We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Galateia Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galateia Residence
Ranked #601 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Geneva, New York
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

My husband and two daughters and I stayed at the Galateia Residence for 3 nights before going sailing in the south. it was excellent on all accounts - clean, spacious (huge actually), great location - and most of all the staff went beyond expectations to help us find restaurants, shops, taxis, etc. Truly one of the most enjoyable and comfortable "hotel" experiences we have ever had. and we travel constantly!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jle47777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
52
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed in the mezzanine duplex apartment which was the most spacious choice for our family reunion. Our group ranged 0-80 yrs in age arrived on two separate flights at Ata Turk and Sabiha airports, and were all picked up on time by the transport arranged by the hotel. The residence appeared to be fit for all of us! There were two bed rooms and a third double sofa bed in the living room. The self-catering facilities were adequate for cooking any food, and easy access to Istiklal street made shopping, eating and entertainment absolutely easy and fun. All the staff were exceptionally kind and helpful by global standards, specially Nurhan who helped us book transits with spacious and luxury minivans and tours a few times. He even kindly called several pharmacies in town to find the medication we needed on a Sunday, and gave useful instructions about anything we needed. The management was so caring and considerate for the baby and elderly in our group, and let us check-in early and check-out (quite) late at a small extra charge. The apartment was clean and serviced everyday. The location could not be any better. No significant downsides, just that our apartment had no views of the Bosphorus (unlike the other big apartment) and that the sofa bed could have been a little more comfortable. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Galateia Residence and recommend it to anyone with similar family needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The location is great, with a friendly staff, and great views in the upper rooms. While somewhat difficult to get to by taxi, the location couldn't be more convenient, yet not on the main noisy pedestrian street. Just up the narrow road is one of the most popular pedestrian streets, just down the road is Galata tower. The beds were very comfortable, and having a kitchenette was a great thing. Even in the smaller apartment, there was room for a rollaway bed, so it can easily accommodate 3 or more people. We stayed in the penthouse one night, and it may have been one of the most beautiful views I've ever experienced. 360 degrees of views from Beyoglu.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSquared_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Loved this residence, took my breath away when I walked into it. I stayed in a two bedroom. The bathroom was gorgeous with a view of the city. I prepared several meals in the kitchen and had friends over for cocktails - it was perfect for entertaining a small group. Service is very friendly and accommodating. One downside - t he gym is a not a gym. It's a bike and yoga mat in the basement. But everything else is perfect. And you can always get a work out coming up those Istanbul hills!

Room Tip: One building has small two bedrooms that are darker and smaller. Splurge and stay in the two bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at Galateia Residence (in trendy Beygolu) the first night of our honeymoon.

Though our taxi (45 minute ride in traffic) had some difficulty finding the hotel, the front desk staff graciously met us 1/2 block away and assisted us to the hotel.

Upon checking in, we were informed we had received a complimentary upgrade to a larger apartment on a higher floor. The apartment was splendid and spacious - living room, den, full kitchen, 1 1/2 bathrooms (master had a Jacuzzi), and a lovely bedroom with views of the Bosporus. The hotel is very well located -- it's a half block from the vibrant Istikal Caddesi, but secluded enough that the street noise is non-existent. There are numerous good restaurants and bars nearby, as well as multiple public transit options that are merely steps away.

It was a fantastic experience; our only regret was not staying longer. The staff was excellent, the value tremendous, and the location phenomenal. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hendrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

we stayed in this hotel for a total of 8 nights, we really enjoyed our stay, i would give a 10 for the very kind staff.. they are very helpful and always happy to help and assist you and give you the best way to go to your destination

the apartment has a great kitche with dish washer and it really helps us as we are 6 people so it was really cheaper for us to use the kitchen facilities to save some money + restaurants are very expensive in istanbul so you really need that kitchen


i would definitly stay there again if i visited istanbl again and i would defo recommend this hotel to my friends

Sultan :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We just returned from a 6 day stay at the Galateia. As a family with young kids, we were looking for a serviced apartment that gave us more space than a hotel and also the option to self-cater if required. The Galateia turned out to be the perfect choice. Large well-appointed rooms, tasteful interiors, a fully functioning kitchen, comfortable bedding, efficient housekeeping, wi-fi, in short-all the comforts of home. Nurhan and her staff are welcoming and always ready to help. In addition, the Galateia is situated in the Beyoglu area which is full of quirky shops and cafes, just walking around teh streets gives you a taste of everyday life here. The Galateia is the perfect base from which to explore the magical city of istanbul. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraV72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Hotel Gritti Pera
Hotel Gritti Pera
#631 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Galata Mansion
Meroddi Galata Mansion
#310 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#100 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#13 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#4 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galateia Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galateia Residence

Property: Galateia Residence
Address: Sahkulu Bostan Sk, No: 9 - 11 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#175 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galateia Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galateia Residence - Short Term & Long Term Rental Apartments with one bedroom, two bedroom and duplex options. Located in the heart of the city very close to all attractions in two adjacent original Pera buildings Demiriz & Haci Sayid with a total of 13 apartments.-Luxury bedrooms with 200X200cm king size bed designed for ultimate comfort,-Extra large wardrobes, ironing sets,-Fully equipped kitchen with large refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, microwave, kettle, toaster, cooking and dining utilities,-Bosporus & Old city view stylish living room - CableTV, -Landline phones, -Safe Box,-Free wireless internet connection,-En-suite bathroom, private elegant bath accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galateia Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galateia Residence Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing