We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White House Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #1 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, excellent location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from our 1 year anniversary trip to Istanbul where we spent 6 nights at the White House Hotel. The White House hotel is a charming hotel right in the heart of Sultanamet. The location is incredible - we were able to walk to all of the Old City attractions – Hagia Sofia, Spice Market, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Cistern – and just a short, 3 Lira tram ride or ~$15 Lira Cab ride to Beyoglu. Yes, the area is touristy, but a great area to walk around day and night. There are plenty of delicious and authentic restaurants to be found in the area.

The staff is warm, friendly and helpful. Nice buffet selection for Breakfast – hot food, cold foods, fruits, yogurt - which changed a bit throughout the week. Breakfast is served on the roof with a beautiful view of the city. Be sure to ask for the Turkish coffee to end your meal!

The hotel is super clean and comfortable with a great shower and selection of bath products. The room we stayed in was quite small for American standards, but fine for two people and to be expected for a European Boutique hotel.

Only con I can think of was the WiFi was iffy (but not sure if this was the hotel or Istanbul), but it was free … plus there is so much to do, why spend it in the room on the IPad!

Overall, the White House Hotel deserves the high reviews and I would highly recommended staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Jackie M ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,830
    320
    34
    3
    0
See reviews for
777
1,459
214
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a lovely experience. The staff were always charming and greeted you with a friendly smile. The hotel is located in Sultanahmet which is a few minutes walk from the main tourist attractions and if you wish to travel further afield the tram and metro is easy to access and navigate. Breakfast was served on the roof and provides a wide choice of Western and Turkish fare. We found we didn't need to venture beyond the food on offer though we didn't realise we could have requested omelettes until too late. The bedroom was beautifully decorated, comfortable and kept very clean. Complementary toiletries were provided in the bathroom and were replenished as needed. We had no problems with the wifi which seemed reliable. There are plenty of local restaurants which seem to sell very similar food. Prices were surprisingly high but I guess that is to be expected for tourists. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweebing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Sweebing ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had 3 nights at this hotel. It is close to all the major attractions and Tram stop.
Rooftop terrace for breakfast is a lovely location and staff attentive, however breakfast offerings are very Turkish unless you know what to ask for. Do ask for Turkish coffee - it is amazing and served in a traditional coffee set - but unless you ask for it, it will not be offered. We also discovered that they make amazing crepes but again you must request them - the staff are very obliging and make them for you but it would be nice to know what is available - I only knew about asking for the coffee from TA and discovered the availability of crepes by accident and was offered omelettes the next morning when I asked for crepes. A pity they keep these extras a secret.
The room we had was small but had a balcony. Rooms were always cleaned nicely. Wifi was a bit hit and miss (often dropping out) but I suspect that is Istanbul not the hotel. Our room was quiet even though it faced the street .There are quite a few nice restaurants in the street near the hotel - turn right when exiting the hotel and then first left. This street takes you down to the tram stop. By your Istanbulkart (Tram Card) from the Newspaper seller near the tram stop (7TL) - you can pre-load it with TL there as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Jenny717 ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 5 nights. The hotel welcomed us with drinks and Turkish sweets before taking us and our luggage up to the room.

The hotel is in an excellent location to explore Istanbul and all the major attractions are in very close proximity and walking distance. It is quiet but very near to the major sites and dozens of high quality restaurants are literally almost next door.

The staff could not have been more helpful or hospitable, they gave fantastic restaurant recommendations and assisted us in any manner they could.

The room was spacious and clean with a big flat screen TV and plenty of cupboards and drawers.I am very picky about where we stay generally and i couldn't fault this hotel in any manner it was perfect.

There shower was nice and clean and plenty of hot water, all of the decor is very fresh and clean and very grand.

The roof terrace with its super views of istanbul is great for breakfast and the very helpful staff even make you omelettes and fried eggs if you ask nicely. The staff also arranged very kindly our airport transfer and as we left before breakfast even packed us sandwiches for our journey home.

This hotel was like a home away from home and the staff made it all that much more special.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Istanbul's Sultanahmet area and want to see all of its sights in walking distance and stay in very comfortable clean accommodation i urge you to look no further this is where you should stay!! I think in future visits to Istanbul i will be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 385faisaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Faisal N ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel in Sept 2013 and strongly recommend it. We had a large beautifully decorated room. The staff was excellent and so friendly. Breakfast is served on the rooftop offering a large variety of delicious food. The terrace offered a spectacular view of the Hagia Sophia, especially at sunset. We often had drinks there before going out.

The hotel is ideally located in a quiet street and we could literally walk anywhere from there - the Grand bazaar, spice bazaar etc. The restaurants close to the hotel are touristy and fairly pricey. We had a fantastic dinner at the Imbat restaurant which is a rooftop restaurant just a few minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Carina F ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for three nights in this nice hotel right in the center of the old town. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. The rooms are well equipped but the plumbings are very noisy. Guests who care a lot about their privacy should avoid the rooms next to the lobby. The breakfast is served on a beautiful roof terrace and includes some nice pastries and, if requested, a delicious Turkish coffee.

Room Tip: The rooms in the ground are located just next to the lobby but are larger than the rooms in the uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Ben445 ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband, young baby and I visited for 4 nights. We were met on arrival with refreshments and a welcome of the hotel before being taken to our room. They had decorated the room in a lovely way and gave complimentary welcome wine. The 'farewell' was similarly friendly and complete.

The room was smaller than we would have liked but given the hotel was located in central Sultanahmet we guessed most rooms of that location would not be much bigger. We had a cot in the room so I suppose it felt smaller than otherwise. We were at the front of the hotel which was a bit noisy but nothing of significance to disturb us or the baby.

The location was excellent for us. Right next to the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. We walked to most places even with our young baby - Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Topkapi Palace etc.

The breakfast was fine. A reasonable selection given continental breakfast is the standard at most Turkish hotels. Do try the Turkish coffee - bitter taste but definitely worth the try. The view on the rooftop terrace for breakfast was nice.

Unfortunately our limited linguistic skills meant we were after English speaking TV channels but this was limited and no pay-per-view movies were available (although this seems to be the case for many Turkish hotels).

The shower was a great rain shower type and house keeping was good.

Overall service was very good throughout the trip and the staff were attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zlte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Zlte ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Hotel Istanbul

Property: White House Hotel Istanbul
Address: Alemdar Mahallesi Catalcesme Sok No:21, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White House Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White House Hotel Istanbul is located in the heart of the historical peninsula and it is within walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Archeology Museum, the Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, the Millennium Stone and Byzantine Hippodrome, which are the most important landmarks of the city. White House Hotel Istanbul is the ideal starting place for exploring this Ottoman capital city's endless historical sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your White House Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing