We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel when viting Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White House Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #1 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel when viting Istanbul”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Small hotel with a nice roof terrasse. Excellent location for the historical sites and the Basar. Very friendly and helpful staff. Small rooms but very clean. The breakfast at roof terrasse was a pleasant way to strat the day in a hectic city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Anne K ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,991
    326
    34
    4
    0
See reviews for
846
1,516
233
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We did enjoy very much our stay in this hotel. The location in Sultanahmet is close to the main historical sites. Also close by is a great selection of excellent restaurants with local food. The room and the bathroom was clean and well organised. Unfortunately the views from our room was not great, just a couple of meters away from a print shop, running the entire night.
Although the jung staff was extremely helpful and kind, we did miss the hotel manager; especially for a boutique hotel we believe, this could make the difference.
Excellent pick up from the Airport to the hotel avoiding all hassles related to selecting the right official taxis.

Room Tip: If possible please avoid room 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger1Winterthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Ginger1Winterthur ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the end of May 2014. The hotel is superbly central in the Istanbul's historic centre of Sultanahmet. Major sites like the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar and other sites are within 10' to 15' walk. Most of them you can see from the roof terrace.
The wonderful roof terrace, where a sumptuous breakfast is served, is open 24/24 and when you come back from your 'carpet shopping' or whatever, they will serve you gladly a coffee/tea/beer/wine etc, For dinner there are numerous good Turkish restaurants available within a few minutes walking.
The staff are absolutely effect and helpful -without exception. The rooms and bathrooms were most adequate (exceptionally clean and permanently serviced by the staff).
The hotel is child friendly. If you stay 3 or more night they will organize a free transfer between the airport and the hotel (our flight was late and all the administration at the airport took more than 3 hours, but their guy was still waiting patiently !!!)
Although a bit more expensive than other places in the area, I really advise to spend those few €. extra.nights and here. The hotel management and staff will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, I was impressed.
I will really advise this hotel. A tip: if you have a walking problem, or wheelchair, ask for a room at 'reception level', they are a bit bigger and easier to access.
I love Istanbul and will next time surely book at this hotel again! PS: There is no pool or fitness centre.

Room Tip: If you are handicapped, especially if you are in a wheelchair. Ask for a room on the ground floor wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hervecoenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
My Dearest Guest hervecoenen ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel was recommended by a friend who stayed here a few months ago. The hotel itself is just right for what it is: a boutique hotel in the old city, very close to some of Istanbul's major attractions.

First, the room and the hotel were clean. The bathroom pretty much sparkled, with attention paid to the design and to the amenities. The shower offered three water options: a rain shower option, a hand-held option, and a side option. In my (limited) experience in Turkey, bathrooms are something done well in that country and the White House lives up to it.

Second, the staff are very helpful and friendly. I arrived after my international flight just after noon, and a room was (happily available), along with the offer of some fruit juice while I checked in. When I checked out, I left my luggage and they were very helpful not only in getting a taxi but also in directing the taxi to my next location (another hotel on the outskirts of town).

The room was fine and the Wifi worked. Their restaurant recommendation was quite good, and comfortable for a solo traveller.

There is room for improvement in some minor areas. The breakfast choice was good, for instance, but there could have been more fruits and breads. I did not find stairs to the roof, where breakfast is served, so I had to use the small elevator. The building itself requires climbing about 10 steps to get in. Whatever small small shortcomings, the staff are well-trained and very hospitable.

Room Tip: I had not trouble with a room in the front. If there were traffic, it could be noisy. Saturday nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GL_from_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
My Dearest Guest GL_from_NYC ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times for work as location relatively convenient. Staff very friendly and helpful; location good, although the street both times has been very noisy early in the morning, despite good air conditioning in the hotel. It is a visual feast of reproduction gilt and cream everywhere - doors, beds, ceilings, etc. - completely over the top with giant gilded armchairs with creamy white upholstery in the reception to set the tone. The bathroom showers are good and there are nice local toiletries; tea and coffee and a kettle are nice touches; and fruit and even a small bottle of wine were left in the room on different days. Nice views from the breakfast room on the top floor. All good.

Downsides are that the breakfast is really cheap quality and compares very badly to even slightly cheaper hotels in the neighbourhood. The big detractor, however, is that it is relatively very expensive for what you get compared to competitors. Don't like the gold bling and, despite the very nice staff, would always stay at better value hotels nearby. Also find the breakfast a real let-down - for the relatively high room price.
To give some context, we hired a small apartment in Florence over Easter with lovely, simple antiques and a four poster bed and a terrace for about 40% per night less than a tiny room in the White House Hotel in Istanbul.
Despite the nice staff, there are lots of other choices in Istanbul and would always choose another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank floramalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a charming hotel with absolutely fantastic staff, some of the best I have ever run into and I travel a lot. The rooms are small but well appointed and comfortable. The location is fantastic, can't be beat. Although in a busy tourist are the rooms were quiet. The roof top restaurant was fantastic, over looking the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque, something out of a movie. The breakfast was good, fresh fruit, traditional turkish foods, baking, eggs, etc. I feel we got excellent value at the White House and would not hesitate to recommend it to others or stay here again. Only thing, if you have a lot of suitcases, your room will be crowded. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Kathy B ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The staff are what make this place really special. They are all so helpful and welcoming it really made us feel at home. Breakfast on the top floor was lovely. The breakfast is mostly in turkish style - no bacon and baked beans here - and it was all very fresh and good quality with plenty of choice. Our room was simply beautiful and had obviously been decorated with great care. It was very quiet at night and the location was superb. Close to many of the things you will want to see in Istanbul and close to the Sultanahmet tram stop . For Aus $1.50 you can get a tram to the other side of the bridge to go to the Galata tower. And its an easy walk to the ferry if you want to go on a Bosphorous trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
My Dearest Guest ferg78 ,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay a the White house Hotel Istanbul and for your great comments. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in Istanbul. It made me extremely happy to read your kind comments on our staff being helpful and charming. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at the White house Hotel Istanbul.

We hope you come back soon and visit us again...

Best regards,

Harun CADIRCI
Hotel Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,004 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#4 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Hotel Istanbul

Property: White House Hotel Istanbul
Address: Alemdar Mahallesi Catalcesme Sok No:21, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — White House Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White House Hotel Istanbul is located in the heart of the historical peninsula and it is within walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Archeology Museum, the Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, the Millennium Stone and Byzantine Hippodrome, which are the most important landmarks of the city. White House Hotel Istanbul is the ideal starting place for exploring this Ottoman capital city's endless historical sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White House Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing