We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but surely better options out there?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White House Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #1 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but surely better options out there?”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We chose this hotel because the postive reviews we read prior to coming. We found the hotel to be average, particularly when you consider the strong tripadvisor rating and the price they charge - rooms and facilities were basic, with street noise from our room at night. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, however were clearly interested in having its guests post a strong tripadvisor rating (we were asked at checkout and in a separate email from the hotel to give an 'Excellent' rating). Unfortunately I cannot agree with this and am sure there are better options in Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PrP_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,870
    321
    34
    4
    0
See reviews for
795
1,474
220
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The best compliment you can give is to recommend without reservation to family and friends. White House is ideally located....blocks from Hagia Sofya, Blue Mosque and Topkaki Palace. An easy downhill walk to the Bosphorus River and ferries. Best of all, it's just off main thoroughfares so not as congested and bustling in front of the hotel on a street that you feel safe.

From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with a smile and a genuine feeling of welcoming. Rooftop patio for complimentary breakfast with a breathe taking view.

Room was top notch, clean, comfortable bed, internet worked well. Complimentary cab 25 minute cab ride back to Ataturk Airport topped off the stay.

See you next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tsproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 January 2015
My Dearest Guest tsproctor ,

I am Harun CADIRCI the Owner of the White House Hotel Istanbul. First of all I would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write a comment about our hotel. I am very happy to know that you had a nice accommodation experience at our hotel.
And thank you very much with giving such a detailed informations. And thanks again for the nice words about our staff. We are so much looking forward to host you on your next trip to our wonderful city.

Best Regards;
Owner
Harun CADIRCI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Really great time spent at this hotel in old city. Large room for family of four, reception staff very informative. Free pickup from another hotel. Great location within walking distance all major attractions and transport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Denis M ,

I am Harun CADIRCI the Owner of the White House Hotel Istanbul. First of all I would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write a comment about our hotel. I am very happy to know that you had a nice accommodation experience at our hotel.
And thank you very much with giving such a detailed informations. And thanks again for the nice words about our staff. We are so much looking forward to host you on your next trip to our wonderful city.

Best Regards;
Owner
Harun CADIRCI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia - Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we searched for a small hotel near the 'sights' for our three night stay waiting to join MSC cruise - based on tripadvisor reviews, we went with White House - what a wise choice. Besides being clean and quiet, its service was graciously attentive. From the greeting 'meeting', when over orange juice, the desk clerk described the services provided, we knew we were in for a treat. True it lacks a spa, a pool and a gym, however, it has a partially covered, partially open roof top breakfast area with a commanding view of the Topkapi Palace roof tops, Hagia Sophia, Sulanahmet Mosque (Blue Mosque). Well located is an understatement. It is a short stroll to all the sights of "historic" Istanbul - to the right, Basilica Cistern and the other features around and about Sultan Ahmet Park; to the left, Grand Bazaar. Close at hand, the Metro light rail train system which whisks one from the Byzantine Walls one way, and the Golden Horn, the other. One example of the type of service is sufficient to prove the White House is not your normal hotel. We asked the desk clerk to recommend a local restaurant. She recommended Sultanahmet Fish House. Literally, down to the end of the block, turn left, walk a block. When we arrived, we discovered that she had called ahead to reserve us a table. On our return, we asked why. She said that it was a very popular restaurant, and she didn't want us to arrive there to discover we couldn't be served! absolutely fantastic. One note - the rooms are small to North American standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamesgraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 January 2015
My Dearest Guest jamesgraeme ,

I am Harun CADIRCI the Owner of the White House Hotel Istanbul. First of all I would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write a comment about our hotel. I am very happy to know that you had a nice accommodation experience at our hotel.
And thank you very much with giving such a detailed informations. And thanks again for the nice words about our staff. We are so much looking forward to host you on your next trip to our wonderful city.

Best Regards;
Owner
Harun CADIRCI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We decided to stay in this hotel based on the reviews and it was an excellent choice. The staff was absolutely amazing. I would highly recommend. It doesn't hurt that it's in a great location and hue rooftop breakfast area is an excellent start to your day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeccaAtlanta_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 January 2015
My Dearest Guest BeccaAtlanta_Georgia ,

I am Harun CADIRCI the Owner of the White House Hotel Istanbul. First of all I would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write a comment about our hotel. I am very happy to know that you had a nice accommodation experience at our hotel.
And thank you very much with giving such a detailed informations. And thanks again for the nice words about our staff. We are so much looking forward to host you on your next trip to our wonderful city.

Best Regards;
Owner
Harun CADIRCI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife an I were meeting a cruise ship in Istanbul and decided to take an extra day to see the sights. We booked the White House Hotel. It is located in the heart of the old city and convienient to all the major old city attractions. They arranged a driver to meet us at the airport. The hotel staff could not have been better upon our arrival. They offered us orange juice and some turkish delights while we were waiting a few minutes for our room. The room was very well appointed and very clean. There was a small bottle of Turkish wine with two glasses waiting for us in the room. The bed was decorated with some rose petals, a first that we have never seen before. The staff was great at giving us directions for waling to any of the attractions. Upon checkout, my wife was presented with a small bouquet of fresh flowers and our cab was arranged to get us to the ship. When visiting Istanbul again there is no doubt we would be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David_S48360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 January 2015
My Dearest Guest David_S48360 ,

I am Harun CADIRCI the Owner of the White House Hotel Istanbul. First of all I would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write a comment about our hotel. I am very happy to know that you had a nice accommodation experience at our hotel.
And thank you very much with giving such a detailed informations. And thanks again for the nice words about our staff. We are so much looking forward to host you on your next trip to our wonderful city.

Best Regards;
Owner
Harun CADIRCI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The White House Hotel certainly lives up to its high rating. We enjoyed three nights there -- a quiet, peaceful respite in the midst of Old Istanbul. A helpful staff, a lovely room, a charming rooftop breakfast. Its location is central to all the sights with many restaurants and shops nearby. Perfect!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor at the back of the hotel and we didn't even hear the call to pra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joyce-Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHouseHotelIST, Owner at White House Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 1 January 2015
My Dearest Guest Joyce-Wells ,

I am Harun CADIRCI the Owner of the White House Hotel Istanbul. First of all I would like to thank you for taking your precious time to write a comment about our hotel. I am very happy to know that you had a nice accommodation experience at our hotel.
And thank you very much with giving such a detailed informations. And thanks again for the nice words about our staff. We are so much looking forward to host you on your next trip to our wonderful city.

Best Regards;
Owner
Harun CADIRCI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#9 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#13 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Hotel Istanbul

Property: White House Hotel Istanbul
Address: Alemdar Mahallesi Catalcesme Sok No:21, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White House Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White House Hotel Istanbul is located in the heart of the historical peninsula and it is within walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Archeology Museum, the Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, the Millennium Stone and Byzantine Hippodrome, which are the most important landmarks of the city. White House Hotel Istanbul is the ideal starting place for exploring this Ottoman capital city's endless historical sites, museums, restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your White House Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing