We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again - great value, location and view.”
Review of Balat Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balat Suites
Ranked #652 of 1,248 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in the penthouse while our son and daughter-in-law stayed in a lower unit. Both units were bright and clean. The owner's neighbourhood tour allowed us to settle in quickly. Both he and the on-site concierge were very helpful. A few more pots, pans and utensils would have been good, but there was enough to get by (we like to cook full meals in). Ear plugs are a good idea if you want to sleep through the early morning call to prayer, but this is to be expected if you're living in an historic neighbourhood close to a centuries old mosque.

We were very pleased with the accommodation, finding the on-line description to be accurate. We would have no hesitation in booking here again for a subsequent visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2010

The apartment was clean and spacious except for a small bedroom. Exc WIFI.
You need to supply toiletries and kitchen supplies. Kitchen minimally
provided. Safe and secure. A helpful non English speaking "concierge" is available.
Location is great depending on what you need. Twenty minute walk to old city sights and
Ataturk Bridge. Nearby excellent restaurants. Interesting but poor neighborhood. Can jog or walk along the Horn. Owner was extremely gracious and helpful. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The pictures of the view from the covered balcony were what made me decide I had to stay here, and I have absolutely no regrets! Specific points:
--the apartment was clean and well equipped.
--the neighborhood just behind the building is easy to navigate and authentic Istanbul while still being welcoming to tourists (sandwich shops, grocery stores, bakeries, butcher, pharmacy)
--it is about a 20 minute walk to the tram stop at Eminonu, or an easy bus ride; there is also a bus direct to Taksim Square
--if you prefer, the Golden Horn ferry stop is about a 10 minute walk
--Daghan, the landlord, is friendly and knowledgeable and cares about your stay; Mr. Ibo, the on-site manager, is cheerful and helpful in every way
--you can sit on the balcony and watch the sun come up over the Galata Tower, or just watch the water
--it is perfectly safe to walk through the park, along the Golden Horn, at dusk or even at night, and very refreshing to do so

I have also stayed in an apartment in Beyoglu, and there's no comparison--this is the best! I can't imagine staying anywhere else, and I hope to return many times.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonTeacherJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous month in the Penthouse suite in March /April 2010. All our dealings with the owner both prior to and during our stay were prompt and professional and he was exceedingly accommodating and kind in every way! The resident caretaker was also a gracious man who assisted us with any daily needs and the building was kept spotless, security monitored closely and it was always a pleasure coming home to his welcoming smile.

The Penthouse suite is bright, beautiful and spacious with high quality appliances, décor, furniture and linens and big windows to enjoy the views from every room – fantastic! The views over the Golden Horn and city were mesmerizing night and day. The covered balcony with its traditional carved woodwork were the jewel on the crown. The full-length glass windows and doors in the living/dining room meant we could enjoy the views just as well from inside on the couch or eating dinner. The large wrap-around balcony was also fabulous with unobstructed views over the water, park and back streets. We could always find some sun for our morning coffee. The heating/aircon, SAT TV worked great and the internet was excellent.

It must be said that the location is brilliant - unobstructed waterfront location overlooking a park within walking distance to everything! Perfect. We walked to all the main sites in Sultanahmet; and over to Beyoglu and Taksim Square across Galata Bridge often. We loved walking along the waterfront park and the area always felt safe, and was very clean and friendly.

Perhaps the thing that was most precious for us was the opportunity to stay in a traditional Turkish neighborhood and getting to know the locals at our favorite restaurants, bakeries and supermarkets in the streets behind the apartments. The Monday street market near the top of the hill was super for fresh produce and and there were some great restaurants on the main shopping street at the top of the hill too and some of Istanbul’s best restaurants were just a few doors away.

Memories we shall always cherish from the suite : Watching dawn break over historic Galata Tower, the light reflections over the Golden Horn, fishermen cooking over open fires in the park at night, families picnicking in the park on Sundays, the full moon-rise over Topkapi Palace, the moon-set over the old Rose Mosque, the Call to Prayer and Filyos apartments!

I also had the opportunity to view one of the one bedroom deluxe apartments on the floor below several times and I would have been just as happy to have stayed there. It has a spacious bedroom and I loved the open plan living/kitchen/dining, soft colors and big windows and water views. The description on the Filyos website and VRBO website is true in every way and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the fabulous city of Istanbul and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 25YearsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Beware: Filyos Residence seems like an good place to live while visiting Istanbul, but there are a number of drawbacks. First of all, the residence has a rodent problem. My finace and I kept our top-floor apartment extremely clean, but every morning for two weeks we had clean up the mouse turds in our kitchen and living-room. Second, the apartments are misrepresented on the website. The owner claims that the apartments are "self-catering," but this is far from the truth. Both our and our neighbor's apartments were missing key equipment such as kitchen knives, cutting board, drying rack, broom, etc. On top of this, our apartment was advertised as capable of holding four people, but in truth there was only enough bedspace to comfortably fit three -- and no sheet or duvet to serve as bedding for the small pull-out couch. It's a shame that an apartment with such a nice view has so many problems! If you plan on staying at Flyos Residence despite this warning, make sure to be careful when negotiating the contract, because the owner may otherwise try to impose extra fees. And bring earplugs, because the noise from the busy street below can be very loud at night.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whirlwind14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank triperguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#789 of 1,163 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,806 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#77 of 1,163 in Istanbul
590 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#13 of 1,248 in Istanbul
548 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#453 of 1,163 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balat Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balat Suites

Address: Cibali Mahhalesi Kadir Has Caddesi No:51, Istanbul 34083, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Fener & Balat
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #652 of 1,248 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £35 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balat Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wooden building was built in the 19th century, renovated and re-built a couple of years ago. The historic wooden look of the building has been kept in order to preserve its naturality. It has 4 stories and composed of 6 flats total. One duplex flat (total of 100sqm; 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and open kitchen living room), 2 deluxe golden horn-view flats (total of 44sqm, 1 bedroom and open kitchen living room, 1 bathroom), 2 standard flats (total of 39sqm, 1 bedroom, 1 open kitchen living room, 1 bathroom) and one gorgeous historic peninsula&golden horn view penthouse flat (total of 95sqm including balcony and terrace-45m2 excluding balcony&terrace, 1 bedroom, 1 living room, 1 bathroom). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Balat Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing