We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Home Base!”
Review of Hotel Han

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Han
Ranked #111 of 1,061 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Home Base!”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The Han comes equipped with comfort and amusement. The rooms are a little small, but as a family of three we fit quite nicely. The bedcovers are perfectly suited to the climate, and you can keep the windows open to let in a lovely breeze. Everything is immaculate. If you have a room overlooking the street, it can be noisy, but it's pleasant to hear the city sounds and you might want earplugs anyways if one of your party has loud night habits.

Even if you're jet lagged, you'll spend a comfortable night in the room, after which you are given breakfast. It is traditional Turkish breakfast, with a different savory pastry fresh every day, and lots of fruit. You can also ask for bread, which is excellent, so there's something for everyone.

The people are also wonderful; the manager is very helpful in terms of directions and guides, and the maids are lovely. Outside, there are six or seven waiters who work at an adjacent restaurant. They are mischievous and very much fun (your teenage daughter will love them.)

In terms of location, the Han is perfect for those who have never been to Istanbul. The Basilica
Cistern is just a block away, the two famous mosques just across the street. For a less touristy part of town, there are tram stops very close, and the manager will be happy to tell you where to go. Also a walk away is the Galata bridge, and the ferries you can get there to many places, like the Chora church or Miniaturk.

Lastly, the Han is the cutest hotel in Istanbul. It is outfitted with charm and warmth and a pink and yellow banister. Certainly the best hotel in Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scarletmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    76
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
47
49
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I stayed for six nights and found the hotel to be ideal. Baha (sorry if I misspelled his name) is the perfect manager: kind, considerate, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The rooms are small, but so what? They are spotless and comfortable. The location is excellent. Breakfast was delicious. We were even served mulberries when they were in season. I would be back in a heartbeat. I enjoyed my stay immensely. Don't waste your money on bigger, fancier hotels. Hotel Han is all you will need.....honestly!

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room, book as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peccadillo1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Only ate and drank in the restaurant of this hotel, very friendly staff, lovely colourful hotel in this wonderful city. When we return we would definitely consider staying here, it is close to all the important attractions.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bigworld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed in Hotel Han for 8 nights with 8 people for a business trip to Istanbul. After arrival, we immediately felt like home and got along very well with both the serving and hotel staff. Baha (the big man in this place) knows nice places to have dinner, go clubbing or just get a good shave!
Big fun, definitely going to return here some day!
Guy, Maastricht, Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy_V_Maastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Initially we had problems with our reservation at some other hotel; they cancelled our booking 5 days before arrival, saying there was something wrong with the credit card. We suspect they gave our room away for a better price.

So we were a bit sceptical regarding hotel staff before arriving in Istanbul. But the staff at Han Hotel took away any doubt! The service was excellent! Anything hotel staff should be; always friendly, smiling and very helpful. They are more than willing to make reservations for a restaurant or night club for you. Nothing was too much to ask for.

Ask Baha the hotel manager for tips on which places to go and which to avoid, he knows best. We thought we didn't need his tips but he proved us wrong!

The location of the hotel is also great, at walking distance from the Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque and near the tram. The rooms are a bit small, but clean. Also important: the showers are very good with more than enough water pressure. Very good value for the money! We had a great time in Istanbul thanks to Baha and his colleagues!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoang001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We only stayed one night, right before heading back to the airport early in the morning, so we didn't have a lot of time to get to know the hotel. It is in a good location and the staff are helpful. I found it a little pricey (we paid 75 euro) for the quality of the room which was a little outdated/rundown, although there were small shelves in the shower which are not common, and much appreciated by me!

The hotel has a really popular restaurant on the sidewalk outside and a couple tables in the small registration/lounge area. This is really the only place their wifi works (the network didn't even show up in our room on the second floor), and it's a little hard because there isn't much space for hotel guests to just sit and use the wifi (I didn't even have a laptop, just my phone!). I ended up sitting on the stairs to stay out of the way of the restaurant patrons and staff.

Our room was an ok size, but we saw some other rooms that really were tiny, esp for the price. I mean, like Tokyo tiny. We travel extensively and don't mind small rooms, but some of those rooms are way too tiny for 75 euro.

The worst issue was that my husband found a cockroach in our room, right before we went to bed. Makes for tough sleeping! I didn't feel like the hotel was unclean; our room seemed just fine. But, that was a big downer. We stayed elsewhere on our first week of the trip and found it of a much higher quality overall (not even counting the cockroach). Istanbul has a plethora of hotels, so I think a traveler could find a much better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

the hotel is a quaint little one but very nice and comfortable i was really nervous at first for the first time alone .the staff were fantastic so very helpfull and good .i would like to thank Baha without his help i would have been lost .the hotel is five minutes from all the salient features next to the Basalica Cistern,two minutes from Aya Sofia five minutes from the Blue Mosque seven from TopKapi museum 10 mts from the Grand Bazar . and any tour or event one wants to see the staff arrange it . the food is excellent and i would recomend it to anyone infact have already told some of my friends

Room Tip: the double room upstairs is very nice the single k
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naff5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Million Stone Hotel
The Million Stone Hotel
#353 of 1,156 in Istanbul
97 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kybele Hotel
Kybele Hotel
#86 of 1,156 in Istanbul
333 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kervan Hotel
Kervan Hotel
#549 of 1,156 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#249 of 1,156 in Istanbul
184 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ares Hotel
Ares Hotel
#193 of 1,156 in Istanbul
605 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#429 of 1,156 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Han? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Han

Property: Hotel Han
Address: Yerabatan Caddesi, No:19, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 1,061 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have been decoreted with intense care by modeling Turkish traditional homes with susani , special design chandeliers, quality wooden furniture and also with air conditioner and mini-bar. High speed free wireless internet connection is available at all rooms. Major public transportation centers in order to reach allover Istanbul and Turkey such as tram station , bus stop, central train station and boat docks are all in walking distance from our Hotel.Hotel is located on one of the main streets of Sultanahmet named Yerebatan street, it is about 50 meters away to Basilica Cistern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Han reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing