We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience but bring ear plugs”
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #20 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Seraglio for 5 nights in early July. We had 2 rooms on the first floor at the back side of the hotel. The rooms were clean and staff were superb, pleasant and always helpful. The breakfast included was always fantastic and again staff were incredible.

Being on the first floor just above the street level and their own restaurant was probably a bit noisy but with earplugs I was able to sleep fine even most times during early AM call to prayers at the Blue Mosque.

During Ramadan Sultanahmet was extremely busy especially when fasting was about to end at dusk. The restaurants around the hotel are expensive and average. We preferred heading over to Beyoglu were there were many more locals if you went off the main drag. If we were to go back to Istanbul we would stay on the Beyoglu side and take the day trips back to Sultanahmet. We often walked all the way which in a casual pace would take prob 45 mins but the tram would also suffice although could be very crowded.

The hotel covered the shuttle one way but the other way we paid 45 euros for the shuttle. We stayed a final night in Sultanahmet on our way back from the Med and instead paid 50 TL for a cab which was totally fine so save your money on the shuttle.

Room Tip: probably try and stay on the entrance side, i.e. not the restaurant side.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank kiwiaussiecanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Seraglio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

A warm welcome awaited us. We were offered a free drink on arrival. The hotel also coped admirably with our airport transfer. The rooms were fairly spacious with a wonderfully wide bed. We spent one night here and then returned for four nights after touring other areas. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My son and I stayed here for several nights the week of July 24th and I have to say this place was by far the best place we stayed at. The service was delightful, the rooms were nice and Kenan and Jalal who are the receptionists/concierge are outstanding. They were very knowledgeable in their recommendations of when to do what, where to go and went out of their way to provide useful information. Genuinely great small hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A beautiful small hotel so close to all the major attractions, lovely street as you approach reception, it does look a bit dodgy further down the street!!!

We arrived c.19.00 and as we checked in, after a long days travel, we were offered a complimentary drink, a very nice touch. We were then given an overview by the reception staff of what we could realistically do in our 2 days in Istanbul. They were very good but were pushing certain tours. It may have been a mix up but they booked us on a boat trip which we specifically asked if it landed in Asia, one of our objectives, they said it did. Luckily we found out by chance that it did not and we cancelled the trip, not sure if they were too happy at this. A bit of advice to anyone wanting to set foot in Asia, take a local ferry 3TL vs 30TL for a tour

Very clean hotel, nice size of room and excellent breakfast, very good for a short stay in Istanbul, which is awesome

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for a total of 4 nights at Seraglio and the experience was wonderful. The hotel is located at Sultanahmet and is in close proximity to most sites. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and would take time out to advice us on what was to be done. The breakfast is superb and the complimentary evening tea and snacks a welcome relief after a long day of sight seeing :)

Room Tip: It is a small hotel and rooms on the top floor have slightly lesser area though the bathrooms are bi...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ManojMarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We found this excellent hotel because of the many constructive reviews on TripAdvisor which again 'came up trumps'.
As always I usually make a number of early polite requests after arrival for things that we prefer. It's impossible for hotels to know everyone's personal preferences but I find them always keen to make you as comfortable as possible. In the end this place felt 'like home', and that it was - we came back twice after a three day tour to Ephesus and Cappadocia and one week's stay on the island of Bozcaada. It was like a little sanctuary, particularly as we were there during and after Ramadan so it was BUSY in Sultanahmet. Location by the way is perfect - next to but not in the main busy areas.
Staff were helpful, informative and sweet, some speaking excellent English, some very little - but they all assisted in any way they could.
Rooms are a high standard. We stayed in a Hammam suite and a standard room. The Haman is fun and relaxing - it's literally warm to hot tiles to relax on in a dry atmosphere, combined with splashing water to your heart's content. Standard rooms are a touch smaller without the Hammam - we were happy in both.
I could say so much more but others have already done that, suffice to say, if you find this or any other review 'helpful' don't forget to acknowledge the voluntary writer for their efforts - TripAdvisor reviewers have sure helped us plan great holidays.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A delightful little hotel situated a stone's throw away from Istanbul's bustling historical centre. The location is truly superb with the hotel sitting right in the heart of the Old Town and being surrounded by many beautiful shops and restaurants.The rooms were pristine, spacious and furnished to an excellent standard. The staff were welcoming, friendly and incredibly helpful in assisting us with directions, restaurant recommendations and sightseeing tips! The hotel also offers a generous complimentary breakfast, which was an added bonus. Seraglio really is a top notch hotel offering fantastic value for money. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Istanbul - you really can't go wrong with this little beauty!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,049 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,159 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,159 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,159 in Istanbul
922 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £38 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing