We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, OK Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lausos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lausos Hotel
Ranked #366 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Zurich
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Location, OK Hotel”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Pros:
- great location very close to the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome and the main street
- staff were nice and helpful (pretty funny too)
- we got upgraded to the top floor room with floor to ceiling windows and a great view to the south west (Marmara Sea)
- room was big and nicely decorated
- airport transfer well organised, private and very convenient (25 EUR each way)

Cons:
- our room was above the street and facing a minaret, the windows were quite thin so we could hear all the traffic and the minaret in the morning, ear plugs helped a lot
- we had a bathtub with only a hand held shower, was a little inconvenient
- my husband tried to take a bath, and the water was a bit yellowish/brownish
- lift only holds 4 ppl and broke down during our stay, the 5th floor can only be reached via stairs from the 4th floor anyway (we like to take the stairs so it wasn't such a hassle for us)
- we were recommended a tour when we checked in, it was from Grayline I believe... it was really bad and definitely not worth the price considering it was low season. All the main attractions in Sultanahmet can be done without a tour, all the sights are walking distance and close to eachother

Other comments:
- breakfast was ok, nothing fancy, mostly continental and not much hot food

Overall:
- price was ok if you don't care about the noise
- I would not stay again because of the noise

Room Tip: ask for top floor facing the east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fried_burger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panoramic360, Guest Relations Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback,
According to the occupancies we are upgrading the rooms because of the Lausos hotel great views. I certainly do not recommend old city location if the guest not want to hear the pray call. The mosques are everywhere in Sultanahmet. Hotel Lausos is located in the heart of the old city center and there is a small Street that our guests are able to arrive to the front of the hotel by car. That Street it can be noisy during day time but after 10 pm to 8 am is became a quite street . We do not have offen noise complain but if you decide to comeback we can arrange your room on the other side of the Street.

According to your water complain we can’t tell you much thing because this is the first complain. Actualy we have changed all the water system and the water tank some months ago. The municipality guarantee us that the tap water is drinkible but we do not recommend to our guest to drink the tap water because of the chlorine make untasty.

Thank you for telling that you didn’t enjoye the grayline (Plan tour) The old city tour. You are definetly correct that people can walk to the Blue mosque, Hagia sophia, Grand bazaar, hippodromme , Obelisk and German Fountain from our hotel because Lausos hotel is located in between all fo them. You have done all that visits in 3 hours 15 minutes time with 35Euro p.p fee
Our reception may recommend you the tour because you have stayed 2 days. Some times our guest have limited time and they don’t want to ways time searching the museums and they prefer to be with professionel guide to ask the details of the tours.
Anyway we have reported this to Plan tour wich is one of the biggest tour Company in Istanbul. After my contact they are agree to refund the full amount of your Money if you can report them your right reasons.
With my best regards,
Sales and Guest relations Manager
Mustafa Özduman
Phone: +902126380707
Email: reservation@hotellausos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    109
    35
    6
    5
See reviews for
110
201
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed at Hotel Lausos in Istanbul for 6 nights. The location is unbeatable! just steps from the Blue Mosque and all the other historic sites, and if you want explore the rest of the city the tram is just half a block away. Still the area is pretty quite and sleeping is not a problem. In spite of been next to a small mosque, the muezzin chant really didn't bother us and we heard him calling people to prayers only a coule of times a day and at very reasonable times. The rooms are small but in the norm for Europe. Our room had a nice view of the sea and Bosporus and on the last night they upgraded us to the Honeymoon suite which had an amazing view. The rooms are clean and the beds are really confortable. The only thing missing are drawers to store clothes. The bathroom are nice and clean. The concierge was extremely helpful whenever we needed information. The staff was always very nice and courteous. Breakfast was good...nothing fancy but the buffet has a good selection that can satisfy all different tastes or diet requirements. Overall a very nice hotel that allowed us to enjoy this beautiful city to the fullest.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panoramic360, Guest Relations Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your very kind observations and comments following your stay with us at the Lausos Hotel. We genuinely do work hard at creating a "home away from home" feel and making our guests' stay with us as personal and memorable as possible.
We understand the added pressures of travel these days and anything we can do to help alleviate stress such as extended departure times, subject to availability, we will always do our very best to provide.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Lausos hotel on your next visit to Istanbul!
Sales and Guest relations Manager
Mustafa Özduman
Phone: +902126380707
Email: reservation@hotellausos.com
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located in 5 min walk from Blue Mosque and other attractions. By arriving to the hotel i was surprised we have to pay for all our stay upfront. They allowed us to see the room first after asking. We had Honeymoon suite in the corner with panoramic windows from bottom to top, with a see view. It looked great, even the room was very small. But it was not a big deal since we stayed only 4 nights and did not stay in the room much. The hotel and furniture is a little worn out, but at least the bathroom was new. I've seen other rooms on the top floor and they had very nice view as well. Not sure about lower floors. The breakfast was ok, mind the salty joghurt though. After all, if you are fine with the price, the hotel is ok. Obviously there are meluzins singing before the dawn waking you up ( even though the bellboy said they won't), but this probably caannot be avoided in the center.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panoramic360, Guest Relations Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay with us. Our aim at The Lausos Hotel is to ensure that all of our guest’s, young and old, are made welcome to the hotel and feel at home during their stay with us.

Hotel Lausos request the payment in check-in time because of the following advantages;
Our account will be able to make the quick correction at the next days if any mistake happen (overcharge or missing charge)
On the internet the guest will be able to check the bank account at the future days, and will be able to have direct contact with us for any questions.
Before taking the flight at the check-out time the connection of the post machine it may be on unavailable situation and this may cause unexpected stressfull atmosphere. Guest paying at check-in will just take the luggage and leave the hotel with their nice experience.
Our guest are able to see the room before the payment and they are able to cancel the full reservation for free of charge if they prefer to change the hotel.

Sales and Guest relations Manager
Mustafa Özduman
Phone: +902126380707
Email: reservation@hotellausos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Lausos Hotel is located in the Sultanahmet area, hotel is within walking distance of all the historical attractions and just 5 minutes from the Grand Bazaar. The room are compact but well- designed and very, very clean. There is free Wi-Fi. The staff is very polite, helpfull and professional. I stayed there with my husband and three children from 06-09-11 to 11-11-11. Every morning Yasemin offered something special to our children but there wasn't any need, because they surve very rich and delicious breakfast. Yasemin, Mustafa, Servet, Jengiz, other Mustafa, Erol are very friendly and hospitable. My family misses them, my daughter Ayan(3 years old) asks me to return to the hotel. Definitely recommended. Samaaliyeva@ yahoo.com

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamiraEmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panoramic360, Guest Relations Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
I want to thank you for that. I really can't say anything more. I do appreciate your taking the time to let us know how you feel and we are truly happy you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our team and like to hear that they have made a difference. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and do let us know when you are traveling back as we would love to welcome you back.

Sales and Guest relations Manager
Mustafa Özduman
Phone: +902126380707
Email: reservation@hotellausos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Syria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Location of the hotel is super! There was no need to spend time on getting to main attractions of the city.Breakfast is very nice, clean room and friendly staffs. We were very satisfied and would highly recommend the Neorion.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joussi j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panoramic360, Guest Relations Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review we greatly appreciate your comments.

It was our pleasure to take care of you and I am delighted that you were well looked after.

We do really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future,

Very best regards,

Mustafa Ozduman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baghdad, Iraq
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Hotel staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. I reccomend this hotel for all travellers. Its a very comfortable and nice hotel with a friendly atmosphere, good breakfast, nice rooms. Not far from Blue mosque, Haghia Sophia and Great Bazaar.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahmed y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panoramic360, Guest Relations Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are especially pleased to have impressed you on your first stay with us and very much hope that you feel assured to make us your preferred Istanbul Hotel for future stays.
Warm regards

Mustafa Özduman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on it on tripadvisor.We stayed at Lausos for six nights from 18th-24sept.Our six day package was booked through American express and included room,bfast,half day sight seeing tour,transfer to and from airport and of course the welcome drinks on arrival.

The hotel as expected was small,as most hotels are in Sultanahmet area.
We stayed in corner room 303 which had a partial view of the sea and the street below.The room was small and included all basic amenities such as minibar,that was reasonably priced,flat TV and telephone etc.The double bed was comfortable and we slept well.The bathroom again was very small indeed but very clean and included a shower cubicle with rain shower,hand shower etc.The room was cleaned and towels changed daily.The cleaning lady was a nice woman who cleaned whenever we asked her in the day.The wi-fi worked efficiently in the room and common areas and we didnt have any signal issue at all.

The front desk staff was helpful and well informed about restaurants and tourist sites in the Sultanahmet area.All major historical sites such as Blue mosque,Basilica Cistern,Topkapi, Hagia Sophia and the grand Bazar are all within walking distance of the hotel.The breakfast was more than adequate with cereals,fresh fruit,eggs,both boiled as well as scrambled,cakes,bread and tea/coffee. Mustafa the gentleman who attended to the guest at breakfast was always obliging.One day i had my eggs changed three times as i was not happy with the way they were cooked,and Mustafa had no problem in getting the kitchen to change them.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Sultanahmet tram station and we used the tram regularly to go to Taksim sq and Istiklal st.

We highly recommend lausos hotel to those visitors who want to stay in Sultanahmet area.

Room Tip: we stayed in a corner room with a partial view of the sea and the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saeed_llr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panoramic360, Director of Sales at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your opinion about Hotel Lausos. It was a big pleasure for us to accommodate you and we wish to serve you again at your future trip in Istanbul.

All related department will be shared with your mentioned comments.

Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservation or other assistance

With Kind Regards,

Sales and Guest relations Manager
Mustafa Özduman
Phone: +902126380707
Email: reservation@hotellausos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
ARN Aruna Hotel
ARN Aruna Hotel
#452 of 1,129 in Istanbul
37 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#112 of 1,129 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celine Hotel
Celine Hotel
#305 of 1,129 in Istanbul
155 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausos Hotel

Property: Lausos Hotel
Address: Binbirbirek mah. Klodfarer caddesi, 33 | Sultanhmet (old city), Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lausos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lausos Hotel Istanbul is a new boutique hotel located in the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Neighbors of the Lausos Hotel Istanbul are the great St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, the Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, Islamic Arts Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lausos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing