We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”
Review of Lausos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lausos Hotel
Ranked #393 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and service”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We just spent a week at the Lausos Hotel in Istanbul. The location is perfect, right in the old city and a couple blocks from the tram. The view to the West is toward the Blue Mosque. The rooms aren't large but they are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is over the top with selections. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a great convenience store around the corner that stocks a decent selection of Turkish wines at reasonable prices. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side look right at the Blue Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    109
    35
    6
    5
See reviews for
110
201
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent 3 nights here at the end of September - the room was small, but very clean and comfortable, great views and a very hi-tech shower! Breakfast was good, and being able to sit outside on the terrace to eat was lovely. Great location, near loads of restaurants and the Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque etc... Very friendly and helpful staff.

The only thing missing was wi-fi!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We booked the hotel as many others taking a cruise on Celebrity Constellation. The Hotel staff was very accommodating. Since so many taking the cruise were staying at the hotel, they arranged a 5pm tea for us so we could meet and get to know each other better before the cruise. The free breakfast was good, with Turkish and American food. The hotel is located only a short walk from the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque. There are several good restaurants very close by.
The room was very small, which we knew already, since I had read previous reviews on TripAdvisor. However, we would stay there again if we came to Istanbul again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GADawgGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for a few days before a cruise and were extremely pleased with our choice. Staff are very knowledgeable and go out of their way to be helpful. View of the Blue Mosque from our room was an unexpected surprise and the location was convenient to all the attractions we wanted to visit. Breakfast can be enjoyed on a lovely terrace and wi-fi is free. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank somuchworld_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The location was perfect- about a 3 minute walk to the Blue Mosque. The view was spectacular from our room, but it probably differs for other rooms. It was a view of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia from about 400 yards away- Wow!
The service from Rashad and the rest of his staff was very good, and they helped us with tours, places to eat, and gave the small hotel a front desk with enough effort and know-how to rival the best concierge.
Breakfast was included, but was not spectacular. It was good enough, though, for us to eat there 3 days in a row. On one day we came downstairs 20 minutes after they stopped serving it, and the staff very kindly offered to bring us what we wanted.
The service is very good, the view is amazing (from some rooms) and the location is hard to beat. I would say, though, that the hotel lobby is small and, in general, it is old and could use a renovation. I would rate this hotel a very solid 4 stars, and a good overall value. I don't think I would visit it again, but that's more of my personal taste in hotels. I like large lobbies with high ceilings, and this felt more like a small cluttered space. It left a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Stay in the Dream Suite, it has an absolutely amazing view. It is a little more expensive but it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and when checking in, we were greeted with a welcoming drink and friendly staff. Please don't be misled by the pictures on the website because if you booked a basic room, the room will be very small and no panoramic view of the Blue Mosque etc, our view was of the streets below.
All that aside, the hotel was very clean, friendly staff, great breakfast and incredible location. Unfortunately, there is no coffee/tea making facility in the room but free afternoon tea/coffee with cakes served between 3pm - 6pm at the reception.
Will definitely recommend anybody visiting Istanbul to stay there.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel room window opened up to a magical view of the blue mosque and surroundings. The room was spotless. The staff went above and beyond duties to help where possible. Great location. The hospitality and staff made my stay in Istanbul a memorable one. were greeted upon entry and felt welcomed throughout our 5 day stay. Breakfast menu had a good variety.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Best Western Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#25 of 1,141 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#29 of 1,141 in Istanbul
292 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celine Hotel
Celine Hotel
#310 of 1,141 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#58 of 1,141 in Istanbul
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausos Hotel

Property: Lausos Hotel
Address: Binbirbirek mah. Klodfarer caddesi, 33 | Sultanhmet (old city), Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lausos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lausos Hotel Istanbul is a new boutique hotel located in the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Neighbors of the Lausos Hotel Istanbul are the great St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, the Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, Islamic Arts Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lausos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing