We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #19 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Hotel Seraglio is perfectly located, very near the main monuments but in quiest and pleasant street. The rooms are very confortable and spacious.
However, the best thing is the friendly atmosphere of the hotel itself and its nabourhood. It was really enjoible to get back after one day of exploring Istanbul. Everyone in the hotel is friendly and very helpfull. Everything was arranged perfectly.
I would really love to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcellino37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel wasn't the easiest to find (even for the taxi driver), but it is very close to the Blue Mosque and AyaSofia. There are lots of shopping and eating opportunities nearby. The staff speaks English well and are very helpful. The free internet in the lobby worked well. The cafe is rather small but the food was very good. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HistoryGuy1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in June and completely agree with all the positive comments that this hotel quite rightly receives.
All staff are friendly and helpful and the free airport transfer service, welcome drink and useful overview of the city upon arrival were much appreciated.
Rooms are clean and modern and breakfast selection is very good.
The hotel is in an ideal location for sightseeing with good transport links to other parts of the city close by.
Would definitely stay here again during our next visit to this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollies_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This hotel is in a great location, just a couple of minutes from the Blue Mosque and main sights of Sultanahmet area, as well as a street of top-rated restaurants. The welcome was super-friendly and during our stay the staff could not have been more helpful - excellent!

We booked the hamam room as it was only 15 euro or so more than a regular room - and were really glad we did. The hamam takes a while to heat up - I'd recommend turning it on when you arrive and leaving it on permanently - but is a really fun addition to a good-sized, clean, comfortable and modern room. Highly recommended for couples ;-)

Breakfast was included and very good. We ate there for lunch one day, not expecting much, but were really impressed by the delicious kebab wraps.

On a Bosphorus cruise, the big multinational hotels on the Taksim side were pointed out, but you'd be mad to stay there. Some of our favourite times in Istanbul were walking back from dinner or a hamam late at night, through the warm evening air and admiring the illuminated Blue Mosque, and being so close to our hotel.

Highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank nick_in_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We arrived late at night after a long bus ride and received the most cheerful greeting and a welcome drink straight away. The staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout our 4 night stay. We were told on arrival that the room we were booked into needed some renovation on the last day of our stay, so we were upgraded for our last night. I'm not sure what the renovations were, as the room seemed fine (apart from being a little bit noisy as it was on the ground floor near the stairwell) . But both rooms we stayed in were fantastic. Spacious, comfortable beds, choice of pillows, large bathroom, fast wireless internet...

The breakfast was also good with plenty of choice and omelets made to order. The free "tea-time" in the evening was a nice bonus too. We paid cash on arrival and received a 10% discount and a free transfer to the airport when we left.

The location is perfect for exploring Istanbul's sights - all in all, we were very happy with our stay here and would definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicken_features
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I spent 4 nights and then back for one more at this hotel.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was large. I had the hamman room and while it takes time to heat it was great when it does. Maybe some instructions on how to do your own turkish bath would be handy.

Room was clean and the bathroom was modern. Lots of TV stations but only a couple were English speaking.

Close to the main sights of Istanbul.

Free internet in the lobby. Breakfast was good with an omlette made to order.

Room Tip: Go for the hamman room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hobartgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

After seven days at the hotel, with a family of 2 adults and 2 children (5,5 and 1,5 years old) we can only summarize the entire experience as, Excellent! Like I stated in the headline, on a scale from 1 to 5, it's a 6!!
Why a six you might ask? Let me tell you.

1. Super friendly, caring and nice staff.
They were always smiling, helping out and just making sure we feelt at home and at ease. With a family with two small children, it's a challenge with almost everything you undertake. At Seraglio they made us feel at home. Nothing was too difficult to help us out with.

2. Super nice rooms. Clean, modern, spacious and just perfect.
Free Wi-Fi, nice double bed, air condition working perfect with adjustable temperature, very clean and very nice bath rooms, different kinds of pillows to choose from etc. etc.

3. Location.
Super good location. Minutes of walking to the most interesting sights.

Overall, I'd visit the hotel again and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone who’s looking for a super good hotel which is both comfortable and reliable!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank H_and_M_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#6 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,020 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,160 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#5 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#84 of 1,160 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,160 in Istanbul
834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,160 in Istanbul
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £34 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing