We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, Attentive and Personalized Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Galateia Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galateia Residence
Ranked #602 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
DC, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location, Attentive and Personalized Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

My husband and I recently did a multi city trip throughout Europe for our anniversary and chose Istanbul as our destination for 5 days. We were a bit surprised to see how expensive hotels in Istanbul were and stumbled upon this apartment style hotel in Turkey Travel Planner. What a great find!

To be as accurate as possible, I will say we did start off a bit rocky because the service we used from Backpackers International transportation could not find this place. The hotel can be hard for some taxis/drivers to find so you MUST indicate to them to take you to the top of Tunel at Istikal and drive down by the Swedish embassy. If you choose Galateia, I recommend getting very detailed directions from them to have ready for your cabdriver before you arrive. The location is SO central and in the fun, always jumping Beyoglu district. We are a couple in our early 30's and this was such a vibrant neighborhood at night --all the action happens on the side streets! However, the hotel is nicely located on a quiet street.

We stayed in a Junior Deluxe apartment that is on the website and all I can say is that it looked even better in person. It was such a "pretty apartment" and had wonderful amenities--spotless kitchen, nice flat screen tv, a dining room area. I can only think of a couple of drawbacks: you could hear some of the noise from the apartment upstairs (some footsteps but minimal)/ And a minor one--is I wish there had been a tv in the bedroom.

What sets this place apart though is the spectacular , 5 star service you get from the hotel manager Yuksel and one of the front desk managers, Barbaros. Fantastic, cordial, accommodating and quick to respond to your requests. Yuksel--thank you for the wonderful treat to help us celebrate. The cakes were divine!

We highly recommend this hotel--it gives you the sense of home in a peaceful street with the proximity to everyday life in Turkey. We would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionelsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
52
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

We travel a lot: Our trip to Istanbul this summer was part of a four-month tour of the U.S. and Europe. So, when I write this is one of the best hotels we've ever enjoyed, I'm saying a lot.

More than a hotel, Galateia Residence is a small apartment building run as a hotel. We stayed in two of Galateia's apartments during the two weeks we spent there during our visit to Istanbul. Both units were finished beautifully, with modern, fully stocked kitchens. The beds were exceptionally comfortable. They were quiet.

The location was terrific: just steps from Istanbul's major entertainment boulevard -- -- Istiklal Avenue -- as well as a subway stop, and a funicular that takes you to other transportation links to major mosques and other tourist sites.

Views from our top-floor apartment were wonderful. And best of all: the nightly price was no more than a conventional hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruffoli
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

After a terrible start in other accommodation, which we managed to flee after great difficulty, we were so grateful to find this refuge in Istanbul. Professionally managed and well run, our every wish was accommodated by courteous and polite staff. 'Yes' was the answer to every question. The apartment was bright and spacious, spotless and lovely to come home to in the evenings after sightseeing. I would highly recommend the Galateia residence to anyone seeking a Sultanahmet alternative. Terrific location just off the Istiklal Caddesi....short walk to Tunel (this is important). Some flats offer Bosphorus views! Tip: bought the freshest fish under the Galata Bridge and prepared it in the apt. Great fun!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ventolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

The apartments are very well located on a quiet , traffic free, street in the heart of Beyoglu, there's an excellent array of shops and restaurants within a 5 minute walk, the Metro and the Tunel funicular are just round the corner and Sultanhamet can be easily reached by public transport.

The apartments are furnished to a high standard with large, comfortable beds and very adequate kitchens and living space.

Staff were particularly helpful and friendly and airport transfers can be arranged.

I have visited this lovely city several times both for business and leisure purposes and would wholeheartedly recommend the apartments for either purpose.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathanm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Galateia is well positioned and fully furnished with all the amenities you would need. A big plus is the staff and the manager that are always ready to help. Defensively a perfect place for business travelers, families or anyone wants to visit Istanbul and have the comforts of home with high standards.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVILLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. Summary:

LOCATION:

Very convenient. Half block from Istikal where there are lots of shops and restaurants. Situated on a very quiet street. 5 min walk to Galata Tower. 2 min walk to the funicular. Overall excellent location.

ROOMS:

Very modern and comfortable. Our room had a large living room, dining area, kitchen (fully equipped), two bathrooms and one bedroom. There was also free WIFI in the room. The room was clean and of an excellent standard. The only small negative is that there were no small soaps/shampoos etc. Just a large wall dispenser by the sink and in the shower.

STAFF:

Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The front-desk personnel gave us excellent tips re: restaurants and made bookings for us. Being a smaller hotel, you could tell that they genuinely wanted to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

OTHER NOTES:

Taxi drivers seem to have a hard time finding the hotel despite its very central location. Make sure you have a good map with you to show the driver in case he gets lost. Alternatively, you can also get down at the funicular station (at the top) and walk approx. 200 meters to the hotel if you don't have much luggage.

OVERALL:

Excellent hotel and great stay. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ap200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We arrived at the hotel having lost our luggage and we were thrilled to find our apartment was so clean, spacious, light and luxurious. The staff were very helpful with great tips on where to eat, shop and sightsee. They were also helpful with our search for our luggage. I enjoy windows and views so we were very pleased with so many windows and balconies in each room of the apartment! The heating was ideal, shower and bathroom huge and immaculate, kitchen modern with appropriate equipment. All in a gorgeous old building.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elke1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Hotel Gritti Pera
Hotel Gritti Pera
#631 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Galata Mansion
Meroddi Galata Mansion
#309 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#90 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#14 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galateia Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galateia Residence

Property: Galateia Residence
Address: Sahkulu Bostan Sk, No: 9 - 11 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#175 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galateia Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galateia Residence - Short Term & Long Term Rental Apartments with one bedroom, two bedroom and duplex options. Located in the heart of the city very close to all attractions in two adjacent original Pera buildings Demiriz & Haci Sayid with a total of 13 apartments.-Luxury bedrooms with 200X200cm king size bed designed for ultimate comfort,-Extra large wardrobes, ironing sets,-Fully equipped kitchen with large refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, microwave, kettle, toaster, cooking and dining utilities,-Bosporus & Old city view stylish living room - CableTV, -Landline phones, -Safe Box,-Free wireless internet connection,-En-suite bathroom, private elegant bath accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galateia Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galateia Residence Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing