We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galateia Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galateia Residence
Ranked #601 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This was an ideal place for us to stay as a couple. I wish that we had found it earlier. The desk personnel were extremely helpful, and we were especially thankful for Serhat's gracious assistance

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
52
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
gainesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

me my waif and two children and an infant just stayed in galateia. we loved our stay and would differently come back again.
the apartment: is very clean and luxurious the bed is so big the ac is excellent .... you would just love every detail of it and it would differently be better then a hotel stay by faaaaar.
the staff: Nurhan, serhat and yehea are incredibly worm and genteel people and are very welcoming. they well go out of their way to help!!. they will bring you in when you are lost a specially the first time. give you recommendation and take care of your needs......if any.
the location : is suburb as it is 30 steps from istiklal street, the main shooing and activity center. and is very close to a metro station that well take you to other areas,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehab a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at the Galateia Residence at the tale end of a three week trip to Turkey. We wanted to rest up for a few days before moving on. It consists of two adjoining buildings on a steep cobblestone street right at the bottom of Istiklal Caddesi (main shopping street in the new part of the city) in an incredibly convenient and scenic location. This hotel does not have ordinary rooms, but gigantic, fully equipped apartments with wifi, large flat screen TVs, a fully equipped and spacious kitchen and, in our case, a spectacular bedroom and master bath with views of the city and Bosporus. Only the top floors with 2BR apartments have the great views. The decor is modern and sophisticated and the bed comfortable.

The hotel is lightly staffed with one person at all times but each of the three young people we ended up dealing with over two days was helpful and gracious.

If you are looking for a calm place in the storm and don't necessarily need a full service facility (they don't have a restaurant), this is the place to stay. And the value for the money is really unbelievable. We were there at prime tourist season and our aprtment was under $200 a night.

We cannot say enough good things about this fabulous hotel. The only down side is that it was a bit hard to find for some cab drivers.

Room Tip: Go for one of the 2 BRs on the top two floors of the main building to get the really great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We arrived late at night and the night porter was there to meet us and carry our bags to the hotel which was a lovely welcome. The apartment was lovely, the bed ENORMOUS and the shower and bath absolutely divine. If you like massive showers, you will love this place! Also, if you have been walking around Istanbul for 9 hours you will appreciate an amazing shower! It's ideally located in Beyoglu which is a fantastic location, the metro is about 50 metres up the street as is the funicular railway (tunel) down to the tramway to get you to all the main sights. The shopping district is at the end of the street and there are little corner shops dotted around for all the supplies you might need. The staff were great and extremely helpful, Nurhan and Gagri were fab and Serhat was a standout for giving us great tips of restaurants to eat at and places to visit. Stayed for 8 nights, wish I was still there. Couldn't have faulted the place, am very lucky to have chosen well! Thanks!

Room Tip: I had the ground floor room next to reception - could be a little noisy as people checked in and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Galatiea Residence - staying in the one bedroom Premium Apartment (5a) with 2 young children (8 and 5). Apartment was huge and had a great panoramic views over the Posphorus and the Golden Horn. We loved the furnished balcony and its charming view. Supurb air cond system and free super fast free Wifi internet access. All the staff are courteous and friendly. Ideally located a stone's throw from the lovely Istiklal street and the metro station, and all attractions are a short taxi ride away. The in-room breakfast was excellent and perfect. We are already looking forward to our next trip back to Istanbul and shall be staying at the Galatiea Residence again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hdalaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just spent 4 nights at G.R. Had a great time, well located. Great value for money. We were two families, had a great time. Would like to mention Sarhat, at the reception. Extremely warm and helpful !!

Room Tip: try to get the room with the Bosphorous view, should be worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDRajani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Since Istanbul is so large, we stayed at two hotels during our trip to get a sense of different neighbourhoods. Galateia Residence is more like a spacious apartment than a hotel. Our place included a den with extra bed, a huge master bedroom, enormous closets, a fully outfitted kitchen, and a living/dining room, all beautifully decorated. We even had satellite TV and thanks to jetlag I got to watch a Stanley Cup final game at 5 am, which is my Canadian duty. The front desk was friendly and helpful, perhaps better suited to independent travellers who like privacy rather than hand-holding.

The Beyoglu neighbourhood is fantastic, not touristy, just full of people strolling and shopping along the Istiklal Cadessi pedestrian mall. Lots of amazing restaurants in the area, especially if you like modern, innovative Turkish food, my favourite food on the whole trip. There are some interesting contemporary art galleries in the area and the hotel is close to the Istanbul Modern. I think the room is very reasonably priced, but given the huge space it would be a bargain for a family with teens, especially since the kids would love to wander the Istiklal at night. It would also work for people who like to cook for themselves, but really, you can get any food you want around there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
SNOG Rooms & Suites
SNOG Rooms & Suites
#431 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Beyoglu
Duo Galata Hotel
Duo Galata Hotel
#585 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Galata Mansion
Meroddi Galata Mansion
#286 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#14 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#92 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galateia Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galateia Residence

Property: Galateia Residence
Address: Sahkulu Bostan Sk, No: 9 - 11 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#175 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galateia Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galateia Residence - Short Term & Long Term Rental Apartments with one bedroom, two bedroom and duplex options. Located in the heart of the city very close to all attractions in two adjacent original Pera buildings Demiriz & Haci Sayid with a total of 13 apartments.-Luxury bedrooms with 200X200cm king size bed designed for ultimate comfort,-Extra large wardrobes, ironing sets,-Fully equipped kitchen with large refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, microwave, kettle, toaster, cooking and dining utilities,-Bosporus & Old city view stylish living room - CableTV, -Landline phones, -Safe Box,-Free wireless internet connection,-En-suite bathroom, private elegant bath accessories. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galateia Residence Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing