We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Stars for the Hotel Amira!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Ranked #8 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“6 Stars for the Hotel Amira!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

All of the positive reviews that have been written about the Hotel Amira are 100% accurate!!! The rooms, the rooftop terrace, the location, the morning breakfast and afternoon tea are all superior! But, if I could give the Hotel Amira 6 stars or more, I would. When things go right, vacations are easy but how about when there's a snafu?

My daughter and I stayed at the beautiful Hotel Amira for 5 nights from August 1-6 in Room 501! The room was gorgeous and the front desk staff helped us in so many ways with restaurant recommendations, tours, directions, etc. But this morning, the hotel team went above and beyond in helping us.

We were scheduled to leave the Hotel Amira at 9am for Ataturk Airport in order to catch a noon flight. Our luggage was packed and we went downstairs for a nice leisurely breakfast prior to our departure. I quickly checked my email only to discover that our connecting flight in Frankfurt had been cancelled and United Airlines had rebooked us on a flight leaving 24 hours later!!! What a disaster! We had a wedding to attend in Florida on Friday and there was no way we were going to make our flight if we didn't get on another flight.

The front desk concierge was so helpful and called United Airlines for us. We were on the phone for almost two hours before we finally were able to find flights that worked to get us home on time. It was so nice to have this kind of assistance especially in a stressful situation!

We loved the Hotel Amira!!!

Room Tip: Room 501 is large and quiet with two queen-sized beds. The bathroom is spacious, too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dc10away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,667
    296
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
467
1,609
191
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The roof top offers an amazing view of the city and the sea and is the best spot to enjoy a fresh beer. The room have all necessary amenities and are spotless - though a bit small. The hightlight of our stay has been the service: everybody has been so friendly and helpful from the waiter to the cleaning lady. On the day of our arrival Sim from front desk has spent about 30 min. to take us through the city map, highlighting the places to visit and recommending where to eat. Her tips were spot on and accurate and we had a great time! Breakfast buffet and afternoon tea were really nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_S_1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

It was thanks to Tripadvisor and all commentators whose prompted us to book an accommodation in Hotel Amira 3 years ago, this year we tried again and surely not disappointed. Airport transfer, rooms, breakfast, even their smaill but efficient gym was nice. The best characteristics about this place is the friendly, well-trained and caring staff. Very helpful:-)

Room Tip: Ground level or upper level rooms are a bit more spacious, the ones below ground too dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deniz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Second time at the Hotel Amira where the service and staff are outstanding and what make the hotel special. Standard rooms are a bit small but certainly adequate; the deluxe rooms have ample space. They serve afternoon team every day which is a lovely perk and the breakfast buffet is extensive with a nice selection of breads and hot offerings too. Lovely rooftop terrace with nice views of the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonKurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely quiet rooms with the best staff we have ever found at a hotel (and particularly the two ladies on reception) located close to everything. Highlights were the introduction to Istanbul we got on arrival, help in finding kid friendly ways to experience Istanbul (we have 4 kids from 6 to 14 years old), great afternoon tea and breakfast included in our room rate.
We moved to Amira from another hotel close by after its qualities were grossly exaggerated in some questionable Trip Advisor reviews. Amira were wonderful. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet from our chats with other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJ178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had a brilliant 3 night stay. Staff excellent, roof top terrace amazing, central location and will definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Just one small issue for us was hotel drinks would be better priced in TL rather than in euros.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelCal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

As a gay / LGBT traveller, I was (unnecessarily) concerned about booking a smaller / boutique hotel in Istanbul and almost opted for one of the large hotel chains.

I am glad that I didn't because this hotel is a true gem. The staff go out of their way to ensure you are settled-in, comfortable with the city and get the most out of your time with them. Examples include a drink and briefing on arrival, staffed breakfast buffet, willingness to arrange cabs and give instructions to taxi drivers, arrange hammam visits and recommend local restaurants.

The hotel is perfectly located, within easy walking distance to the large sites in the old part of the city, including the Blue Mosque.

Before booking I was unable to find information on whether this hotel is gay / LGBT friendly but can happily confirm that they are.

I would gladly stay at the Amira again and would definitely recommend it to friends.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank scottnothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,149 in Istanbul
3,325 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,909 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Property: Hotel Amira Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing