We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Ranked #2 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This hotel arrange you a pick up at the airport. Very handy, you just have to look for you name and 30 minutes later you are at your hotel. When we arrived the staff was very very friendly. The invited us to the rooftop and we got a refreshing lemonade. And Arthur brought a map and he explained everything we had to know, his English was fluent and he was so helpful, also the other staff. About the rooftop, what a great view! Very relaxing in the evening with some lounge music! The rooms were very nice, modern, bathroom rather small, but everything you need. Breakfast was also complimentary. The location of the hotel was fantastic to visit the old City!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travelnathalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,264 - 2,270 of 3,177 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

I did a lot of reviewing before choosing Hotel Amira for our three day stay in Istanbul before our cruise in mid-September. The hotel lives up to the hype reviewers give it. We were picked up at the airport by a firm the hotel sent. A member of the staff greeted us immediately upon arrival and took us to the the roof terrace where we were given whatever beverage we wanted. We explained we hadn't slept in the past 24 hours and the man immediately walked us to our room which turned out to be a suite they had upgraded us to. The room was spacious with every thing we needed and even though it was at street level, very quiet. There was never a time we were bothered by noise. The location was perfect with the major sites we wanted to visit easily within walking distance. Istanbul was hot! At least hot compared with what we were accustomed to and it was easy to return to the hotel to cool off and rest. One night we went up to the roof top terrace to relax and watched a beautiful sunset while chatting with a couple from the UK. He had his Canon SLR and I had mine and we talked photography and took shots of the sunset. The hotel Amira is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank surreal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My wife and I just satyed for 3 nights to start our honeymoon. The hotel was in a great location and a very easy walk to some of the amazing places in the old city of Istanbul. Service was top notch, the continental breakfast was always a great start to the day. The rooms are good size and very modern. We will be staying there on our next trip to Istanbul

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We were recommended to stay here and in turn I must recommend it to others. It seriously is a little gem in the heart of the old town of Istanbul, a stones throw from the Blue Mosque and pretty much everywhere of note is within walking distance. Walking is the only way to do anything anyway due to the seriously bad traffic queues! Several restaurants and bars nearby and a lovely rooftop terrace for early or late evening drinks with superb views of the city and Sea. All the staff were lovely, especially Arthur who greeted us and gave us all the information we could possibly need for our trip. He organised our Bosphorus boat trip/spice market tour and also our private taxi transfer back to the airport. The rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast room is very pleasant and the spread is quite decent. The whole hotel is pretty and has some really quaint touches. It's worth having earplugs though. It is a city hotel and there is traffic all around - plus of course the calling to prayer in the early hours. I don't know the name of the waiter who serves up on the roof terrace, sorry, but he was absolutely lovely and extremely efficient.

Room Tip: ask for a higher flooor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Phantasialandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We selected this hotel on the basis of Tripadvisor recommendations. What a great move. This hotel is in great location, the rooms are excellent, especially 403. Very clean, modern and everything works as it should. But most importantly the staff are the most helpful ever encountered, and that's from a couple who have holidayed from Reykjavic to Cape Town and London to Beijing. The hotel's main contact, Ferhat, was extremely helpful from our first email contact until the end of our 4 day stay. On arrival he took us through the sites he suggested we visit, the restaurants and lots of other tips. It meant we were off and running from the moment we arrived. He also arranged a special treat for my birthday up on the terrace. And speaking of the terrace, how great was that (and particularly our waiter Aziz, who treated us like royalty). We returned to the terrace every afternoon for drinks and to watc the sun set over the Bosporus. This has been a fantastic first visit to Istanbul made so mostly by the excellent experience at this hotel. We could not recommend it and it's staff highly enough.

Room Tip: Try to get Room 403 whic is on a corner and has a balcony with a view. 404 and 405 are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Balmainiacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Amira for three days. What a pleasant experience. From the moment we arrived to the checking out process, we were treated professinally and with a feeling that we were old friends. We were helped with sightseeing in the "old city", offered complimentary drinks on their rooftop restaurant overlooking the Bosphorus, enjoyed a wonderful free breakfast in their dining room . . . and all at a very reasonable and competitive price to other boutique hotels in the area.

We would not stay anywhere else in the old city. Can't say enough good things about this hotel and their management.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dunford23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I think the entire staff of the hotel deserves a 5* plus rating! I have never experienced such a warm welcome at any hotel around the world. Excellent location in the old city. 5 minute pleasant walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and the tramway. Another short walk to a broad selection of good restaurants. The rooms are rather small but very nicely decorated. Only minus perhaps was the bathroom. Very high and uncomfortable access to the bath/shower. Spots of mildew in the corners. Great rooftop terrace with views of the Blue Mosque and Bosphorus. Superb breakfast buffet.
After our return to Belgium I contacted the hotel with a special request. I take this occasion to express my sincere thanks to Arthur, the Front Desk Manager, for his courteous help and kindness.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YvonneB145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,614 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,066 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#10 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,028 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,178 in Istanbul
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £55 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing