We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD LOCATION”
Review of Masal Apart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Masal Apart
Ranked #496 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 23 April 2013

It is very good located, clean and very kind people...new reformed,the price is okey comparing the service..it is near by almost all museums and mosques...
If you are staying more than three nights they offer you shuttle service. And if you want transfer back to airport you just have to ask for it...or any private tour of the city, they will be pleased to help you about anything...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katibi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Masal Apart
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

We spent 8 nights in the third floor apartment in September 2012. All the arrangements went according to plan (airport pickup at 06.00, the concierge ready to accept us that early). We had booked the apartment with a balcony but were given the one below without...no matter, it was pretty hot so we were pleased to have a slightly larger sitting room with aircon! The kitchen equipment was basic but we managed.
Position was the huge plus! minutes from Sultahamet Square, a fantastic view of a Sinan mosque and its byzantine ruins and water tower as well as down to the Mamara.and easy access to everything. All in all, very good value for money.
Agree with the comments regarding contact with the management...we had to phone a couple of times before the card machine was brought for us to pay! But the concierge, with little English (but then we have less Turkish!), was always willing to try to help..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

After staying in Dubai's 4 points sheraton for four nights when my husband and i were dropped in front of masal apart we were in for a shock of our lives.The cleaning lady spoke no english and we were alloted a ground floor apart with no ventilation and it was more like a storage,after repeated requests we were shifted to a 4 floor apart .There's no lift so we had to climb the creaky wooden staircase and to add to our woes the ac did not work and after 2 days we were provided with a table fan.There are lots of beautiful properties around sultanahmet with amazing views of the sea,so i would never recommend this apart ,not at all child friendly ,and certainly not for elders.The only plus point was that it was close to all the historical places and to the tram.
sapuru.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simplysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masalapart, Gerente at Masal Apart, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all I am really surprised that you compare an economic price apartment with Sheraton Dubai which is very unfair.
Could you please tell me where the cleaning lady speaks English except english speaking countries? OUr all A/C 's are working very well and they work the same way like Hotel Sheraton Dubai, I mean you have to use the remote control for it..
But anyway we totaly renovated,decorated and painted the Masal Apart. We care about what our guests suggests us. Normally aparts are ordinary houses,they are not hotels,that is the reason they are called aparts. As you mention the stairs are not dark, I dont understand the total darkness,it's not true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The apartment was well-furnished and spacious, it was also very close to the tourist attractions in the old town. Check-in during the middle of the night was possible.
Unfortunately, hygiene was not acceptable. Lots of hair could be seen everywhere on the floor, no matter it's in the living room, open kitchen, bathroom or bedroom. The inside compartments of the wardrobe were covered with dust. There were stains in the toilet bowl and basin. What more terrible was the kitchen utensils, including the pots and plates were all greasy, I had to wash them before using.
One minor problem, the house keeper had difficulty in understanding even simple English (e.g. in the morning vs at night). You'd better write down everything for her.
Failed to provide a reasonably clean environment, this apartment definitely charged too much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckyl501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masalapart, Gerente at Masal Apart, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013
Google Translation

Estimado housped,
Hemos totalmente reformado,pintado y amueblado el Masal Apart hace poco. Nos importa mucho lo que opina la gente y sus comentarios.
Tenemos una direccion y personal nueva.
Como que lo mas importante es la limpieaza para nosotros hemos tambien cambiado el equipo de limpieza.
Espero verles pronto de nuevo en Masal Apart, estaran bienvenidos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I good beat on about the GREAT location and FAB view! And how we were a few minutes walk from everything and how lovely and friendly the housekeeper was but I will just mention good old honesty!
We booked a taxi through the owner Serkan for our return to Sabiha Gocken, My friend had left his phone in the taxi and immediately very worried we contacted Serkan. He was absolutely fabulous. He located the phone, called us back and then sent it via courier delivery. After asking repeatedly to pay for postage Serkan being as humble as he is declined. Money will be put into a charity box for this. Istanbul is a beautiful city and this apartment made it more magical. There are not many honest people anymore, I thank Serkan and the taxi driver for their honesty.
I am definately returning later this year to the same apartment!!! ABSOLUTELY FAB!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soniya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

The Masal apartments are only a 3min walk from the Blue Mosque! Great location and excellent value for money. Based in the old town on a small street, its a hidden gem! We were very comfortable and loved the fact we could walk most places. Taxis are cheap otherwise, but make sure you go on the meter rather than negotiate a price (taxis on the meter are very cheap). The staff member on site had little English, but was extremely helpful and changed the towels everyday. This is a 10 out of 10 apartment !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Trigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We arrived late one evening at the Istanbul airport and were greeted by the shuttle service the hotel had arranged We would definitely recommend the Masal Apart for its central location.Will definitely come back to this Apart it's in an ideal location, the blue mosque is about 5 minutes walk, lots of restaurants and bars in the area and about 10 minutes to the nearest tram stop. Definetly recomend it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samueldavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,050 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#676 of 1,159 in Istanbul
618 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#84 of 1,159 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#147 of 1,159 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#60 of 1,159 in Istanbul
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masal Apart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masal Apart

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Su Terazisi Sok. No: 27 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #496 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £33 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Masal Apart 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Masal Apart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing