We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cost X Benefits”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The Hotel Sultania is located in the heart of Sultanahmet neigborhood. Within a short walk distance you are able to reach any of the most important touristic attractions from the old town. It is very easy as well to reach Grand Bazaar and the Egyptian Bazaar - excellent for shopping. The hotel is very confortable, although the decoration is a bit overwhelming. The room has all amenities you may wish for, and it is extremely clean. The breakfast is rich and delicious. One positive point is the Olive restaurant at the rooftop - you will be able to get a delicious turkish meal with a marvelous view of the Bosphorus and Hagia Sophia.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are very good, so if you're looking to save money these are a good option.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaschu_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,941)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sultania
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,936 - 1,942 of 2,941 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and loved Istanbul. There was so much to see and do. The hotel was clean, and in good condition. The staff were friendly and the front desk helped us out with every question. We had a private walking tour which was worth it. We also did an eating tour of a section of Istanbul which was unique and excellent. The grand bazaar was worth seeing. We spent a few hours there and that was good enough. We walked the tarlabasi street at night and ate at a small street off tarlabasi which was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOLondon_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Our recent stay at Hotel Sultania was brilliant. I had not been expecting to be so impressed—as the hotel was fairly inexpensive—but the building, decor, service, food and location were ideal. The well appointed, decorated and cleaned rooms made for a comfortable daily retreat after seeing Istanbul’s sights. The attention to detail by the staff was wonderful. Ozlem, the concierge was excellent. She happily helped us get around Istanbul, gave helpful tips and even checked us in online for our Turkey domestic flights while we were out sightseeing. The breakfasts were great, Olive restaurant with its views is a must do, and the Turkish delight in the rooms was a nice daily touch. The day spa there gave one of the best massages I’ve had in a long time – try the Sultan’s package for true relaxation! Having also stayed at other Istanbul hotels, I would definitely recommend Hotel Sultania as first preference.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Melb_traveller_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

From beginning to end, our 5-night stay at this hotel was wonderful. We were picked up at the airport, greeted at the hotel with Turkish coffee and various nibbles, discovered complimentary fresh fruit and wine in our spacious and delightful room, and were treated to two meals in the hotel restaurant together with complimentary afternoon tea/coffee. Also included in our package were two tours. The central location of the hotel meant we could walk everywhere we wanted to visit. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and we were very sad when we were taken back to the airport. However, we shall certainly return.

Room Tip: A corner one has two sets of windows/balconies
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Just got back from a fantastic trip to Turkey (Sept 2011). While in Istanbul we stayed at the Hotel Sultania, a smart hotel near many of the tourist attractions. The rooms were sparkling clean, the staff were helpful and attentive, the location was excellent and the breakfast was delicious and filling. Most staff understood English (a little or a lot, depending) which was helpful for me since I did not have much of a command of the Turkish language. You can even try on reproductions of Sultan era clothing for some special pictures if you want to amuse yourself and your friends back home. I would highly recommend this hotel to others as a great place to stay in vibrant Istanbul!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jackson1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I chose this hotel because of the brilliant reviews it had received and I was not disappointed! This is an excellent hotel in a great location in the old city and is only a minutes walk from Gulhane tram stop and 5 minutes walk to Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. The rooms are beautifully designed and decorated in Ottoman fashion. The beds were extremely comfortable. Every day complimentary Turkish delights and water are left in your room. The hotel is cleaned to a very high standard and the breakfast buffet has a wide range of cold and hot food. The best thing about the hotel, however, is the wonderful staff. They are so welcoming, friendly and attentive. Requests are dealt with speedily and nothing is too much trouble. Ozlem, guest Relations, was available every day to help with any query and with general advice or directions. She asks every day if everything is OK and if anything more can be done to make your stay better! My sons and I stayed for eight nights and one of the main reasons we had such a great holiday was because we loved the hotel so much. There was tea and coffee making facilities, a mini-bar, free wi-fi in the rooms, a dvd player, an Ipod docking station and the TV had several English channels. It was great to get back to the luxury of the rooms and the pool, turkish bath and sauna after a busy day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor have small balconies and although there is only a street view, it is quite...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anne172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The family room was great for a family of 4. Hotel's location was excellent and allowed us to walk to everything. The restaurant was great (dinners and breakfast buffet - the children loved the mezze). Would definitely stay here again as the excellent service the staff provided was what made this hotel stand out. Kids very much enjoyed the pool at the end of the day (even if it was very small).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,161 in Istanbul
3,043 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,161 in Istanbul
3,382 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,115 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#6 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,992 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £68 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing