We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel, great location, small & dark rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City By Molton Hotels
Ranked #995 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I have stayed only one night in Tulip City Hotel during my trip to Turkey. I have selected this hotel because of the perfect location, minutes away from shopping street Istiklal Caddesi, 15 min from Taksim Square and within walking distance to all gay party places in this area.

Hotel provides valet car parking free of charge. When I arrived my car was taken and parked by hotel staff. When you enter hotel's lobby you can see that this is something special, unusual and unique, but in a very nice way. Mix of weird lamps, mirrors, metal elements, glass and furniture. Really great design. Check-in was quick, professional and efficient.

My room was a little bit too small and with two beds (I've booked double) and quite dark. Again nicely designed, fancy and chique, but you cannot see that properly - lightning is absolutely terrible and room is far too dark. The same with bathroom. That would be so much nicer experience if you could see all these pieces properly.
Room was equipped with easy and quiet air condition, flat-screen TV, safety deposit box, kettle & selection of tees/coffees and mini-bar (acceptable prices).
Free Wi-Fi Internet access is provided, password given at the time of checking-in. Good, constant connection.
Bathroom was too dark, but spotless clean. Good quality toiletries and fresh towels provided.

In the morning buffet breakfast was served downstairs. Great selection of local cheeses, fruits, snacks, bread and other meals. I just hated artificial squash drink instead of juice.

I have to admit, that staff in the hotel was always very helpful and was dealing with me with natural smile and professional way. Even after check-in, when I was waiting for my car... It took a little bit longer, because hotel's driver crashed my car... I know that accidents happen, but they should be more careful. They sort it out with my car rental company, but it cost me additional 2-3 hours together, which was a little bit inconvenient. But as I said - they did their best and I appreciate that. Hopefully that will not happen again.

Even with that not pleasant last experience, I would come back to this hotel as it was really great and comfortable place to stay. Fantastic location, trendy design, helpful staff and good price - that's why my rating score is 4+. I didn't use additional facilities like hammed (I had some other accident earlier), but I've heard it's worth to visit as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeraTulipHotel, General Manager at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for your recent comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Tulip City Hotel and had a fabulous time at Istanbul.

I am glad to hear your comments and compliments about our employees as well.
We will take care of lighteing in the room.

We are trying our best to make your stay remarkable.

Thank you very much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming back you soon.

Sincerely,

Abdullah MUTLU
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

My best friend & I stayed here for 2 nights in October- what a fabulous place! We were both a bit suspicious as we'd just booked off the internet and the photos of the naked statues made me unsure..I was completely wrong! It is a fun, funky place to stay in a central location. Just two mins walk to Galatasary shopping streets- has lovely traditional breakfast with a cute sauna and hammam downstairs. For the price, I'd definitely recommend if you want to be close to all the main bars and restaurants. Rooms were clean and I was highly amused to find a condom in the fridge mini bar ! The staff are helpful and the lobby has free internet available at all times which is useful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeraTulipHotel, General Manager at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Sir /Madam,

Thank you very much for your recent comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a nice and remarkable experience in our hotel.
We as a team try to do our best to make your stay enjoyable.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Abdullah MUTLU
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

the hotel has excellent location, and great service,
but watch out for the traffic during the week end!
the rooms are bit small, with bad lightning, and a lot of colors,
but very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COOKS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuliphotels, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel.We appreciate for taking time to share your feedback. Your opinion is important for us. Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

TULİP CİTY HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Positives: At arriving to our hotel the overall view of the hotel was great, the hotel looked beyond our expectations, the check in was quickly and everything was ready for early check in. The room was in a perfect shape, tidy, clean and looked new. the toilet was very clean and toilet amenities were great. The breakfast was okay and the location was perfect, I guess the area is called Pera, its 3minutes walking to Istiklal street/parallel to it, and also the area is filled with restaurants,pub, and clubs.
Negatives: The AC was facing my bed which caused me the flu; They never changed our toilet amenities;Breakfast was okay, same everyday and very limited variety; Something at the hotel was being fixed our something so we had terrible noise all day. Not to forget, you need to remind the reception with your request several times before they get it done.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabih193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeraTulipHotel, General Manager at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you had a voice problem from surrounding restaurants during your stay.

Our hotel is at the city center and most of the guests like the area near to lively Taksim.

Can you please send us e-mail and we will be glad to give you a room from quiet part of the hotel.

Sincerely,

Abdullah MUTLU
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I went to Inkatha from 2 years first of all I was not happy of the hotel it looks not so good but actually I was wrong the location is very good ,the price was okey according to taksim hotels prices, the room was litlle bit poor do not like the room , the breakfast was not bad they were trying to do all their efforts to make guests happy . The reception men were so nice and helpful really I remembered that they get us a taxi very quickly as we had been so late to the airport all in all I enjoyed

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nadine25112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

my boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in February. It was excellent value for money and the staff were helpful. Good location with the tram station nearby, so it is perfect for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sophie_hc_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeraTulipHotel, General Manager at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I was delighted to see that your stay was generally positive. I was disappointed to hear that lighning was not enough. We had meeting and took care of this issue.

We continuously strive to get better and it is through.
Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon


Sincerely,

Abdullah MUTLU
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Tulip City Taksim two nights from 6-8 Sept 2011. The decor in the lobby includes two bright pink male mannequins with lampshades on their heads. The "spa" consists of a tiny tepid, not hot, jacuzzi, which when I saw it, was entirely taken up by a large hairy fat middle-aged white european man. Our bed did not smell fresh. The location in Taksim is near what looks to be the 5th Avenue of Turkey, which is not as close to the main antiquity attractions as it claims (it is a few kilometers away, across the bridge). The safe in our room iwas not attached to any fixture and could have been easily carried away in a medium suitcase.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bbestTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeraTulipHotel, General Manager at City By Molton Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I was delighted to see that your stay was generally positive. I was disappointed to hear that you did not the room and cleaning. We take seriously all mentioned things. It will be better for your next visit.

We continuously strive to get better and it is through.
Once again thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Abdullah MUTLU
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Rose by Molton Hotels
Rose by Molton Hotels
#903 of 1,163 in Istanbul
351 reviews
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#526 of 1,163 in Istanbul
643 reviews
Beyoglu
The Purl Hotel
The Purl Hotel
#629 of 1,163 in Istanbul
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#173 of 1,163 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Beyoglu
The Peak Hotel
The Peak Hotel
#379 of 1,163 in Istanbul
447 reviews
Beyoglu
Gumusyan Hotel
Gumusyan Hotel
#642 of 1,163 in Istanbul
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City By Molton Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City By Molton Hotels

Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. No: 95 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey (Formerly Pera Tulip City Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#259 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#485 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £32 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City By Molton Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 5-minute walk from Istiklal Street, this designer hotel in central Beyoglu is a 3-minute walk from the Galatasaray tram stop. It features spa facilities and has rooms with colorful lighting and modern Baroque furnishings. Rooms have air conditioning and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. They come equipped with a minibar and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. In the morning, the hotel serves a buffet breakfast. The Hardal Restaurant serves international cuisine such as pasta, fajitas and hamburgers. In the evening guests can enjoy cocktails and music at the lively bar. Pera Tulip City Taksim has a spa center with a hammam, a hot tub and massage facilities. There is also a fitness center with free weights. The Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia are a 5-minute tram ride from Pera Tulip City. Istiklal Street is just half a mile away. The hotel has 24-hour front desk service and a tour desk that assists with car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your City By Molton Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip City Taksim Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing