We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Friendliest Hotel in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Seraglio
Ranked #19 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The Friendliest Hotel in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

For starters, the hotel staff are beyond friendly....they are so helpful and really care about the guests. They will go out of there way to accomodate almost any request/need/question/etc. Never have I received the level of personal care from staff like the Seraglio. It's a small boutique hotel in a prime location, on a small quite cozy street near the major tourists attractions. I laughed after reading another review who gave the hotel "value" category a 2...?? I think we spent 60 Euros/night for a very cozy clean little room. Throw in free breakfast, and tea service, and what else can you ask for at that price? I'm more than versed in 5* hotels/world landmark hotels, and felt very comfortable in this hotel. Although the rooms are not upscale, they are nice. The hotel doesnt have a lift, so for people who require one to go upstairs that would be a concern. All in all, what the Seraglio lacks in the "high end" they more than make up for in charm, service, and overall experience..

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzydiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    171
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
207
528
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We were very happy to stay in this hotel as it was more than satisfactory in many aspects. The staff was very friendly and did their best to help us. The breakfast was excellent. The room was very clean, simply but beautifully decorated with a modern bathroom. The location was excellent and within walking distance from Aghia Sofya, Blue Mosque and all tourist attractions. The tram station was only a few blocks away. What else would we need to make our stay perfect?

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dimopoulou2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
563 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Amazing service! The staff welcomed us in a very friendly way, with tea and turkish sweets, and explained us what to see in the surrounding areas. Because we had reserved the suite we were offered a fruit plate and a bottle of wine. Internet is complementary and the hotel is extremely well located, 3 minutes walking from the Blue Mosque. You can see the mosque from the suite's terrace. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was not varied but it was good enough. The cakes were home made!!! Definitely a place to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

After the hotel trying to take the payment before we travelled and the taxi not being at the airport to meet us, I was not having great expectations of our stay. I was wrong! the Seraglio is in the best ever position, was spotlessly clean and Kenan at the front desk helped make this weeekend a weekend to remember he was a treasure.
Do take sturdy shoes as the cobbled streets are hard on the feet.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterPark66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

Our family of four spent our Thanksgiving vacation in Istanbul at the fabulous Seraglio Hotel. We made our reservation in early September and could only get one deluxe and one standard room. We had hoped for a suite and a deluxe room. The deluxe room was very large with a wonderful bathroom and overlooked the quiet courtyard. The standard room was a lot smaller with a smaller bathroom than in the deluxe room, was in a different building than our deluxe room, and overlooked the street. It was definitely worth the extra 10 Euros for the larger deluxe room. Be warned, however, that there is no elevator in the building with the deluxe rooms; this was not a problem for us, though.
The staff was fantastic, friendly, honest, and helpful. If we wanted an extra towel, it was delivered within a couple of minutes. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff to do for us. The breakfast was excellent with crepes, eggs to order, fresh fruits, dried fruits, lots of cheeses, and incredible jelly. Actually, the strawberry preserves, loaded with tons of strawberries, was labeled as cherry jam and the cherry jam was labeled as strawberry jam! Try both of the jams as they are delicious and packed with whole berries. Make sure you also have the wonderful apple tea at breakfast or during the complimentary tea and cake time every afternoon.
The location of the Seraglio is fantastic, providing quick access to all the sights in Sultanamet. It is only a fifteen minute walk over to the Galata Bridge. So much of Istanbul is an easy walk or ferry ride away. It is just a super walking, sightseeing, and culinary delight city! . It was great to be in Istanbul when most of the tourists were not present. We got right into the major attractions, like th Topkapi Palace, without any lines whatsoever. The weather was in the 60's Fahrenheit. We will be back to beautiful and friendly Istanbul again and would only stay at the Seraglio again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovebali18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Seraglio is the most beautiful boutique hotel we've ever visit. It is located in a very quiet neighourhood and at the same time you are at the centre of Istanbul. The room was nice and clean and we especially enjoyed the hamam inside it. The quality of the breakfast was very good and we enjoyed the home made cakes and the delicious omelettes that chef was preparing for us. But most of all we appreciated the extremely helpful service of the hotel. Kenan and Jelal were very polite and very helpful with us. They always had a good piece of advice for us and we are very happy we've met them. We strongly recommend this very warm and hospitable hotel and we beleive that it's the best choice of the town.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VASO-DIMITRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

The rooms were spotless. The front desk was very helpful in providing tips on things to do. The breakfast was very good and they let us have breakfast on the day we were checking in while we waited for our room to be ready as we had arrived early.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibahena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Property: Hotel Seraglio
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing