We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amira Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Ranked #4 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“perfect boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

great hotel,great location,great service.walking distance from all the sights in Sultanhamet,otherwise always ask the hotel or the restaurant to call a taxi for you,they are very cheap[don't forget a little tip],street taxis sometimes try cheat you turning off the taxametert.We had the "Romance package" and it was absolutely worth the money.Lovely terrace,nice room,little but very clean spa.But what makes the difference in this hotel is the service:from the concierge to the barman to the youg lady in the spa they are all professional smiling and friendly,thank you guys!just a couple of things otherwise you might think that i'm a relative of the owner:few rooms are accessible only with stairs,few others have quite a poor view and maybe in summer you'll prefer a hotel with a swimming pool.other than that the hotel is a perfect choice

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fanzoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,588
    293
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
441
1,583
179
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

My friend and I used this hotel as a base for our recent city break. We were very well looked after by all the staff; when we arrived we were shown where the hotel was in relation to all the major sites and given some recommendations of when to visit them. We could easily walk to everything (everthing was up-hill from the hotel!) - but the tram was also close by should we have needed it. Some restaurants were also recommended to us by the hotel (though we never actually made it to any of them - our fault not the hotels'!) and they happily booked trips for us during our week-end. The rooms were well furnished and very clean. The air conditioning was rather loud so at night we had to juggle being too hot with being kept awake! Breakfast was tasty and there was plenty of it. The roof terrace provided superb views and looked very inviting (unfortunately the weather on the day we went to sit out on the roof was not dry, sunny and warm!). All in all a really great hotel that we wouldn't hesitate to return to.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJB06A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

With 40 years in the travel business I have never experienced such excellent service from a hotel. From the moment we arrived it was clear that this hotel was a cut above the average. Whisked down to the bar for check in we were given free drinks and a 20 minute comprehensive explanation of what to see and do which was really useful having never been to Istanbul before. Throughout the stay all the staff were genuinely helpful and friendly, the hotel is in a great location just a 5 minute walk form the Blue Mosque etc. and rooms exceptionally well appointed for the price, which is most reasonable given the location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We have spent 5 nights in Amira Hotel. My wif & me & my little baby. It has been the greatest & most enjoybale time I have spent in my vacation holidays ever.

The moment you walk into the hotel you feel yourself home. All the staff is showing terrific & super treatment to customers, VIP treatment.

Everything was really perfect from a warm & kind reception on the first moment of check-in till the lovely goodbye on the date of check-out. Staff is very professional & well taking care of the customers.

Room cleaness is excellent. Food & Beverages are super & great.

We really felt ourselves home, & deelpy wished if we have had more time to stay in Amira Hotel.

I defintely would recommend Amira Hotel for everyone who wants to have great vacation.

For sure I am booking in Amira Hotel for any future vacation plan in Istabul. It adds a great value to your vacation. Deep thanks to all the staff in Amira Hotel, & well done.

Best wishes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist27882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

The hotel is new, clean and lovely and the most important feature is the wonderful staff., willing to do anything they can to enhance your trip. Arthur gave us a wonderful orientation to the hotel, offered to send staff to buy us a certain coffee machine my husband was looking for, and provided excellent recommendations on restaurants. We were initially disappointed by our ground floor room (pretty but no privacy from the street) as we are light sleepers and had requested a quiet room. There was nothing else available that night but the next day they upgraded us to a lovely large quiet room. Loved the breakfast and all the folks who worked there. I would come back in a heartbeat when in Istanbul.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MRoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

We just returned from spending 4 nights at the Amira. It was such a great experience. Simply the best staff we have ever encountered. There were always available to help with anything and seemingly happy to do so. A very nice addition for travelers who have never been to the city before. We felt like we always had a friend to call if there was any kind of a problem away from the hotel but there never was.

I so agree with the last review, good location slightly off the busy beaten path so quiet and soothing. Wonderful breakfast, lovely terrace for a sunset and a comfortable room complete with an iPhone docking station and self closing drawers. My only complaint....and it is small.... is that the lighting in the bathroom was not the best.

If you are going to stay in Sultanamet---this is your hotel. I understand why it is the #1 rated hotel in Istanbul in Tripadvisor---quite an honor.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

If you are traveling to Istanbul the Hotel Amira is the perfect place to stay. I travel frequently for business and am spoiled when it comes to hotel stays. I could not have been happier with my experience at Hotel Amira. The staff was perfect. They were all very nice, knowledgable and smart and they took the time to make sure that each and every detail was perfect. In fact, after staying there for 3 nights when we were scheduled to transfer to another hotel we extended our stay at the Hotel Amira.

The rooms were very clean and well done - Very comfortable. The They were nicely appointed and (unlike some European hotels) took care of all ammenities. Breakfast was fabulous and filling. Lots of fruits, cheeses, meats, different Turkish pastries with cheese fillings, cereal, breads, yogurt, juices, eggs, potatoes.

The location is perfect because you are within walking distance of all of the fabulous sites in the old town, but not so close that you get traffic or tourist noise. The rooftap terrace is a lovely place to enjoy some quiet downtime looking at the water.

The hotel is small (about 30 rooms) and it is family owned, so you get extra care, but the owners and operators are sophisticated and well traveled enough to truly provide 5 star service for a boutique hotel price. We also stayed at the Sirkeci Konak during our trip and it was ok, but there was NO comparison between it and the Hotel Amira.

If choosing between the Hotel Amira, the Sirkeci Konak or one of the American 5 star hotels then definitely stay at the Hotel Amira. Amazing service and the value truly can't be beaten.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,129 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Property: Hotel Amira Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing