We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #21 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
suepaul93
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had 7 rooms at this hotel for a family vacation. Great location for walking everywhere. They picked us up at the airport if you pay cash which was very nice. They arranged Turkish bath reservations and dinner recommendations. The rooms varied in size but all were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great with eggs made to order and lots of fruit. I would definitely stay here for the value

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suepaul93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    173
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
208
533
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

On a girls weekend away so randomly chose this hotel.. Rooms very clean, staff extremely friendly and helpful.. Omelet breakfast was great and available free drinks in the afternoon.. Even though we didn't take advantage... Easy walk to everywhere.. Room next to reception was a bit noisy but I had ear plugs so lived with it.. Definately would stay here again!!! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearbear18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

I am currently still staying at this hotel for another 2 nights but could not help to write what a pleasant experience it has been so far. I booked this hotel based on other reviews on TripAdvisor And I have not been disappointed. From the time we arrived with a nice cold drink served, to the deluxe room at a great price and fantastic size, to the location, nothing bad can be said. The guys on reception are very very helpful - when our transfer did not turn up at the airport for a day tour we took to Cappadocia, they rang the tour company and I was reimbursed the cost of the taxi. The breakfast is unbelievable with made to order omelettes.
Overall, a fantastic hotel in the heart of Istanbul. Highly recommend!!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Seraglio starts off against tough competition - most places in Istanbul we went to, do their best to be hospitable - and comes out in flying colours.

They are so flexible and willing to ensure you get the best time out of your vacation that after some time one starts feeling that you are taking advantage of them! But only for some time - until you realise that these guys simply enjoy doing what they do and are perhaps more professional than staff at the best of the 5* hotels elsewhere.

Kenan was amazing - he helped changed our local trips at the last moment without any charge, arranged shows and outings at a moments notice, booked a nice hotel for us nearby and ensured everything was OK (and got us a discount!) on our return to Istanbul from Denizli (Seraglio was full).

There are so many good things I can share but I don't know where to start or stop...so lets just say, that this small hotel is one of the finest places I have been to, as far as hospitality goes.

Our room was nice, clean, spacious and airy. It overlooked a courtyard in the middle of the building, a nicely homely affair. We had two small kids with us. The bed was large and there was a comfortable rollaway bed placed.

Breakfast was generous, fresh and nice. Loved loading up on the local Turkish fare before starting the day.

Afternoon tea with fruits and cakes was good and we used the facility once. Very relaxing after a day out walking.

Location is fantastic - walkable from most major sights such as the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. There is a crafts market nearby which is very good and a lot less crazy than the Grand Bazaar - worth a look-see or for quick, efficient, quality shopping - we ended up buying more stuff from here than the GB.

There are some really nice restaurants in the area and several are open till late in the night.

It is also nice to walk about in area in the evenings and see the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, etc. lit up.

All in all, a nice place with a good balance of location, price, hospitality and comfort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC-- Brooklyn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Kenan and Jelar (day and night managers), and the entire staff of the Hotel Seraglio, make you feel like a visitor to a home rather than just guests in a hotel. No question was too much, no request too extreme, and they shared much of their own lives with us.

The hotel itself is extremely comfortable. We stayed in the hamam room to enjoy a greatly over-sized shower with sauna-like qualities. Awesome! The sidewalk café was a great respite after a long, hot day touring Istanbul and beyond with surprisingly good Hunkar Begendi (grilled lamb or beef over a creamy eggplant puree’). Breakfast is plentiful and offers a good variety. Note: One side of the building is stairs only, so if there are any accessibility issues be sure to request the newer side.

For you to be closer to the Blue Mosque or Hagia Sofiya you would almost have to room inside one of the beautiful buildings! Extremely convenient location, with many restaurants around. One drawback—and this would be true of ANY of the many hotels in this area—is that you have to run the gauntlet of shopkeepers at least twice a day as you go to and from the Sultan Ahmet historical sites with their entreaties to “just come look.” But this is no big deal as a simple “No thank you” keeps you going on your way.

One pleasant surprise is that Istanbul is an eminently walkable city, and the location of the Hotel Seraglio leaves you centrally located for ALL of the major sites of interest in Istanbul, with the exception of the Dolmabahçe Palace. Everything else can easily, and interestingly, be reached on foot and I personally recommend this as THE way to see the city (although the tram makes your return trip to Sultan Ahmet station ridiculously easy).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EngTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

In a nutshell, I rarely give 5's for any place and for me to give it to a hotel requires a great pool, etc etc. That's the only reason I don't give Seraglio Hotel a 5. This small hotel is a gem. It's about a quarter mile slightly downhill from the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. There are many restaurants right in the neighborhood and their restaurant is pretty good as well. That means you're also not far from the tram and, assuming you are mobile, it's a very modest hike to the ferry boats and Bosphorus tour boats, etc. But, what really scores high here is that the rooms are very nice; the bathrooms are spotless, modern and roomy; and the staff is terrific. We very much felt at home here. They're nice and they care and it shows. You can easily spend more money and not have nearly as nice a room. By the way, I'm not putting this just relative to Europe where hotel standards, except for the most expensive places, are generally below U.S. standards. The bathrooms would pass muster for a 4-rated hotel in America, and the rooms are relatively small but definitely not cramped. Also, get the breakfast included plan. The buffet is European, but they did have cereal and fresh fruit and will make omlets for you. That's in addition to the usual cold cuts, cheeses, and breads. It will save you time and money. There are no Denny's equivalents in Turkey.

Room Tip: Room 106 on the first floor can get a little noisy. Get an upper room. Talk to the staff. You'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Global_Coug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalkoy, Turkish Cyprus
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Just back from Istanbul. Picked this small family run hotel and what a good choice. Close to all the main tourist attractions and easy access to trams. Rooms were clean, comfortable...staff so helpful and a nice choice of Turkish breakfast. We had a standard room and our friends had the spacious hamam room, with Turkish bath included. Will be back in October!

Room Tip: 106 standard is ground floor close to the bistro...no noise and no stairs. 107 is also ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cyprusmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#11 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#12 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#14 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#35 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing