We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel with the very positive staff”
Review of Lausos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lausos Hotel
Ranked #452 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The staff is very friendly and really supportive, very nice atmosphere. The rooms are clean, a bit small, but it's natural for the Old City center. The location is fine - 2 min to the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 388Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

It was a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our staff. Your comments are truly appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the team.

İndeed, due to the historical area, the majority of the hotels in Sultanahmet have small rooms.

But we have Junior suite, which is bigger than the standard rooms.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next stya with us.

Kind regards,

Kamil Karakus
Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

Location, the bçue mosque is just down the street, and one of the main streets that leads to Aya Sofia is just next to it either. Breakfast is very good also! Decoration was nice!
When we arrived we were told that it would take a while for us to get out room cuz it was still being cleaned...after 20 minutes I noticed a group was coming out of it, and its was clean very fast, the result, it was quite dirty! The drawer was full of left overs, there was even some burger king sauce! The next day they didnt shoe up to clean the room either, and only showed up when I asked! The family room was also one the 1st floor, I loved the fact that it faced a mosque, which was very different, however the noise from the street was too loud sometimes! All and all, I would stay again, the location was perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkarakus, Manager at Lausos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Valuable guest,

Many thanks for your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write a constructive review of Hotel Lausos Istanbul,

The check-out time of the hotel it is 12:00 (noon) and check-in time is 2 pm. Our guest never waits 2 pm for the check-in if the room is ready
The room you have booked was the connected family room and the previous guest did not left the room in earlier time. We have realized the check-in of the group because they booked different room type (not connected family).

At our website we have specified that the junior suite have the great view of the blue mosque, Hagia sofia and Bosphorus.

Our hotel it is not located in noisy location and the family room you have stayed at the first floor made with triple glazed Windows.

We apologize you about the burger king sauce which was forgotten in the drawer. The cleanliness is one of the most important subjects at Lausos hotel

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.


Mustafa Özduman,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I visited Istanbul 2 weeks ago. It was a perfect experience and i recommend it to everyone! I was very satisfied from the Hotel accomodation and also from the staff. Especially from Jasemin who was very kind, convenient and pleasant. Keep having such staff like Jasmine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KostidouMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words following your recent stay. I was very pleased that you enjoyed the hospitality given to you by Yasemin.
I have passed on your thanks to her personally and also to the rest of the team. I do hope that you will join us again soon at The Lausos Hotel.

Kind regards,

Kamil Karakus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of our trip to Turkey for a total of 5 nights. This hotel is in an excellent location. It's in the Old Town area, walking distance to all of the great sites. It's also very close to the Grand Bazzar, close enough that after buying three carpets, I could carry them back myself alright. It is also VERY CLOSE to the tram station, which was great since we went back and forth to the airport by the tram so it was easy to carry our things. There are many hotels in the Old Town area that look close to the tram (and are easily walking distance) but feel far if you're carrying a heavy load. The Old Town area is surprisingly hilly so it's something to keep in mind. It also made it easy to take the tram back and forth from the New District, great when we were tired after a long day.

The staff is very friendly. The place is well kept and very clean and well as lovely. There are crystals from the light fixtures, beautiful curtains and bedspreads, and the woodwork on the doors, door frames, etc are all just beautiful. The breakfast is great!

The only thing that would made our stay there a little better is if the room was a little bigger. I've traveled all over the world so I'm use to the smaller hotels in Europe. Our first room was a bit smaller than I imagined looking at the pictures posted online but still good. The second room was tiny (they said it was their smallest double and apologized). So just beware, especially if coming from the United States where rooms are a lot bigger, than the standard rooms are small. We didn't see any of the suites or specialty rooms which look a lot more spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polarislovestotavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We pride ourselves on the attention we pay to even the most minute detail so we can enhance our guests stay. This is all made possible by the brilliant team I have here at the hotel who I have passed your kind words on to.

I was so pleased you enjoyed our facilities and you found your "home from home" in Istanbul.

İndeed, due to the historical area, the majority of the hotels in Sultanahmet have small rooms. But we have Junior suite, which is bigger than the standard rooms.

I look forward to personally welcoming you on your next visit to us.

Kind regards,

Kamil Karakus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed for 2 weeks in Istanbul and found this hotel to be ideal. The location is central, close to the mosques and Topkapi and the tram stop. My room had glass on 2 sides with sweeping views of the Sea of Marmara. The staff couldn't be better--smart, attentive, insightful with recommendations and most friendly. Breakfast was a treat. I loved this city and did lots of exploring of all the neighborhood and Hotel Lausos helped to make it even better.

Room Tip: If you book a double, spend the extra and request a sea view or city view (overlooking the large mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your review.

Our team were very happy to read you comments about their excellent service; they do constantly strive to exceed our guests’ expectations at every opportunity. We were very happy to read about your breakfast experience.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next stya with us.

Kind regards,

Kamil Karakus
Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Friendly staff, clean property in a great location ...Walking distance to all the major attractions and in the safe Sultanahmet district . Room small but neat and tidy, fridge , A/C that worked and after a day of walking thats important. Best breakfast buffet in town, hot eggs , lots of variety, it really makes helps start your day being ready to hit the road...Room service for ice and other services is very friendly and efficient. Desk staff always willing to go the extra mile, that said , all in all a great place to spend a few days in one of the greatest cities in the World, have fun..

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Blue Mosque or spend more money and go for a suite on the top floor. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerenityKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your very kind words.
Our team were very happy to read you comments about their excellent service; they do constantly strive to exceed our guests’ expectations at every opportunity. We were very happy to read about your breakfast experience.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back on your next stya with us.

Kind regards,

Kamil Karakus
Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We chose to stay at this hotel having read many of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We were travelling for the first time with our 2 year old daughter so we wanted our holiday to be as hassle free as possible and we realised we had made the best decision as soon as we walked through arrivals. My husband booked airport transfers with the hotel and the company they arranged were very efficient even though it took us ~1.5 hours to get to arrivals having landed on time. In addition to this on arrival at the hotel our check-in was completely hassle-free.

Admittedly, the hotel room was a little small (our holiday package meant we were booked in to a standard room) but given the hotel were kind enough to provide a cot for our daughter and the fact that we were there to explore Istanbul and not spend our days in the hotel, we were fine about it. The standards of cleanliness in the room and ensuite were excellent which was more important for us then anything else. However, one thing that the room did lack were hooks for clothes, towels, etc. but again this was minor.

The hotel is situated in a prime location, literally a very short walk from Hippodrome Square which also leads to the magnificent Blue Mosque. In addition to this, it is relatively close to a number of other attractions e.g Topkapi Palace and The Grand Bazaar.

The breakfast is pretty much a continental one but good as there is plenty to choose from including a number of sweet and savoury Turkish options. In addition to this, the hotel offers an unlimited complimentary drinks service (hot drinks and juice) which we greatly appreciated after a long day of site-seeing.

Now the main plus point of this hotel without doubt, is its staff! They were all very friendly and incredibly helpful! We always received the best service, with staff members often going out of their way to help. A special thank you to brother Chengiz, Sister Yasimi and all the brother Mustafas’; you all made our trip wonderful! Our 2-year old still remembers her ‘Aunty Yasimi’ and that says it all!

Overall, this is the best hotel experience we’ve had by miles (and we have been to hotels with a higher star rating). We would love to visit Istanbul again and when we do, our hotel stay is one less thing to worry about!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsAkhtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#130 of 1,181 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#293 of 1,181 in Istanbul
356 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,181 in Istanbul
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#44 of 1,181 in Istanbul
859 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Aren Suites
Aren Suites
#42 of 1,181 in Istanbul
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausos Hotel

Address: Binbirbirek Mah. Klodfarer Caddesi, 33 | Sultanhmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #452 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £36 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lausos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lausos Hotel Istanbul is a new boutique hotel located in the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Neighbors of the Lausos Hotel Istanbul are the great St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, the Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, Islamic Arts Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lausos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing