We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #24 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Even before we left home the contact we had with the hotel owners was very efficient. Booking direct saved us money and arranging our complimentary airport transfer was straightforward. We were met at the airport and our transfer to the hotel in a private car went smoothly. We were met at reception by an extremely welcoming and knowledgeable gentleman. Our bags were taken up to our room, which was above our expectations. We were guided, by the receptionist to a very nice restaurant for our evening meal. We were actually three minutes from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia and several other amazing sights. Breakfast was a feast, with individually made omlettes, which were scrumptious. Each evening we arrived back at the hotel to a very welcome complimentary Turkish Apple tea, cake and fresh fruit. We met and had drinks with the hotel owners, a very lovely couple, who soon became very good friends. We had a busy week, seeing the most amazing sights, some good bargaining in the Grand Bazaar and two relaxing days by the sea on Prince's Island and at Galatiseri Island, all using the very easy public transport, with a travel card given to us by the receptionist (it even worked in the public toilets!). If you are thinking about travelling to Istanbul, you should definitely highly recommend both Istanbul and Hotel Seraglio.

Room Tip: We had the superior double with Turkish Bath - amazing quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean-SharonOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    173
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
208
529
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Seraglio Hotel. It is in a great location at Sultanahmet. The slightly higher price you pay for a comparable hotel in other parts of Istanbul is due to the location.

The property is nice. Room 105 may be the nicest for two people with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Room 107 next to the lobby is very nice for two people, a bit crowded for three. It has a courtyard that the balconies look down on that is very pleasant.

The rooms have nice bathrooms with large walk-in showers with good water pressure. However, water temperature fluctuates a lot.

The staff is amazing and welcomed us, giving us help with sights to see.

This is a great hotel in a great location. The price is affordable. The only downside is that when you compare the quality of the room and price with other places in Istanbul, you are paying more for the location. We left this property and moved to the Titanic City Hotel (Taksim) to meet friends and were amazed that the rooms were nicer for less price.

All in all, however, we are very glad that we stayed so close in to the sights.

Room Tip: Room 105 may be the nicest for two people with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Room 107 next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelALot62_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great holiday ideally located for visiting Sultanamet .
Staff made the holiday by helping us plan the tours to see all the sights. Also recommended great places to eat and helped with reservations. The benefit of staying at a smaller hotel is that the service is very personalized and this hotel could not have done it better. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: Get the front desk to help plan your days , the staff here are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Within 5 minutes of the historic sights!
The manager did a great job in giving us ideas for our short stay of 2 days in Istanbul. Rooms are very nice. Breakfast is good too. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neetz1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and have been very impressed with everything!
Staff were friendly and accommodating at all times We had some drama losing our cell phone and they helped sort this out
The hotel is situated close to all historic tourist sights
The free coffee cake and fruit in the evening is a treat after a day of sight seeing
Rooms are a good size and the shower is the best and biggest we have had in our travels in Europe

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bron484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Drink on arrival and the staff hospitality was a huge deal for us.

There was reservation/ booking hiccups regarding cancellaton/ room change but our reservation was honored without issues - for which we are so thankful!

Perfect choice & highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the 1st floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first trip to Istanbul and there were many choices for hotels. Based upon the reviews we decided to select Hotel Seraglio. Turned out to be a great decision. We were immediately greeted by the Manager who welcomed us by spending some personal time providing a guide to the city and basic directions that prooved most beneficial. The hotel location is excellent and within easy walking distance of major sights. The tram stop is also nearby that provides quick and easy access to attractions outside of an easy walk. Our room was very clean, comfortable and updated. Shower and water pressure was excellent and the complimentary on site morning breakfast was a nice way to begin the day. There is also an in house Bistro if you desire to have dinner without venturing out again. There is also a large group of dining establishments very nearby to choose from. We will definitely be back on our next visit to Istanbul. The entire staff made you feel welcome and treated you like family. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We requested a room facing the inner court yard. This appeared to dampen the early morning prayer ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJS6252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#13 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#14 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#11 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing