We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel..Very Good Location”
Review of Galateia Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galateia Residence
Ranked #613 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel..Very Good Location”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Galateia Residence is an amazing hotel located on Istaklal street..

The rooms were very spacious with very elegant decor.

The living room was also spacious with a kitchenette.

The staff was very friendly.

Highly Recommended.

TIP: I had a bad experience when I hailed a cab from streets..So please Always book a taxi from the hotel which you are staying at..they usually know honest cab drivers.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hthawani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
52
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This stay was way more than I ever hoped for. I didn't expect much from this low key establishment, but wow did they ever prove me wrong.

From the care and attention of the staff, to the lovely views from the room or apartment, all was just fantastic. We stayed in the top floor apartment (if you can afford it, do it, you won't be disappointed) and the room, the view, the balcony, everything was wonderful.

The Residence is situated about 5-10 min walking distance from the main strip in the old city and the Galateia tower. Walk down the hill about 10 min, get on the tram and head to any part of the city you want. Just a great location.

Special thanks to the staff, whoever owns this place, give them all a raise, they deserve it!

Room Tip: If possible, stay on the top floor, the views from there are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlove81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Staying here is like having a beautifully furnished, large apartment within steps of Istiklal Caddesi. Fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom plus separate "guest" toilet, lovely bedroom with huge, comfortable king bed, a luggage room with coat closet, and a large living room with big windows, dining table, television with lots of channels in many languages--all impeccably clean and stylish. The staff is also extremely helpful and friendly. An excellent alternative to staying in a large, impersonal hotel. Your cab driver may have a little trouble finding it, but once you get there you'll be happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polruanlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and could have stayed for another 4 quite easily. Apartment was cleaned daily while we were out site seeing and breakfast was brought up to our room at whatever time we requested. Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozziepedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Years and had a fantastic time! The street was very quiet but located off Istiklal caddesi which offered plenty to do and very close to the Galata Tower. Staff were lovely and very attentive. The apartment was spacious, beautiful and very well kept. We would absolutely stay here again and we highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkie_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

For our first visit to Istanbul our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teens) wanted somewhere near the sites, near the shopping and where we could spread out and relax. Guided by the other reviews on Tripadvisor we booked Galateia Residence for our 5 nights in Istanbul and it certainly ticked all those boxes.

Firstly - getting there. Take up the hotel's offer of transport from the airport, they know where they are going, and apparently many taxis don't!

Secondly - location. We were initially worried that we may be too far away from everything but as it turns out Galateia Residence is perfectly situated on the hill on the north side of the Golden Horn, just near the centuries-old Galata Tower (tip - stunning 360 degree views!). It is a few minutes walk up to the funicular stop which takes you to the tramway at Karakoy, from which it is only a few minutes and a few tram stops across the Galata bridge by tram to all the 'big' sites (Spice Markets, Bosphorus cruises, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Grand Bazaar). The funicular station is also the start of the Istiklal Cadessi, the mile-long shopping strip full of international brand-name shops, local fashions and plenty of food shops and vendors. The apartments are located in a very quiet cobblestone street in an area of boutique shops, designers and craftsmen. There is a small neighnourhood store for vital supplies literally two houses away and a larger supermarket a few minutes away.

Thirdly - the apartment. We booked the Mezzanine Duplex apartment and it was clean, spacious, luxurious and with a fully-equipped kitchen, a money-saver when it comes to not having to eat out for breakfasts and dinners. And the apartment was certainly a peaceful and at times very necessary oasis to be able to escape from the constant, in-your-face intensity, people everywhere Istanbul that you find right outside the door.

And finally - the staff! Galateia Residence offers 24/7 security/reception and everyone we encountered was incredibly helpful and friendly, providing travel tips, restaurant advice and bookings, through to printing out our boarding passes.

Many thanks to the management and staff at Galateia Residence for making our stay in Istanbul a wonderful one.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank The4CarrollsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Aside from the slight difficulty of reaching the front door, this has been one of the best stays in recent years. It is in an area of small street – the kind that taxis just can’t find – so take up the car service from the airport, after that Istanbul and particularly the area needs to be walked with public transport.

The staff know the area well and have good English. Staff are generally otherwise invisible, breakfast and the minibar are however overpriced. Tap the staff for food recommendations, it is free and they like feedback on their efforts post meal.

The rooms are well furnished, clean and well supported – the TV lacks a few channels that chain hotels have – but not really an issue. Wi-Fi flawless, kitchenette well equipped. Bedrooms have plenty of storage – but lack a similar amount of hangers for the rail, which maybe an issue, depending, also not all rooms have a view over the city, so ask if you want a view.

The area is a must for those that want to wander, feed and people watch – with a bit of shopping added.

If (not a big if) I ever return to Istanbul – this will be my first choice hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors - facing away from the front - should have some view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Hotel Gritti Pera
Hotel Gritti Pera
#635 of 1,148 in Istanbul
47 reviews
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#458 of 1,148 in Istanbul
100 reviews
Beyoglu
SNOG Rooms & Suites
SNOG Rooms & Suites
#414 of 1,148 in Istanbul
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,148 in Istanbul
1,006 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata Antique Hotel
Galata Antique Hotel
#462 of 1,148 in Istanbul
165 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Galata Mansion
Meroddi Galata Mansion
#335 of 1,148 in Istanbul
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galateia Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galateia Residence

Property: Galateia Residence
Address: Sahkulu Bostan Sk, No: 9 - 11 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#174 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galateia Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galateia Residence - Short Term & Long Term Rental Apartments with one bedroom, two bedroom and duplex options. Located in the heart of the city very close to all attractions in two adjacent original Pera buildings Demiriz & Haci Sayid with a total of 13 apartments.-Luxury bedrooms with 200X200cm king size bed designed for ultimate comfort,-Extra large wardrobes, ironing sets,-Fully equipped kitchen with large refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, microwave, kettle, toaster, cooking and dining utilities,-Bosporus & Old city view stylish living room - CableTV, -Landline phones, -Safe Box,-Free wireless internet connection,-En-suite bathroom, private elegant bath accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Galateia Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galateia Residence Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing