We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #22 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Seraglio Hotel was an excellent experience. Just a few minutes walk along the cobblestone streets to the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia, it's in the perfect position to explore the wonders of Istanbul. The rooms were wonderful, with fantastic ensuite bathrooms. The staff of the Seraglio make you feel at home and are always happy to give advice and help. Overall, a fantastic place to rest after long days of exploration.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    172
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
207
529
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hood river
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Chose this hotel from all the wonderful reviews on this site. It lived up to every good that was said about it. Made the reservation by e-mail with the hotel. From the pick-up at the airport to the 7 nights we stayed, it couldn't have been better. They stored our big suitcase when we went for an outing for 5 days the Cappadoccia. The breakfast was the best we had. Aldo prepared a lovely omelet every morning and Joseph cleared tables. Our room was on the 1st floor and went out to a lovely sitting area where we often had coffee. The afternoon tea and cake was an added bonus. We ate at the restaurant almost every night. Abdurrahman was very friendly and worked very hard to make sure we enjoyed our stay. He taught us alot about turkish food and answered all our questions about Turkey. We sat outside and had happy hour every day after sightseeing or in-between.

I think this made our trip. Mehmet was the night supervisor and made us sandwiches the mornings we left since we were too early for breakfast. All above and beyond what you normally get from the staff.

Kenna, the day manager made us feel like we were friends. He was very accomodating and helped us with everything we wanted to do. I was not thrilled with the tour operator he recommended but not his fault.

I would highly recommend a stay here. We stayed a week off and on and off and will stay again if I every get back to Istanbul. I love learning about the local life and culture more than just seeing the sights and I felt we had the best of both worlds staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorgegalHoodRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed at Seraglio Hotel in Feb 2014 for 3 nights . It really is the best place to stay in Istanbul for many reasons.First of all the neighborhood is the most beautiful neighborhood in the whole city especially if you like traditional quiet and clean areas.you can't find the same staff at any other hotel this helpful,kind,patient and friendly.they serve you with coffee,tea, soup and juice for free.the hotel may look a bit small which I myself like a lot but You have enough space on your room just like a big one.rooms are incredibly clean , new and beautifully furnished.breakfast is greatttttt.the value is great.you can't even imagine how great this small cozy place is!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanafiroozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very centraly located and staff are very friendly and informative. They can give you recommendations for what ever you are looking for; food, museums or generally things to do. Breakfast is varied enough to be enjoyable, with the freshly prepared omelette being a plus

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dennisbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

At first, we chose Seraglio for its location. Very convenient and near the main attractions, all within walking distance. Then we got much more than we'd expected. The room was spacious n very cosy. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. The breakfast, though minimal n repetitive, was enough to start the day with. We alternated between eating at the hotel n out at the numerous cafés around the hotel. The staff is like family, especially Celal n Kenan, who helped us tirelessly. With their valuable advice, we were able to explore beautiful sites further away on trams and public buses. Celal even loaned us his stored value card that we could top up n use. Kenan sorted out some billing issues with another hotel that we booked though it's really not his concern. All beyond their call of duty. I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to take it easy n explore Istanbul's main attractions on his own. Well done Seraglio!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saleha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in the marvelous hotel for 5 days in February. I can confirm all previous excellent comments. This hotel is truly a gem in Istanbul. The location could not be better. 2 mins walking to the Blue Mosque, Haja Sofia and the Cistern. 2 mins walking to the train which is really efficient to travel in Istanbul if you don't fancy walking to much. My preference is indeed walking everywhere in Istanbul as it is a true pleasure (if you don't get lost). Back to the Hotel, the double room was really spacious and spotless. The bed was super comfy ( I actually forgot to ask the staff the brand as I might opt for the same one in my house). The interior look brand new and the shower is huge (a paradise) with a really hot strong jet. The room was cleaned every morning. Breakfast was brilliant. Many choices of food. Ultimately the staff was sooooo helpful, any time of the day and night. All the places they recommended where truly worth a visit including dining places. They were so helpful in any need we had. They also give us a proper Istanbul guide book and a top up travel card to be used in any public transportation including ferry. (really useful). They arranged our transpiration from and to the airport (great service). Honestly I could not recommend this hotel enough. We are already planning our next visit. Don't even spend time looking for another hotel... just choose this one !!!!!!!!

Giovanni & Louise

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorkmanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Targoviste, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Seraglio is a butique hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet Istanbul. (walking distance to Blue Mosqee, Hagia Sofia, Tram to Taksim, Basilica Cistern, Hipodrom and you can also walk to Grand Bazar)
Rooms are clean, spacious with big confy bed.
Staff will do everything to please you so give them a try :)
Don't forget to try the free muffin, tea and soup from 5 to 7 in the evening .

I strongly recommend this hotel if you want to visit Istanbul, especially Sultanahmet zone.

Room Tip: Room 101 or 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AaNlDeRxEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#14 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#15 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing