We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Hotel Sultania has a great location and offers excellent service. We stayed for six nights and were able to easily reach anywhere in the city by foot or public transport. The staff were always happy to help and offer advice on where to go and what to do. The hotel has a nice ambience, good facilities and is well-maintained; the breakfast buffet is excellent. I recommend Hotel Sultania without hesitation!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you to choose Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We are appreciate for your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
you can be sure you have another home in Istanbul,
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact with me again.

Kindest Regards,
HILMI CALIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,945)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sultania
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,529 - 1,535 of 2,945 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms. Very helpful concierge. Delicious and fresh breakfast with custom omelets, waffles, fruits, chocolate fondue, cheese, pastries and more. Great location, within walking distance to major sights and only 2 blocks from tram. We recommend the restaurant directly across from the front door for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OkieDokieMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

DEAR GUEST
First of all, I would like to thank you to choose Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We are appreciate for your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
And let us serve these delicious pastries to you one more time
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact with me again.

Kindest Regards,
HILMI CALIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Good, clean, centrally located hotel, close to Sultanahmet. Great room design, good service, reasonably priced. The artwork is interesting, bathroom design exceptional ( The similar type of hotel I stayed in recently, the Art Series Blackman in Melbourne could learn a lot from this hotel, when it comes to design, pricing and friendliness!)
The hotel website advertises higher prices than what you can find on the net, so shop around first! The breakfast is not that magnificent, but passable. The bathroom sink was overflowing on my arrival but got fixed the following day. I ordered room service and a hot tea, they brought only tea bags and asked me to make my own tea using room kettle, however charged me for it. So make your own tea and save five bucks. Overall, go for it. The bed is magnificent!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADL7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

DEAR GUEST
First of all, I would like to thank you to choose Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We are appreciate for your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
I know that is not easy to come from your home to here any time but when you come you will have same kinds of beds to have a magnificent sleep
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact with me again.

Kindest Regards,

HILMI CALIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I usually travel alone and was never in Istanbul so I chose the Sultaia based on other TripAdvisor reviews. I was not disappointed. I had a special that included an airport pickup and breakfast. The driver was there when I got off the plane after a very long journey. The hotel was very nice, which allowed for more personal attention. I was immediately met by their customer relations person who briefed me on various aspects of the hotel and location. The room was beautiful and clean. There was a large flat screen TV in the room and the bed was very comfortable. The room also had a mini-bar. What I enjoyed most was the location of the Sultania. I was within walking distance of major attractions such as the Grand Bazaar and the Egyptian Market as well as the many mosques and palace nearby. There were tons of restaurants and shops in the vicinity and even though I was by myself, I always felt very safe. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, even when I got lost several times walking back from my sightseeing.

I would note that due to the nature of Istanbul, be prepared to walk up some hilly streets. I liked the cobblestone streets in the area and all the great places to eat and shop. The only problem I had was with the internet speed in my room but part of this was due to the fact that I brought an old computer which factored in. There was a computer in the lobby that you could use at any time that also had a printer. I would also say that the rooftop restaurant was gorgeious, especially at night wiht wonderful views of the city. I plan on staying at the Sultania when I return to Istanbul. I would add photos but the rooms and hotel looked exactly like the photos on their website. I should note that I was there for several days at the end of December until January 2 2013.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are niice. It depends on how many people and your needs.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fireweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you to choose Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We are appreciate for your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
Our aim is to feel our guests feel like a sultan. After I see your review I said that we did.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact with me again.

Kindest Regards,
HILMI CALIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Our flight arrived an hour late, and the hotel's driver waited for us to drive us to the hotel.
The location is very good in terms of all the tourist attractions being around you, but it is hard to find for the first time to get there.

The hotel lobby and restaurant is extremely clean. The entire hotel is very nicely designed and clean. Each room has a special design with dedication to sultans. Once you walk in the room, you will be delighted towards the beautiful lightning around the room, (and the bed!!). Very comfortable mattress and selections of pillow.

The only downside to this was the room we took was very popular, and the people before us didn't check out until an hour late. We were very tired from our flight, and we had to wait such a long time for the manager to clear the room. Other than that, no complain, excellent service and hospitality from the Turks.

Room Tip: Choose the room with hammam, and ask them to add the romantic welcome package.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

DEAR GUEST
First of all, I would like to thank you to choose Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We are appreciate for your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
I can also say that our rooms desing was organised with the guest reviews. You can easily observe with the other reviews too.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact with me again.

Kindest Regards,
HILMI CALIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The Hotel Sultania is one of the nicest and friendliest hotels we have ever stayed in, and we would highly recommend it. The rooms are so beautiful and well designed. The breakfasts were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. We loved the turkish delight on the bed every night which was such a lovely touch. The hotel is very well situated to get to all of the wonderful sights of Istanbul. We can't wait to return to Istanbul and would only consider staying at the Sultania it is so special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

DEAR GUEST
First of all, I would like to thank you to choose Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We are appreciate for your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
I also thank you to share your ideas with our guest will be.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact with me again.

Kindest Regards,
HILMI CALIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Our trip to Istanbul was to celebrate our 30th anniversary and Hotel Sultania was everything we hoped for and more. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help/advise whether it be getting the best pillow or where to visit/eat and how to get there. Ideally placed we could walk to all the main sights easily. Our room was excellent, spacious, clean with lots of attention to detail to make our stay very comfortable .... loved the lighting, window sofa,and the harem shower room. The breakfasts are amazing, choice galore for either continental or cooked (or both!) and excellent quality. This is a very special hotel and helps make a visit to Istanbul an especially happy memory.

Room Tip: Was worth paying the extra to have the sofa through a week's stay.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

DEAR GUEST


First of all, I would like to thank you to choose Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We are appreciate for your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
Be sure about that we will keep our fantastic style with your little helps
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact with me again.

Kindest Regards,
HILMI CALIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,047 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,388 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,121 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,993 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £68 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Odigeo, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing