We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Extremely helpful and friendly + great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,116 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Lanaken
2 reviews
“Extremely helpful and friendly + great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

The Sultania has been an amasing experience. Besides great facilities (pool, great breakfast buffet etc.) the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They are continuously doing their utmost to make your stay as pleasurable and memorable as possible. In addition; the location is absolutely perfect to visit anything that is located in the old city center (Aya Sofia, grand bazaar, Topkapi palace, etc) I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,439
    342
    27
    7
    0
See reviews for
518
1,483
147
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south orange, new jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just returned from three nights at the Hotel Sultania. The hotel was perfect. Wonderful staff, great room and a terrific breakfast.

First the staff--they went out of their way to make our stay memorable, helping us with directions, taxis and recommendations for dinner.

The rooms were wonderful--not large, but beautifully decorated and detailed. Our tv appeared as a mirror--you have to see this detail to believe it, and there was some terrific accent lighting throughout the room--incredible attention to detail. We also opted for a balcony which was great to step out on to check out the street activity.

There is a full breakfast that was delicious. The meal served next to the lobby, and you can eat either inside or on tables on the pedestrian "street". In the afternoon the outdoor seating ion the street is turned into a bar--nice after a long day of touring.

The location is also fabulous. There are numerous restaurants nearby, also with outside seating. The location is also close to the major tourist attractions--most are walkable.

Our best meal of the stay was across from the side entrance of the hotel at the Pasazade . Very good ottoman cuisine. Nice to be able to have an incredible meal and walk about 15 feet back to the hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaudifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hotel Sultania is a beautiful boutique hotel, conveniently located in the center of the old city so it's close to all the main attractions such as Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, the Topkapi Palace, the Spice Bazaar, the Grand Bazaar, Hodjapasha Culture Center, etc...

The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable though a little small. The breakfast buffet is plentiful with a good selection of hot and cold items.

I think what makes the hotel special and memorable is the staff there. They are very friendly, accommodating and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purpleorchid1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We travel constantly and had come to Hotel Sultania after traveling for three weeks throughout Europe. We could not have been more pleased - and we are really tough customers. The rooms were really well appointed and give a real exotic flair. The service personal, one and all, added to our enjoyment in many ways; giving us valuable information, talking politics and just being plain courteous. The breakfast, not to be missed (try the omelets), was a great way to start our busy day. Also, as we quickly found out, the hotel is centrally located for seeing many of the historical sites.

On my next trip to Istanbul, as this was my first, I will only stay at Hotel Sultania - and if you think I am connected to the hotel, you're wrong. You too will sing praise for this urban oasis.

Room Tip: I've read that some people had a problem with noise - we found really taking the time to close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ergo_tu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limasol, Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We decided to choose Istanbul for a 3 day romantic stay after we got married last saturday. Sultania was chosen on the back of positive reviews, location and appealing honeymoon package they were offering on the website. During our stay, our expectations were exceeded. Attention to details, good spirits from the staff and constant readiness to help with anything made us feel very welcome. Location was perfect for daily explorations either of Istanbul sites (Blue mosque, Suleymaniye mosque, Topkapi palace, bridges ...), gigantic B(i)az(z)aars where probably Macgyvers of the world are spending their free afternoons or just searching for a good restaurant.

The best thing, however, was always knowing that there is a nice, super comfortable room waiting for us very close by, with friendly employees just waiting to share their views on Basketball stars or life in general.

We will return for sure, good job guys at Sultania.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I recently spent 4 days at the Sultania and what a great choice in hotels, my wife was very happy
as on check in, the staff helped book private tours, advice on where to go and generally bent over backwards to welcome you. The themed rooms were roomy and surprisingly stylish generally clean with a welcoming turkish delight left on the bed. The hotel is right in the middle of old Istanbul and easy walking distance to the main attractions. The only downside is there is noise from the street but we enjoyed the sound enimating from the crowds. Breakfast is a highlight with a chef on hand to do eggs or pancakes. The rooftop restaurant was brilliant and a must do.
The pool and spa are only average but you will not spend time around pool with so much to do and see. Overall a great hotel with brilliant staff I hope they keep up the effort as I am already planning to come back.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

A friend recommended the Sultania for a one night stay at the end of a cruise.
Convenient for the top sites but in a small pedestrian area, the hotel lacked for nothing. Small gripes were the size of the lift and the lighting quality in the rooms.(not bright enough in the right places).
The staff and the level of personal service were really exceptional in this day and age of chain hotels
Good value for money and highly recommended

Room Tip: Try the honeymoon suite with the mirror on the ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#17 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,116 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,116 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing