We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hospitality at its best...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amira Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Ranked #4 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hospitality at its best...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Amira in August 2013 during our 5 days visit to beautiful Istanbul. At the entrance we were welcomed by Fatih the hotel receptions. He offered us delicious Turkish delight and freshly squeezed orange juice. He sat with us with city map and gave us valuable information about the city, how to go around and visit most important places, recommended restaurants with good food, shops, everything that a tourist needs to know. The room was really nice and clean. We enjoyed having coffee and sweets during happy hours on the terrace at top of the hotel with beautiful views all around at Bosphorus and Blue Mosque. Buffet breakfast with delicious food was served each morning. The hotel location is excellent, it’s walking distance to Blue Mosque, restaurants, bazaars. The staff could not be friendlier and more helpful. Istanbul is the most beautiful city in the word and staying at Amira made it even more special and unforgetfull. We highly recommend staying at Hotel Amira.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CobraOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,588
    293
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
441
1,583
179
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I first stayed at Hotel Amira back in 2013. I have returned this year and stayed again in the hotel. The staff are still amazing and can not be any more helpful. I can highly recommend it due to its location in Istanbul, but above all else the hospitality is second to none. I look forward to staying there again on my return home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtreby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked this hotel following the reviews on trip advisor along with another couple for a 5 night stay. Our expectations were exceeded in all ways. The rooms were elegant, clean and spacious. The location is just perfect for all the tourist areas of Istanbul South of the Golden Horn. 10 minutes of walking takes you to the excellent tram service, 5 minutes to the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque. 20 minutes to the Grand Bazaar.

In the hotel itself, the breakfasts were excellent and the bar/ cafe area very comfortable. It was cold and sometimes wet when we were there at the end of February 2014 and so we were unable to sit on the roof, but it has good views of the sea.

What takes this hotel to the highest level is the staff. We were, on arrival, given a talk on the main sites and how to get around, together with excellent map and the location of suggested restaurants. All their recommendations we found incredibly helpful. Any request for help was dealt with immediately and with enormous charm and friendliness. Nothing was too much trouble, including providing a cake for one of our party who was having a significant birthday. I just cannot recommend this hotel too much.

Room Tip: We had rooms 303 and 305 which were spacious, comfortable and stylish. Room 303 was a corner room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Green
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Based on trip advisor reviews we stayed 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. It's such a joy to find such fantastic customer service and to be made to feel so welcome. We had a good room on the mezzanine floor overlooking the front of the hotel,and it had a minimum of six windows. The hotel is located we think in the best part of the Old Town as you are far enough away from all of the hustle and bustle of the Mosques and Grand Bazaar, but close enough to walk everywhere. We would definitely stay at the Amira again and recommend it to friends. If you want 5 star luxury it may not be for you, but it has everything else and more.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hollandhousehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I took a quick 5th year anniversary trip to Istanbul on 24 Feb. I picked this hotel based on the location and the tripadvisor reviews. I was not disappointed, in fact, I was very pleasantly surprised. We have traveled to many places in the world, and have stayed at Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton's, but at none of them did we receive the service that we received at Amira. From the moment we arrived, AJ sits you down and offers you drink of choice, and then gives you suggestions for your time. He is definately one cool cat. As we were only spending one full day in Istanbul, we were hard pressed to see as much as we could. He gave us suggestions, and then set us up with what I beleive to be the best tour guide in Istanbul. (Murat Aksu). I'll get back to him in a minute. I booked a deluxe room, and Amira upgraded us to a suite. The room was spacious and clean. The included breakfast was delicious and a good start for the day full of walking. Adam was always just a phone call to reception away, and always ready to help with anything...with a smile. Although I didn't deal with them much...all the staff (Sim and another guy whos name I can't pronounce) were extremely helpful and always smiling. AJ even went out of his way to get us a snack after room service had stopped for the night...free of charge. I want to use this to say a very big sincere "Thank-you" from my wife and me for making this a very memorable anniversary. You guys truly know the meaning of "customer service" with a smile. :) Next time we are in Istanbul...(we must come back to this wonderful city) we will most definately be staying at Hotel Amira. As for Murat (tour guide)...what can I say? He felt more like my brother than a tour guide. Very knowledgeable...easy to talk to...patient...willing to do whatever he can to let you have a good time and see as much as you can in the given time. He even helped us get good deals at the leather shops. I look forward to a long friendship with Murat. Ask for the private tour with him...he won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Stayed in Rm. 405. It had a balcony...plenty of space...and a good sea view to the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of our Turkey holiday and were very happy with our choice. It's a very contemporary boutique style hotel, and very comfortable as well as tasteful which isn't the case with all such hotels.

The highlight has to be the staff though - they are ALL just so friendly, helpful and beyond courteous (always being there to open the front door for you, being on hand in the lounge area to pour your tea etc). Each speaks excellent English and to be honest I didn't really hear a single word to Turkish all the time we were there (meaning most of their clientele seem to use English to communicate). Very cosmopolitan atmosphere.

There is building work going on outside the hotel (on the pavements) but it was only during the day and looked like it was nearing completion at the end of Feb.

The breakfast buffet was splendid, and a lovely touch was the complimentary afternoon tea (with cakes and tea breads) served between 4-6pm.

Great location, just a few mins to the main sights yet away from the bustle of some of the more touristy areas.

We stayed in room 404 on the top floor - had booked a standard room but were double upgraded to an open plan 'suite' with balcony and Jacuzzi bath which was a lovely gesture. The view isn't amazing and it was too cold to spend much time outside on the balcony but the extra space was surely appreciated. It was very comfortable but at times a bit noisy even though we were as far away from the stair well as possible and above everyone else...but this was due to inconsiderate guests rather than anything the hotel had done wrong.

We would stay here again and feel it was good value.

Recommend the hotel for couples, business, and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (all the floors are marble so can be noisy, especially with people going up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hotel Amira is at a prime location, walking distance to the historical centre, several great restaurants and Tram line. The service was also great, very friendly and always available to assist with everything.
The breakfast is a nice buffet, good quality not too many options.
The rooms are well equipped and spacious.
All in all its very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WVSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Property: Hotel Amira Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing