We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #20 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I spent 4 nights and then back for one more at this hotel.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was large. I had the hamman room and while it takes time to heat it was great when it does. Maybe some instructions on how to do your own turkish bath would be handy.

Room was clean and the bathroom was modern. Lots of TV stations but only a couple were English speaking.

Close to the main sights of Istanbul.

Free internet in the lobby. Breakfast was good with an omlette made to order.

Room Tip: Go for the hamman room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    173
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
212
538
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

After seven days at the hotel, with a family of 2 adults and 2 children (5,5 and 1,5 years old) we can only summarize the entire experience as, Excellent! Like I stated in the headline, on a scale from 1 to 5, it's a 6!!
Why a six you might ask? Let me tell you.

1. Super friendly, caring and nice staff.
They were always smiling, helping out and just making sure we feelt at home and at ease. With a family with two small children, it's a challenge with almost everything you undertake. At Seraglio they made us feel at home. Nothing was too difficult to help us out with.

2. Super nice rooms. Clean, modern, spacious and just perfect.
Free Wi-Fi, nice double bed, air condition working perfect with adjustable temperature, very clean and very nice bath rooms, different kinds of pillows to choose from etc. etc.

3. Location.
Super good location. Minutes of walking to the most interesting sights.

Overall, I'd visit the hotel again and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone who’s looking for a super good hotel which is both comfortable and reliable!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank H_and_M_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed at the Seraglio for 4 nights in early June 2011. Quite simply it is a superb hotel in all ways. The rooms are clean and comfortable. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great for tourists (e.g., an easy 10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque).
There are lots of restaurants in the neighborhood (though these tend to have close to European prices). The several we tried were all excellent.
There was very good breakfast, a computer in the lobby for e-mail and wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnWByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I have always used trip advisor for guidance, but have never ever left e review, till now.
I \ we were so impressed by this Hotel that it would be a crime not to have done so.
My collegue and I stayed at the Seraglio last week, we stayed at the Radddison (Airport) on the way out on a business trip ( watch the drinks 18tl a pint that's nearly £8 ) . We had a taxi down into the old town istanbul and really liked it. Thought on the way back we would find a hotel in the heart of the area. Simply found this hotel on the internet via trip advisor and satalite map , then booked a delux room for myself.
My collegue found out later the next day that he also was retuning home so he booked a standard room for the same night as all the delux rooms had gone.
I have travelled all over the world on business and can say without a doubt that this hotel is up there with the very best for what you want from a hotel.
From check in the guys on duty were marvelous offering a free welcome drink (your choice) and being very very informative and helpful about the area we were in with the blue mosque and bazzar and also about Istanbul in general,
The room was really really nice, tastfully decorated (new) with a very comfortable king bed and also a single bed, a must for all Brits is the tea \ coffee facility and yes it was there !.
The shower was huge and I mean huge !! and the rest of the bathroom was also nice and modern and again fairly new decor \ pottery & furniture .
The room also had a veranda with table and chairs that over looked the internal courtyard thingymagig, again nice.
The only difference with the standard to delux is the room that my collegue was staying in, was the room size and no single bed, everything else is the same standard but differing deco including the shower (huge again)
The hotel is between 2 roads front and back, with the reception being on the less busy side. On the opposite side is the hotel bistro \ bar that comes out onto the road. On the night we were here a couple of guys were playing guitar and saxaphone in the bistro \ bar with some very chilled out music coming through (volume level just right to still let you talk) , just made you want to sit there all night and relax. I gather that this feature is most nights but differing acts.
We decided not to eat in the hotel, so that we could sample a little more of what was on offer around so we stepped outside into the street on the bistro side of the hotel .
All I can say is FANTASTIC, everything about Istanbul nightlife was there, bang outside the door, zillions of restraunts \ bars with roof top terraces mixed with shops, bazzar etc and none of it like Magaluf all very tasteful & low key the kind of area you could take your mother or daughter (no drunks or rowdies), and the prices were OK to, certainly cheeper than UK ie 1pint = 5tl.
Back to the hotel, breakfast is buffet style and if you cannot find something you like then you must only eat "mushy peas" as it was both varied and tasty with as much to eat as you want , they even have an ommlette chef waiting for your order.
Check out was all very easy with a taxi outside the door in less than 2 minutes followed by a smile,shake of the hand and a please come back sir.
I was so impressed with this place that I have promised to take my wife for a long weekend there later in the year.
Trust me & try it, you will not be disapointed.

Room Tip: Tripadvisor has the best comparisions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank almagettum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpierce64
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The good: The room size was more than fine and the room was clean. The bathroom was a good size with a large shower. The air-conditioning worked well and overall the staff was nice. Free wifi.

The ok: The location is in a very touristy area, which i thought would be good and may be good for some. But maybe because it's a touristy area of maybe because it's Istanbul, every shop owner and restaurant waiter haggles with you and borderline harasses you wherever you walk in the area. The location is quite close to the Hagia Sofia, Cistern, Topkapi and Blue mosque but you could take a cab/tram there from somewhere else for a day and sightsee and then spend the rest of your time in the city elsewhere.

The bad: Hard to put my finger on. I think everyone meant well at the hotel but after a while I just got the feeling that everything they told me was wrong. Here are some examples. My first night I asked the gentleman at the desk to make a dinner reservation for me at 10 PM, which he told me was too late. I said that I didn't realize people ate so early in Istanbul and he said that it was not healthy to eat late and made the reservation for 9. Later, when taking a cab to the restaurant, I asked for the address to be written down for me. A different gentleman assured me that he told the cab driver and the cab driver knew exactly where the restaurant was and everything was taken care of so there was no need to write anything down. Well the cab driver dropped us in the wrong place and, despite searching and asking directions (using only the restaurant name) for 30 minutes, we gave up. Ok, I wasn't happy but let it go because mistakes happen. The same day I asked for laundry to be sent. I was told it would be ready the next day. It wasn't, and came back the following day right before I had to leave. When the gentleman at the desk gave it to me, he said, "it has nothing to do with me." I thought this was a rather strange yet inappropriate response. When I asked if the payment could be paid with credit card, he said no and again repeated, "it has nothing to do with me." Maybe it was a language or a cultural thing, but overall all of this added up and left a bad taste in my mouth.

Overall: The rooms were nice and clean, the price was right and everyone I think meant well but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank mpierce64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The Seraglio is excellently located in the Sultanahmet (Old City) section of Istanbul, close to the Blue Mosque. All the employees were extremely nice and helpful and the two major front desk managers were full of good advice and ideas. A lovely hotel (great breakfast included).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HowardWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This is a beautiful small hotel in a perfect area. Everything was meticulous. The room was very comfortable and more than functional. Our hosts were amazing and went out of their way to meet all of our needs and guide us through our stay, from arranging taxi rides to advising on the best places to go, and helping us with our Turkish pronunciations. They saved me by sending a taxi to the airport with my hand bag when I left it before our departure. It contained my passport!
We highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickityruckus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,155 in Istanbul
762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,155 in Istanbul
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,004 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,155 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Point Hotel
Best Point Hotel
#34 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing