We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“110% perfect”
Review of Lausos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lausos Hotel
Ranked #402 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 25 November 2013

All the famous sights at the front door! Blue Mosque less than a minutes walk. Extremely helpful staff, explained everything and gave us a map and suggestions what to do when we arrived. Fantastic breakfast included AND afternoon tea. Pastries, small samdwiches, yummy orange juice. Book this hotel and enjoy Istanbul!

Room Tip: The room on the 1st floor was small but efficient layout! Opt for higher up up if you want to study...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67ctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Wonderful location, amazing room and beautiful people. I stayed 4 nights at Lausos Hotel. Housekeeping cleaned my room everyday. The front desk was so helpful to me. They explained to city very well. There was traditional bakery and open buffet at breakfast. Everything just perfect. Speciallly i want to thank you to jasmine. She was the best waiters and cooker in the world who i see before. And she has surprise birthday party for me. I never seen before anywhere. I was feeling a turkish women myself. Thank you jasmine. I will miss your beautiful face. I am so glad to meet you. I will come again to turkey and i will stay at Lausos Hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just had weekend with other half here. This hotel is just lovely. Set close to the Blue Mosque it is ideally situated to explore the best bits of Istanbul. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, both front of house and restaurant. And the breakfasts were superb.
The only poor point is we were on the first floor and the road was quite noisy. When we come back - and really hope we do - I would pay the extra to be higher up.

Room Tip: Either be at the back or higher than 1st floor. We were first floor front and too close to the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJMOatway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the Honeymoon suite in March 2012 and the experience was just awesome.
The hotel has a great location and our suite offered a beautiful view of the Marmara sea from the bed. The staff at the hotel is friendly and had no problems during our six nights stay.
The breakfast is delicious although choices are limited. The staff helped us with things to do in Istanbul and also arranged for a dinner at nice seafood restuarant in Kumkapi area.

Don't forget to take the tram and explore different areas of the town. Hop on and Hop off bus service from Sultanahmet square was also money well spent.

The hotel is highly recommended and we wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our group of three couples stayed at the Lausos Hotel in October 2013, for three days and then for one day two weeks later. It was very pleasant to be greeted as old friends on our return. The hotel's location is excellent for the main ancient sights of the city, in the Sultanahmet district, just two blocks from the Hippodrome and the Blue Mosque, as well as for the Grand Bazaar, a few blocks (easy walk) in the opposite direction. We liked the staff, we liked the small lobby and roomy dining area, and we loved the breakfast buffet. The rooms are small but well arranged, most with nice modern bathrooms and fancy corner showers with different shower options. Our rooms were on the middle and lower floors and had nice neighborhood views; the ones on the top floors have really excellent views of the main sights and the harbor. The hotel did a good job of arranging vans to take us to the port to board our ship and to pick us up on our return, as well as to and from the airport (even at 4:00 AM) which made those trips easy and cost-effective. All of our group wold recommend the Lausos and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnholderness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Can't add to other comments on location (great!) and the views, or the staff - they were so helpful, and treated us like old friends each time we returned (we had three separate stays). Where we can be helpful is on the rooms - three stays, and three different rooms to experience! Our first two stays were at the start and end of a tour we'd arranged, and were included in that booking. First room was a "standard" - Room 303 (I think!). It was a corner room and VERY small - so small in fact that it was almost impossible for two people to be in it at the same time! The bathroom was tiny, with the toilet situated so close to the wash basin that you almost had to sit sideways! But you do get a glimpse of the Marmara through the buildings, which was nice. Another downside was the strong sewerage smell that did not go away during our two nights in the room (this was noticeable periodically in other areas of the hotel at times, so assuming it might be an issue in the area). Stay two was in Room 401, we think a "superior room". It was a floor higher, and a bigger room, certainly still small, but much better for two people (and a roomier bathroom). But the highlight was the room we got on our own booking for the end of our trip - the Bosphorous Suite Room 504. You look straight out at the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia and, obviously, the Bosphorous. We highly recommend sitting in the chairs and watching the light change as the sun sets - breathtakingly beautiful. Bathroom in this room was a bit quirky -nice and large, with a bath, but although the bath had a retractable shower head, there was no wall attachment or curtain, so you have to hold the shower head yourself, and try not to splash too much! Also, do be aware that the top floor seems to be a bit of an add-on, so the walls are very thin. Try not to have too personal a conversation, as your neighbours will likely hear most of it (and be conscious of your neighbours when coming back late)! A great little hotel, with the highlight being the exceptional staff.

Room Tip: Room 301 - avoid if two people, VERY small. Room 401, very good, fine for two. Room 504 (Bosphorou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SissaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a great stay in Hotel Lausos. We stayed in one of the top floor suites with amazing view of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and the Marmara Sea. Charming room with lovely antique furniture and nice decorations. Bathtub had view of the Blue Mosque :) Hotel is quite small and you do have to hike up a steep flight of attic type stairs up to the last floor from the elevator. But that just adds to the charming quirkiness of the hotel. Service at the hotel was one of the best aspects of our stay....All staff were great but in particular, .Mohammed was amazingly involved in meeting/greeting guests and super-helpful in facilitating arrangements for tours, etc. and Jasemine was so friendly and accomodating (and her cakes and treats were tasty and much appreciated). Breakfast was great (including Jasemine's cakes :)) and extensive. As evidenced by the views, hotel was right in the middle of the Sultanemate district so convenient to sites and entertainment options. But since the hotel is located on a quiet sidestreet it's a nice calm spot to come back to after a long day out. The suite rooms are more expensive than the 'regular' rooms but in comparison to other options in the area, quite reasonable....and the views are worth the slight splurge if you can. Two thumbs up for Hotel Lausos.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazydane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Lady Diana Hotel
Lady Diana Hotel
#443 of 1,159 in Istanbul
484 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#323 of 1,159 in Istanbul
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#341 of 1,159 in Istanbul
183 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#518 of 1,159 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#264 of 1,159 in Istanbul
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lausos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausos Hotel

Address: Binbirbirek mah. Klodfarer caddesi, 33 | Sultanhmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £32 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lausos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lausos Hotel Istanbul is a new boutique hotel located in the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Neighbors of the Lausos Hotel Istanbul are the great St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, the Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, Islamic Arts Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lausos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing