We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central location”
Review of Ares Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ares Hotel
Ranked #196 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I would highly recommend the Ares Hotel in central Istanbul! Ahmet and the rest of the staff are very friendly and helped me get settled quickly. Great service and free wifi. Within 1 minute walking distance to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sopia. The terrace has fantastic views of the Hagia Sopia, topkapi palace, and basilica sistern.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smith2kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stay my family also very nice location and l m stay comffort room my room lcan see view see and very nice terrace resturant he have a good information mr ahmet nice staff breakfast very freass in istanbul very old city. In sultanahmet deffuculta around musem very close hagia sopia topkapi palace basilica sistern kariyem musel also nice location

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Ares hotel is located in the heart of historic places and I would highly recommend to stay at this place. Very friendly staff and you can book full day tours or even half day tours through this hotel. A merely 2min walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Basicila Cistern, Grand Bazaar and Otto Park. Ahmet is very friendly and helpful in advising places to see and overall he makes sure you are accommodated without any troubles. The terrace view is spectacular, you can see the marmara sea, Bosphorous bay Galata bridge and the Asian side of Istanbul. Hotel rooms are in excellent condition, comfortable beds and pretty decent restaurant to have dinner at.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sultan1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We just came from Istanbul, is the second time we go, and for my preview experience, I can say that this is clean but very very small hotel, the breakfast the same every day, No Buffet. Our room was for 3 people but we had to walk over our suitcases because it didn't have enough space. the only highlight is the location, is very close to the main Historic Places in The Old City, but in the night is difficult to sleep because you can listen all the noises of the street. Also we had a problem with the air conditioner, was working but in the middle of the night started to drop water so we almost got shower, and the floor was full of water, we had to wait one more night so they can change us to another room because the hotel was full. So I can't give 4 stars or give so amazing reviews like must of the people are doing, Is just an almost 3 star hotel, good for a small budget, not for family trip, the service was normal, I will not say friendly, the location is great but you can find a lot of hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Located in the lively area of Sultanahmet Ares hotel is in a walking distance to the main touristic points of interest. Little cosy rooms, delicate interior, charming atmosphere, yummy breakfast, always friendly and helpful staff.. we liked everything there during all our stays here. We tried to stay in other hotels during our numerous trips to Istanbul, but I can say that Ares is definitely the best in Sultanahmet!
Tip: Don't miss the chance to enjoy scenic views from the roof terrace ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stay with family breakfast of the hotel is very good in it include everything. It have a nice room and comfort bed and from ares hotel is any where blue mosque,hagia sophia,topkapi palace and basilica sisterna also grand bazaar all of to shopin carpet with leather jacket. It have shuttle service airport hotel very good staff mr. Ahmet reception

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luhset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We are very happy that we stayed in Ares hotel. First of all I want to say that location of this hotel is just perfect. All objects of tourist interest can be reached on foot: Sophia Hagia, Blue Mosque, Cistern, Topkapi palace, hippodrome and etc. Hotel is in the very heart of Istanbul Old city. There are a lot of small shops and places to eat all around but Palmiye restrong is the best. And one more thing if you stay in Ares you get discount in Palmiye!!! Hotel rooms are not very spacious but cozy and clean. The view from the hotel terrace to the city is just amazing. Talking about hotel staff all of them are very kind and helpful. But I and my friend are especially thankful to Mr. Ayhan Salur. He helped us a lot: explained how to get to all places we wanted, gave advices which dishes of Turkish cuisine are worth to try, bought tickets for us to wonderful show of dervishes, helped with our luggage and etc. Because of his care our vacation in Istanbul was just superb!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ayda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#222 of 1,159 in Istanbul
193 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#412 of 1,159 in Istanbul
259 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Million Stone Hotel
The Million Stone Hotel
#334 of 1,159 in Istanbul
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#79 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,049 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#271 of 1,159 in Istanbul
719 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#29 of 1,159 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ares Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ares Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Incili Cavus Sok. No: 35 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £23 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ares Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ares Hotel Istanbul is a 3 star hotel offering classically decorated, luxurious rooms right in the centre of Istanbul's old city. Staying here, you've got it all at your fingertips, since the main historical and cultural attractions are within short walking distance of the hotel, such as the Bosphorus, Topkapi Palace, Haghia Sophia, and the Blue Mosque. In fact, from the terrace of the Ares Hotel, you can enjoy panoramic views of all of the above, and more sights of Istanbul. Taking a walk around this area, you'll also find plenty of restaurants, shops, and other things to do and see. There are 21 spacious and comfortable rooms in total in this elegant hotel, with the choice between staying in a single, twin, double, or triple room. All of the rooms have private bathrooms, and you'll also find all the amenities you'll need, such as hair-dryer, safety deposit box, heating, air-conditioning, telephone, TV, and Wi-Fi Internet. Also, the list of the hotel's services include a left-luggage office, 24 hour reception, restaurant, bar/café, and a TV lounge. Finally, the icing on the cake is that your breakfast is included in the price of your stay. A private car park is also available (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ares Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing