We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location and service”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #21 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT location and service”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed at the beginning of February this year and have absolutely nothing bad to say about this little hotel.
The service was friendly and all staff were very approachable and willing to assist.
The location of the property is great. Everything is within an easy walk.
The onsite restaurant is a little gem. Please try it at least once during your stay.
Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    174
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
212
539
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to istanbul, and once again the sultanhamet area provided a great base of operations. Anywhere that cannot be reached on foot, can easy be connected to by tram

Now about the hotel itself, I cannot say enough. The breakfast was wonderful and the evening tea with cakes and soup provided a wonderful bridge to a late dinner on more than one occasion. The room was spotlessly clean and well cared for and the common areas of the hotel were meticulous. Everytime we turned around, some member of staff (housekeeping, food prep, general) was offering to assist us in some way. Particularly, the young man on the front desk could not do enough to make our stay more pleasant and worry free.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in March and were traveling with a 4 yr old. We stayed for 4 days and booked directly with them through their site allowing a free transfer from the airport and discount for cash payment. The airport transfer when arriving was difficult to find in the crowd of signs. Even after identifying ourselves, we had to wait almost 25 minutes for a ride to become available while the company attended to others that came after us. Was not fun with a toddler.

Hotel was very good and accomodated all our requests. We enjoyed the apple tea they serve in the afternoon. We also enjoyed some food from the bistro. The breakfast was very good and filling. Room was comfy and cozy. The place is close to blue mosque, hagia sophia, and topkapi palace. We just walked easily with our son and there was a comfort that we could easily walk back as soon as our son wanted.

We requested a late checkout and were accomodated. The ride back to the airport was arranged through the reception (extra charge). The ride made us all sick!! the driver was in a crazy rush and drove really bad.

Hotel is excellent. Transfers? don't think so!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ProffX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

All good about this hotel. It is a small concern which makes it's homely and friendly, all staff very accommodating and professional, they seemed exceptionally good with young children and babies,which was nice to see(although we were childless). The room we stayed in was of a very good standard, very clean and roomy, with large comfy beds and en- suite was also spacious and well equipped. Breakfast Buffett had plenty to choose from.
The room we had overlooked the back, which was lacking in a view, but not a problem for us, apart from the noise from an extractor pipe / fan which would intermittently kick in. The front of the hotel overlooks other quaint little hotels and the street is tucked away a little, so is quite. The location is minutes away from the blue mosque, aya Sophia, top kapi palace and grand bazaar. Night time is safe to walk around in, we had no problems walking back to the hotel every night. The only thing lacking, we found, was a roof terrace which would provide a view of this beautiful city from the hotel. Nonetheless, we visited other roof terraces of hotels during the week which we were made welcome at, all in all a lovely place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cluckington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Courteous personnel willing to help you with any of your queries. Surprisingly included in the price was the afternoon coffee/tea! Excellent location in Sultanahmet! A lot of the most important sites are in walking distance.

At times wifi signal was weak and surfing was impossible. However the Hotel has a laptop access point in the front desk, so if you are in need of accessing the internet, you have a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluestam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here for a week in November (an adult couple, no kids), and found it very welcoming and relaxing, especially after the crazy airport arrival. The hotel is on a quiet street in then old town, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We felt very well taken care of here. I recommend the "Hamman Deluxe" room - it has a quasi-Turkish bath (with shower, not bathtub), which felt lovely at the end of a long day walking, and was large enough for two. This area is near the Blue Mosque, so you will hear the call to prayer in the early AM, but that was no problem for us.

PROS:
Free breakfast; Attentive staff; Comfortable beds; Quiet location; Convenient location near all the major monuments and a pleasant stroll to the ferry docks.

CONS: No elevator, so you do have to trek up the stairs a bit. With all the lovely Turkish food we were eating, we didn't mind that at all, but it could be an issue for some travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Istanbul in early March.This was our 2nd time but definitely was the memorable one.We are lucky that we found this charming hotel for our 6 nights stay.Hotel Seraglio is the best place for Istanbul.You can not beat the location,only 5 min. walking distance to all of the major attractions.Best staff,all the hotel team is very attentive and professional.Our room was the lovely Hammam Superior room.We had our own Turkish Bath.If you are lucky enough,book thr Hammam room since they have only 2 at all.Large and clean rooms,free tea&coffee facilities,safe in room,free WI-FI with an excellent signal,comfortable large bed.Buffet breakfast was just excellent with the free omelet station.We will be definitely returning back.Book directly via official website to get great promotions.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherinestewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,156 in Istanbul
763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,156 in Istanbul
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#6 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,004 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,156 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Point Hotel
Best Point Hotel
#34 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing