We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Ranked #3 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for a week in mid-May. It was absolutely perfect all around. The service was better than expected. Very friendly and gracious. AJ and Arthur, and all the serving staff were wonderful. Our room was very nicely appointed, and the soundproofing really works! I'm a light sleeper and was worried about the street noise, being right in the city. But once you shut the windows, that's pretty much it for noise! I didn't even wake up when the muzzein called for 5am morning prayer. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vickilh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,042)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amira Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 3,042 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had been looking forward to visiting Istanbul for a long time & I put a lot of effort into choosing the right hotel. Naturally I checked on tripadvisor & decided based on reviews of previous guests on the Amira. I honestly cannot recommend this place enough. It was perfect. The location, the room, the staff (all extremely helpful from AJ the Manager who greeted us on day one with a detailed overview of city attractions. Special Mention to the reception desk staff, the doorman, room cleaners & of course the barman Ugur. We stayed 5 nights & it just kept getting better. They have their own ATM which was very useful. Breakfast was excellent & if you stay make sure you go onto the roof terrace in the warm evening with nice background music & a cold beer or a coffee. Take in the views of the Bosphorus & the Blue Mosque. All the most famous sights are within walking distance of the hotel. All in all the perfect hotel in the perfect location

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was super impressed with the service of the friendly, convivial, and ever helpful staff. As soon as we entered the hotel on our check-in day, the staff rushed to make the stay as pleasant for us as possible. The doorman took care of our luggage and one of the staff members, AJ, first made us feel relaxed by offering a complimentary drink and then gave us a very thorough walk-through of the lay of land and tips on how to navigate around (one around taksi drivers and their methods on cheating was especially very useful). AJ made us feel very comfortable and spent good half an hour showing all the places to visit on the map and also how to get around to them in the best possible way.

The Turkish breakfast and afternoon tea at the hotel were excellent - there was wide variety of things to select from - nuts, dry fruits, fresh fruits, cheese, brads, juices, jams, corn flakes, and my fav Turkish Delights... :)

The hotel also gave us a wifi dongle every time we stepped out so that we can use our smartphones for maps, emails and the newly established online social life - this was very useful to us for navigating around. Have not seen this type of service being offered in any other hotel, so was very impressed with this innovative idea.

Location of the hotel is very convenient to see a lot of tourist destinations at a walking distance - Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Spice Bazaar, Grand Bazaar...

The hotel staff is very good in their communication - their English is impeccable - you will find this a luxury in Turkey because not many people there can converse in English very well.

On our last day, we forgot our packet of shoes in the hotel. When we called the hotel in panic, they went out of their way to arrange for delivery of the packet to our next destination in Olu Deniz - on their own accord, they spoke to the guys in the other hotel and ensured that we receive the shoes on time.

Overall, very impressed with the hotel staff and will definitely recommend staying here to make the most of your stay in Istanbul!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GirishNayyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just returned from Istanbul this evening and had to write this review. This is a cosy boutique hotel done up in a distinctly local style.

- LOCATION: Perfect for sightseeing. In Sultanahmet so you're 3 minutes from the Blue Mosque and the Hippodrome, 4-5 minutes from Hagia Sophia, 6 minutes from the nearest Tram stop.
- 2-3 minutes to Arasta Bazaar (great for local crafts and ceremics)
- 15 minutes from the Grand Bazaar, 20 minutes from Sirkeci train station, the Spice Bazaar and the waterfront (ferries to Kadiköy, bridge over to Karaköy and boat trips out to the Bosphorous)
- BREAKFAST: Included and more than ample. There is also a free "afternoon tea" buffet.
- WIFI: Free and fast.
- BEDROOM: In-room safe, comfortable beds and rain shower.

The best bit were the front desk staff. A wheel came off my suitcase on arrival at Istanbul Ataturk airport and Emre, the front office manager took it upon himself to have it fixed. Perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dkayokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A cute, quaint and very nice hotel with excellent service and ideal location, and very reasonable priced. We would return without question on our next visit to Istanbul Turkey.
Upon arrival, Emre, the hotel's manager sat down with us for a quick, easy, comprehensive overview of Istanbul. He was incredibly professional, we felt immediately welcome and in excellent hands, which set a wonderful tone for our first day in Turkey. They provided incredibly convenient and excellent quality recommendations on restaurants, sites to see, ways to get there, etc. He helped us arrange a tour guide for Topkaki Palace, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazzar and Spice Market. Our tour guide Gengis was excellent, very knowlegeable, hospitable, professional. Morning breakfast was wonderful! an extensive and delicious spread. The location of the hotel is 3 minutes walking to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, in the Sultanhmet area, which is beautiful, near the ocean, cobblestone streets, cute hotels/restaurants...ideal location. This is a wonderful 'home base' from which to experience Istanbul Turkey, one of the most fascinating beautiful cities in the world.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What makes this place so good for a reasonably priced place is not just the location but the attitude of the staff to welcome you, make you feel at home and provide reliable advice on places to eat! From a first session with a welcome drink, map, orientation and answering endless questions to persevering with Turkish lessons and restaurant bookings, the team just wants to please and make your stay the best.
Our room was overlooking the street but not at all noisy liked we had feared. The shower was great - power and heat! - though the décor was just a bit tired with some shoddy tile cutting!
Breakfast buffet had most things you might want (but no crispy bacon for my American friends!), whether hot or cold, Turkish or European.
And the main sites are all walk-able with most people really friendly, even the carpet salesmen!!!
Try the Amira; you wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: worth going deluxe!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19John66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for my partners birthday in mid May. We booked a collection from the airport while expensive was quick,easy and relaxing. We were sat down upon arrival offered a drink and given a comprehensive overview of the city.
The room we were allocated was small with tiny bathroom but was sufficient. Excellent aircon that cools the room down quickly. Nice toiletries. An extremely comfortable bed. We both had excellent nights sleep. Breakfast was a healthy spread, fruit, pastries, fresh bread, juice, cereals.
Many have commented on the service and yes it was excellent the only problem we did have was with a recommendation for a restaurant. They tried to recommend a poor restaurant which kind of put me off asking them for other recommendations but generally the service was excellent. The do have little extra touches like a wifi egg to take with you when you are out exploring the city and you can get tram/metro tokens from the front desk for same price as tram. They also left a choclate fondu for my partners birthday which was a nice touch.
Overall an excellent stay especially for first time vistors to istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second flloor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conorq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,161 in Istanbul
3,382 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,752 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,941 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £56 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing