TripAdvisor sign outside. The food was very average compared to other places in Turkey - very bland. The only reason I believe they do well is due to their location.

Helpful?
Thank OSlOlSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were here for dinner during our stay in Istanbul as during the previous days this restaurant was always packed. Another reason was due to the high Trip advisor ratings. However food was nothing special. The worst thing was they did not have the pita bread! Every restaurant in Istanbul offers pita. Service was also average. Would not recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nora0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Altin Kupa also viewed

 

Been to Altin Kupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing