We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location. Basic, but good value.”
Review of Hotel Erenler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Erenler
Ranked #123 of 1,047 Istanbul B&B and Inns
ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent location. Basic, but good value.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Location could not be better. It's not a 5 star (or even 3 star) hotel, it's actually a hostel, but it's excellent value for money. I paid for a double room, so was actually paying for 2 people despite travelling on my own. Despite this it was much less than half of what else was available in central Istanbul that weekend.The room was basic but airy and clean. Not many toilets or showers, but I never had to wait. And plenty of hot water. And the guys (brothers?) in reception were helpful. If you just want a place to put your head down at a reasonable rate in the best location in Istanbul, Erenler is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aranhelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    30
    28
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
19
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have a quick question for if you're reading this....do you want a 5* hotel or do you want a cheap, clean, simple, probably no star hostel with Wifi?

If you compare a hotel that is hardly 1* to a 5* hotel and give it 3/5, well you haven't paid the price of 5*, so review it for what it is actually like. This is not a comparison website, it is a review website.

This place is cheap, well located, close to tran stop Gulhane, in a tourist part of town. If I want to improve anything it would be the showers, but these do work well with plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I've stayed in a single room with shared bathroom for around 40 TL (in november): the room is little and it has not even close to a fancy decoration, but it was razonably clean,it had a litttle washbasin, a table and a tv. It was very quiet, no problem at all with any kind of noise, besides the wonderfull sound of call for prayer :).
The shower area and the wc were allways very clean.
As i was there by myself, i must say that i felt allways very secure and confortabe.The owner is helpful and kind. The location is, in my opinion, perfect, as it is in halfway to Sultanhamet and Eminonu, which you can reach easily walking, or by tram, if you prefer (one minute walking to the hostel).

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Aishe_Sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

PERFECT LOCATION ,nice hotel, cheap price, nice person, glad to stay there
very near to all public transport, Tram, Ship, Bus, Train, you can go everywhere in a 5 minutes, blue mosque, Hagia Sopia, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, thats the bbest location

free internet, helpfull broather receptionist, also they make airport shuttle service

thank you for everything see you nex ttime
this Hotel definetely RECOMMEnDED AAA+++

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IbrahimDmrci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

For the price this place is good value. The staff, think it's two brothers are very helpful and easy going. The rooms are basic but clean and airy. There is free wifi and the shower room was spotless. My only criticism would be the rock hard pillows. I was travelling on my own and I felt safe here. I had to leave very early to catch my flight but it was great as an airport shuttle bus stops right outside. The staff will sort you out a ticket for a bargain 5 euros.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank serena_7426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed for two nights in a mixed dorm, though i saw the privates and others. For the price i paid, it was decent (for a hostel). But as a hotel, i would not call it great. Things can be improved - fixing things in the kitchen (though they don't allow cooking, but i fixed tea - it was OK), cleaning (and may be upgrading) the refrigeratior. I didn't see A/C, but there were fans. Showers can be subdivided to add more showeres (only 2 on the floor). The positives - nice caring staff (they talked the other guest in the dorm to not smoke inside -sorry coming from NYC, i found the consept of smoking inside alien), close to everything, old charm.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yidd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a very basic hotel and is quite old built. It is located in a quiet street off the main tramway (off Gulhane station).

Distance from...
Gulhane Tram Station: 2 mins walk
Gulhane Park: 5 min walk
Hagia Sophia/ Sultanahmet Mosque: 10 min walk

The rooms are avergae/small size. The beds and pillows were basic. Bathrooms were clean but again basic. TV was pretty useless as it only had local channels. WIFI only worked in the corridors and not in the room - I was told this is a temporary problem only. The staff was friendly and helpful - helped arrange taxis and free advice as you need. One of them could speak English fine, none else. There is no food/breakfast service however you can make your own tea in kitchen.

I thought this was very good value for money on my first visit to Istanbul (£30/double room) but I later found out (on my second/third visit) that you can get much much better in same price or a few £ extra in even closer location to Hagia Sophia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back, the one facing the street can be a bit noisy when windows opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Old Mile Suites
Old Mile Suites
#39 of 1,047 in Istanbul
29 reviews
Beyoglu
Golden Galata
Golden Galata
#129 of 1,047 in Istanbul
21 reviews
Sultanahmet
Stanpoli Hostel
Stanpoli Hostel
#16 of 1,047 in Istanbul
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Tulip House
Hotel Tulip House
#61 of 1,047 in Istanbul
640 reviews
Sultanahmet
Taya Hatun Hotel
Taya Hatun Hotel
#103 of 1,047 in Istanbul
86 reviews
Sultanahmet
Art City Hotel Istanbul
Art City Hotel Istanbul
#75 of 1,047 in Istanbul
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erenler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erenler

Property: Hotel Erenler
Address: Hoca Pasa Mah. Tayahatun Sok. No:11 Eminonu/Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 1,047 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Erenler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing