We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seraglio Hotel and Suites
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Regie Ottoman Istanbul(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$536
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Neorion Hotel(Istanbul)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$840
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
845
176
13
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
845
176
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosquehammam roomsmall hotelcomplimentary teahagia sophiaold citymajor attractionsturkeycomfortable bedgrand bazaarturkish bathperfect locationstandard roomwalking distancethe hotel staffhome away from homeexcellent hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I was probably swayed by other excellent reviews to expect more from this hotel. Still, it has plenty of good features. Firstly, it is just a few minutes walk to the Blue Mosque (and therefore to the excellent Mosaic Museum next to the mosque) and only a few minutes more to the other famous sites in the Old City. The room is small but well-equipped (fridge, kettle) and the bathroom is huge with a nice shower. (The bathroom includes a Turkish bath, which must appeal to a certain clientele, but I kept wishing the extra space was allocated to the main room.) Breakfast was excellent, and a cook stands by to knock up a terrific omelet for no extra charge. On the down side, service--although very friendly--was not so good. The room's hair dryer was broken and we were given a temporary replacement that did not work properly, either; neither was fixed during the three nights we stayed there, despite a gentle reminder. In addition, the hotel booked us a shuttle bus to the airport when we left, and it was dreadful: terrible driver, broken seats, overloaded luggage and a generally scungy interior. A taxi would have been well worth the extra money. The room had no obvious form of cooling and it was barely comfortable during mild weather. Finally, despite double-glazing, we were suprised at how much lobby noise and outside noise entered our room; the facing road is by no means busy, but conversation from people outside floated into our room during the night. The hotel is certainly worth considering for a stay in Istanbul, but it is expensive and I would check out other options first.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YILMAZ_CGR, Owner at Seraglio Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

My Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for choosing us,also special thanks for your review about your stay at Hotel Seraglio. We attach great importance to our guests' feedbacks, especially the criticing ones. Because they show us the missing points that we still have to work on them.
Unfortunately it is the first time one of our hairdryer broke down since we have opened. We couldnt fix the hairdryer and ordered new ones ( 2 extra ones just in case). We tried to find excatly the same ones,not to damage the decoration of the bathroom but it took some time to get those. I am suprised and sorry to hear that the temporary replacement one didnt work well. I will be taking my staff ' attention to focus on the problems more untill it is solved totally.About airport transportation we always give different options for our guests for variable budgets. But it is always our guests final decision, we just try to help them. Still let the third party (transportation company) know about your comment. Finally I am sorry for not able to meet %100 of your expectations this time which can not be possible all the time.
Looking forward to host you once again in the future...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is about as good as it gets. The whole staff did their best to make our stay a truely memorable one.The room and bathroom : Very,very clean. Huge comfortable bed and the best shower we've had in ages. We felt very much at home throughout our 4 night stay. Istanbul is a really exciting city to explore. The hotel was in easy walking distance of all the major attractions. It's on a quiet sidestreet and ,apart from the morning prayer call, we slept very well. There are restaurants galore nearby and more than enough shops to satisfy all our needs. Pricewise it would be difficult to find better value than here. To all the people at the Hotel Seraglio :
Keep up the good work and pretty soon you'll be Tripadvisors number 1 choice in Istanbul.
Hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete195142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay with my wife at this hotel. We both loved the hotel and will definitely be staying here again. Staff were great, very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious, location was great and buffet breakfast has something for everyones taste.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fullbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Seraglio Hotel. It's in a great location and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is excellent though the hotel's Bistro food is nothing to write home about. It's nice to have there though, in case you don't feel like going out.

My only comment is that I do not recommend the half day Bosphorus tour that the front desk staff told us we should do. A one to two hour boat ride would've been sufficient as the four hours really dragged on. The place they take you on the Asia side is just a bunch of tourist shops and you don't have enough time to really explore (we had just 25 minutes).

The Seraglio Hotel is a solid place to stay in the old city and I recommend checking them out!

Room Tip: It was unseasonably warm in November and we were on the third floor which was really hot even at night. They hotel had switched to heat so there was no air option and opening the window wasn't enough. The hotel was wonderful though and switched us to a first floor room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I wish all hotels were like this......wonderful staff, nice rooms, great location, and a full breakfast buffet. Staying at the Hotel Seraglio really enhanced our time in Istanbul. The staff went our of their way to ensure our visit was perfect to Istanbul and Turkey was perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews