We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Galateia Residence
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$181
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
124
20
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
20
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Apartment very quiet and in good location - near Galeta area which is very trendy. Staff were very helpful especially as I had my wallet stolen in Istanbul - receptionist arranged for wallet to be delivered at hotel after it being found by someone in another location.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We chanced upon these serviced apartments while looking for a long term residence & loved it so much we stayed nearly 3 months.Perfectly located & appointed for self catering when your jaded from regular hotels. This is better than a 5 star hotel & has much more in room comfort .The front of house staff & management are outstanding & helpful in every way. The housekeeping also some of the best we've experienced anywhere in the world & we've been travelling & living in hotels for over 12 months.will be returning soon

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drhlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We were really please with our stay at Galateia Residence. We stayed over the boxing day/new years eve period with friends (so total of two couples). The main bedroom had a HUGE bed and really comfortable. The second room which was the business room they changed into a bedroom with a fold out bed. Our friends stayed in this room and said the bed was surprisingly comfortable. It was an excellent type of room for us as both couples had the privacy of their own room as well as being able to spend time with each other in the living room and kitchen.

We used the kitchen a lot not only to save money but to also be able to enjoy the fresh fish and vegetables available in the markets. Probably one of our best dining experiences was in our own apartment!!!

The cleaner was lovely and we felt well looked after. (I even left her a little pressie when we left)

Lastly, the bathroom was to die for!!!! Gorgeous decor and the shower was amazing. Really great pressure and nice and hot. There is also a big tub which we all used frequently! I plan to steal some of the design features for my own home!

Great place and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussiegirl83186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

my husband and i stayed at galateia residence with some friends and their children. the aparments are not big enough to accommodate adults and children. the sofa bed is very small and you have to pay an extra $50 per night for an extra bed. the staff are ok but unless you can speak turkish you'l have a difficult time communicating with them. the location is great as its walking distance from the shopping parade and the trainline. we ordered breakfast but were very dissappointed as they gave one slice of cheese and butter and some bread and it cost $10!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ak1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zery, Manager at Galateia Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2011

Well greetings from Galateia Residence,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
It is disappointing and surprising to hear your unsatisfied comments those we did not hear during your stay.
Our apartment capacities (sqm and maximum number of guest) are mentioned at all websites we appear. We recommend our guests to book Deluxe Apartments (2 bedroom, available for 4 guests) instead of Junior Deluxe Apartments (1 bedroom, available for 3 guests).
It will be our pleasure to serve you Superior Breakfast for your next stay. We have 3 kinds of breakfast presentations those do not match the one you mentioned.
We will be happy to welcome you back with our talented welcome coordinators at your service and offer a complimentary upgrade for your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

My husband and I recently did a multi city trip throughout Europe for our anniversary and chose Istanbul as our destination for 5 days. We were a bit surprised to see how expensive hotels in Istanbul were and stumbled upon this apartment style hotel in Turkey Travel Planner. What a great find!

To be as accurate as possible, I will say we did start off a bit rocky because the service we used from Backpackers International transportation could not find this place. The hotel can be hard for some taxis/drivers to find so you MUST indicate to them to take you to the top of Tunel at Istikal and drive down by the Swedish embassy. If you choose Galateia, I recommend getting very detailed directions from them to have ready for your cabdriver before you arrive. The location is SO central and in the fun, always jumping Beyoglu district. We are a couple in our early 30's and this was such a vibrant neighborhood at night --all the action happens on the side streets! However, the hotel is nicely located on a quiet street.

We stayed in a Junior Deluxe apartment that is on the website and all I can say is that it looked even better in person. It was such a "pretty apartment" and had wonderful amenities--spotless kitchen, nice flat screen tv, a dining room area. I can only think of a couple of drawbacks: you could hear some of the noise from the apartment upstairs (some footsteps but minimal)/ And a minor one--is I wish there had been a tv in the bedroom.

What sets this place apart though is the spectacular , 5 star service you get from the hotel manager Yuksel and one of the front desk managers, Barbaros. Fantastic, cordial, accommodating and quick to respond to your requests. Yuksel--thank you for the wonderful treat to help us celebrate. The cakes were divine!

We highly recommend this hotel--it gives you the sense of home in a peaceful street with the proximity to everyday life in Turkey. We would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LionelsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews