We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #20 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Everything about the hotel was excellent. The staff were very pleasant, the rooms were clean, modern and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was delicious with a huge variety of hot and cold dishes. The hotel itself is ideally located in one of the main tourist areas and is less than 5 minutes walk from the tram line which connects to the rest of the public transport system. As we stayed 5 nights the hotel provided us with a free shuttle service to and from the airport, which was much appreciated. We would definitely go back to this hotel and have recommended it to all our friends and family, lone travellers included.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    172
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
207
528
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor & were not dissapointed.

The hotel's location is perfect -- a couple blocks from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. One of the best parts of our European trip was waking up early in the morning and walking by the Mosque before any of the tourists/crowds infiltrated the area.

It's also in a great area for dinner - with several quaint restaurants on cobble-stone streets -- although beware of tourist restaurants that hike up the prices and are filled with americans with cameras. We ate at a local "Meat House", and despite its name was delicious and filled with locals.

The service in the hotel was great - they let us check in before 10am and even gave us turkish coffee while we waited for our room to be ready.

Definitely would recommend as a good-value place to make your homebase in Istanbul.

One note -- you will wake up (around 5am) to sounds of praying from the mosque. I actually thought that added to the experience, but my husband found it annoying since it lasts about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

I travel a lot and never had an experience like this one... this is a new and small hotel, very clean, good rooms, PERFECT location (walking distance from all the major spots: Ayia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Archeological Museum, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, everything...) the staff was the best I've ever met. More than hotel staff they were true friends. Thank you all Celal, Akun, Kenan and Mehmet. You guys are the BEST staff ever. You've made our stay PERFECT. The room was large, very, very clean, good breakfast. I felt like family there. I hope to return Istanbul and I will choose again Seraglio. No doubt! I miss you all

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed for 6 nights, it was a great experience. The Hotel is located just a few steps from te main attractions in Sultanahmet. (Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Archaeology Museums). The room was very spacious, clean and nice. (A little bit noisy during night if there are people talking in the terrace). The breakfast buffet is very good, with the option of an omellette freshly made. But, no doubt, the best of the Seraglio Hotel is the Staff. Celal and Kenan are always ready to help you, to give you suggestions of what to do and where to go. They helped us a lot always with a smile. One of the best services I've ever received. Congratulations!!!!!! Seraglio Hotel is a great place to stay in a great city.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanUrrieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
339 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We just returned from 6 nights at this hotel. We were on a shopvacation. We had a great time and this place offered us everything we could possible need. It was in a safe and perfect location. We walked to everything but the terminal for the Bosperous. It was clean, the breakfast was out of this world, the staff was all very helpful, the rooms were spacious, and the 5 o'clock tea was a pleasant, but nice suprise. If we go back we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebenezer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

My partner and I recently booked a stay at the Seraglio Hotel in Istanbul. It has everything to recommend it - an excellent location, fantastic service (including daily complementary teas, coffees and cake in the afternoon), cleanliness and reasonably priced.

Unfortunately, we had to fly home a day early due to a family emergency. The hotel staff could not have been kinder or more accommodating. Although we had pre-paid, there was no question about us receiving a refund which was offered without us even asking. their kindness made a diffult time easier.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleDavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at Hotel Seraglio and right from the very moment we reached the hotel, we felt at home....we were greeted by the young and amazingly hospitable team of young professionals Murat,Ali, Kenan and Celal from the hotel staff. All of them have been extremely helpful, cheerful, friendly and spent a lot of time with us advising on the things to do as we had only 3 days and had to pack in a lot. The entire staff made our stay and the overall maiden experience to Istanbul a memorable one.
If you are looking for a hotel (not so commercial, and small in size) and wanting a cozy experience, where you are made to feel at home, in the heart of the old city and literally a stones throw from Aye Sofia, Blue mosque and Topkapi palace....we strongly recommend this place. The room was also very spacious, light, modern and very clean. Breakfast was very good and they even have tea time for all the guests every evening where you are served free tea and cakes!
The hotel is also the setting for a lovely bar where you can enjoy al fresco dining and some water pipe smoking.
Don't bother looking any further for a hotel .. Book Hotel Seraglio now! .. you will not be disappointed. We intend to come back to Istanbul again in the future and we will certainly stay here. Only small issue was the quality of satellite TV channels which were not so good as many of the channels do not work, however who cares about TV when you are in such a magnificient city that has so much to offer.
Food Tip at Seraglio : Vegeterians would love the dearth of overall veggies options in Istanbul, Serglio's vegeterian mezze platter is something worth trying...

Thanks again to all the staff and Management at Hotel Seraglio. Other hotels can learn a lot from you about high levels of service and free flowing good will gestures. We hope you remain the same in years to come. keep up the good work as it is really appreciated by your guests.

Food tips for vegeterians:
Cafe Sofa close to Hotel Seraglio, offers a nice variety of vegeterian options, do not miss the Imam Bayaldi.

Kartik and Julia

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_Kartik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing