We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #12 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
British Abroad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Modern Boutique Hotel well situated, a short walk from major tourist attractions ( Blue Mosque Hagia Sophia etc)
The staff make this hotel and are quite simply outstanding. Without exception they have a can do attitude, appear to enjoy their work, interact well with guests, are extremely helpful without being intrusive and made our four day stay truly memorable.
Rooms are well presented, airconditioned, and spotlessly clean. Avoid rooms adjacent to lift and stairwell which will be noisy. (Lift very small and in constant use guests and staff alike use stairwell)
Breakfast was well presented with a wide choice to suit all tastes. Fresh orange juice was provided and we were not charged extra for this . We ate at the Sultania Cafe at other times as well and enjoyed the food and excellent service. The Ehrboy Hotel across from the Hotel Sultania had a great restaurant reasonably priced too.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner room with terrace on 4th floor ( less noise, larger and not adjacent to lift or stairwell)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtimeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,455
    346
    27
    7
    0
See reviews for
521
1,492
149
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Istanbul is quite possibly our favorite city in the world. we are very avid travelers and been many places. If you go to Istanbul staying at the Sultania has many advantages. Location, the front desk staff, the concierge. The rooms are fine, not big, not small. The breakfast is better than average but not as good as some others. The hotel is a fairly peaceful place. The design is fantastic,
The negative aspects are some lazy staff, it is hard to get ice. (I know, somewhat petty-unless you like bourbon cold), not a great workout room and the shower is kind of goofy.
Having said all of the above, my wife and I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dittoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed for 5 nights (room 1406) and then a further 2 nights (room 1103). Concierge, client services, breakfast staff, room staff and Turkish spa staff, all made our stay in Istanbul, truly memorable. Make sure you have a treatment with either Mehmet or Sevgi in the Spa - fantastic! Interacting with any staff member was a real strength for this small hotel.

Rooms are spacious, well presented and kept spotlessly clean. Windows do need to be closed on the lower levels, but the air conditioning worked well.

While there is some noise on the street, the local restaurants add a great deal of personality and good food. The hotel's restaurant, The Olive, is a wonderful place to eat, watching the sunset and admiring the Hagia Sophia dominated skyline. Breakfast covers a wide variety of tastes.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to couples and would come back to Istanbul, especially if we could stay at Hotel Sultania.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

I went the Hotel on september 2012 with my wife for 4 nights and we love the area. The Hotel its an excellent option as 4*. The staff are very helpfull and polite. We've got the simple room and was pretty small as the bathroom too - but very cozy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Let me be straight. This hotel would have got five stars. The staff were attentive and friendly. They served us efficiently, providing plenty of tourist advice on check in. The condition of the hotel was excellent with a modern take on traditional Turkish design. Everything was clean and well serviced with plenty of nice little touches in the room including a daily delivery of a Turkish delight type snack! Some thought went into the lighting with orange accent lighting around the bed and artwork with a quirky Harem style print on the wall to the shower room.
The inclusive breakfast was comprehensive and varied from day to day with cold and hot options and more than enough to last the day.
The location is brilliant for all the tourist attractions, plenty of bars and restaurants and public transport links on the tram.

Here comes the fairly major downside. Due to the room we were allocated, I managed to get about 5 hours sleep in total over the 5 days of our visit. We were lucky enough to receive room 1107 on the first floor with three windows adjacent to an alleyway which hosted several outdoor seating areas for bars and restaurants. Efforts to close all windows and vents securely helped a little, but for a light sleeper, the noise remained unbearable until the early hours. Even then, silence was punctuated with the occasional drunk wail.
Our hopes for an lie in to compensate were soon dashed, due to the fact that directly next to our room door was a fire door leading to the main stairwell. This was used excessively due to the inadequate lift, so every morning, from 7am onwards, every occupant on our floor was coming and going (and probably those on other floors trying to circumvent lift queues). An audible bang could be heard with infuriating regularity each and every day. For me, this totally ruined my stay, a crucial part of which is to have a restful and relaxing night's sleep.

Be warned, if you get a bad room, this place is hell.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor and room 7 and, I gather from other reviews, room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasmaksultanhotel, The Management at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
First of all,we would like to thank you to choose our Hotel for your stay in Istanbul.
We are appreciate for your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
We want to explain that we shared your comment and inconvenience with the Istanbul Municipality about the noise which is coming from street.

We hope to host you in our Hotel again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
261 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel purely off of the trip advisor feedback and it was wonderful. Ther reviews are correct and everything about thr hotel is wonderful. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They are also incredibly welcoming and make you feel very comfortable. They all speak excellent English. They arranged a half day guide for me and she was fabulous. Ask them for Ozlem, she is the best! The rooms are very big and the breakfast is great. The location is also perfect. There is a reason this hotel is ranked so high and they deserve the ranking. The price is also very attractive.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We were recommended to the Hotel Sultania by friends who received a recommendation from their friends and we will now be passing on the recommendation! Comfortable, clean, attention to detail and some of the friendliest most helpful staff we have ever come across. The location cannot be beat and the hotel is a stones throw from the Pasazade, one of Istanbul's nicest restaurants. On the top of the building is the excellent Olive restaurant with its terrace. It's a great place for a meal, afternoon tea or a drink, with direct views of the Haghia Sophia. Breakfast was great - really cannot fault this hotel at all. Staff are fantastic! We also enjoyed using the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,129 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing