We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ Staff, Location, Comfort, but Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Ranked #6 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A+ Staff, Location, Comfort, but Noisy”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Pros: My wife and I spent five nights at the Amira and the top four reasons to stay there are the (a) hotel's exceptional staff (!!!, you'll see), (b) proximity to where we wanted to be, (c) cleanliness of the facilities, and (d) overall comfort of our experience. I just can't praise the staff enough! They're more helpful, friendly, and accommodating than most of the "luxury" hotels I've stayed at. Thank you Aziz, AJ, Tina, Baruk, Arthur, and everyone else who made this vacation so special. After leaving my Mastercard at a restaurant, Baruk quickly had a friend of his recover and deliver it to the hotel. The hotel's an even shorter walk to the main attractions than they advertise (four fun minutes to the Blue Mosque).

Cons: My mild complaints would be that the rooms are quite small (though comfortable) and voices passes through the walls like they're rice paper. When we first arrived, they told us they'd automatically upgraded us to a "Deluxe" room, which was small and on ground level, where passersby could peer into the bedroom if the curtains weren't drawn. We requested a room on a higher floor for less street noise and greater privacy. We were transferred to a standard room on the 4th floor, which was slightly smaller than the deluxe, but then we noticed the hotel's greatest detractor: noisiness. The hotel should reinvest some of its well-deserved profit into remedying this.

Through the staff's outstanding recommendations, I/we discovered the following amazing restaurants/barber:
- Matbah Restaurant (it's pretty close to a "perfect ten" in cuisine and atmosphere);
- Rami Restaurant (a 9.5, just exceptional);
- Khorasani Restaurant (an 8.5 in food, though a little touristy);
- Albura Kathisma Restaurant (an 8.5 in food, trendy atmosphere, cool ancient ruins below); and
- An amazing straight razor shave at the Sezer Kuafor (Arif the barber is pro, but no English) on the way to the Blue Mosque.

WARNING: Probably because they never got honest feedback on it, the Amira recommended the Suleymaniye Hamam because it's the only "coed" hamam in Istanbul. Avoid it if you dislike tourist meat grinders. Unfriendly staff, ridiculous tourist trap, expensive, and my wife felt like she got beat up at a karate tournament.

Room Tip: Request a room above ground, away from the main street, and away from other guests (if possible). T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Oztin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,664
    296
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
465
1,609
191
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We had a delightful stay at the Amira. We chose to stay in the Sultanhamet area in order to be close to the things we wanted to do in Istanbul. The staff at the Amira was entirely helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was certainly one of the best we had in over a month of travelling through Turkey -- including excellent coffee which we had found difficult to find in other places!

My only caveat was that our room was located basically on street level and there was at times a fair amount of noise. We didn't get to enjoy the roof top terrace as the weather had turned chilly. We did enjoy the 5pm "tea". Also, the Amira is located conveniently to get to the Ataturk airport.

Would recommend the Amira highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supposing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

All you have to do is read the reviews. This Hotel is everything and more
in a Small Hotel. The service is excellent right from the beginning until
you leave.The staff is top notch, specially Tina who helped plan our
stay on Istanbul.It is close to all the sites. It has all the want in a bed
and breakfast setting.
Read the reviews it say it all. Excellent!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Arrived late in the evening from the interior of Turkey on my way west and on the recommendation of friends I stopped at the Amira. From its roof-top terrace patio you can see the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia (St Sofia Church) looking one way and the Sea of Marmara looking the other way - wonderful. I accepted the challenge of taking a few stairs after the elevator ride, to one of two rooms on the 8th level; a room that was grand in size and modern in its arrangement. WIFI is accessible by floor, so the signal is strong. The bathroom is stylish and modern. The hotel restaurant offers a fine breakfast; tea every day between 4-6PM and a relaxing dinner ambiance.

Gazing out of the room's small bay window the nearby streets; hotels and restaurants are well lit highighted the outstanding architecture of the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Take the challenge and climb to the 8th floor rooms - its worth the effort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJF317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

As we always say, location, location, location. Hotel Amira is conveniently located at Sultanahmet area where most of the "must see" tourist attractions are located. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is quite good.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on the upper floors if available. Avoid getting a room facing the taxi sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JunBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nueva Andalucia Marbella Spain 29660
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We found the Hotel Amira to be a real delight. It is charming, spotlessly clean, decorated with flair, helpful staff and wonderful breakfasts. We didn't sample the afternoon tea with pastries, but I am sure that this too was a treat. It is close to the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sofia and to many local restaurants and so is in a very convenient position. We wouldn't return to Istanbul without being able to enjoy this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolmarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Location is 7 minutes walk from the main sights like the Blue Mosque and Hogia Sophia in Sultanahmet but a little out of the way so not so busy.

Breakfast buffet (included) is fantastic ane there is a free tea every day at 5 with Turkish tea and pastries.

There is good, free wifi everywhere.

The spa area can be booked out as well for private use, and this was amazing.

Upon entrance you get an induction in (perfect) English of all the sights and a free glass of champagne!

Some small criticisms- the "double" bed is clearly just two singles with a strangely places headboard around a support pillar so your head and pillows easily fall off the end! Otherwise a fine hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridgeguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,148 in Istanbul
3,317 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,908 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Property: Hotel Amira Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing