We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in the Heart of Tourist Istanbul”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #10 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband I stayed 3 nights at Hotel Sultania during our first trip to Istanbul. The hotel is ideally located to tour many of the main attractions of Istanbul - Hagia Sophia, The Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cisterns are all less than 10 minutes away and the Spice Market, Ferry Ports, and the Grand Bazaar are easily walkable. The hotel itself is on a pedestrian street with a lot of restaurants which is convenient. As it's in the heart of the tourist sector, it does indeed feel touristy but that will be the case anywhere in the Old Town.
The room was clean and comfortable. They're decorated with a big of a Middle Eastern feel and perhaps a little kitschy. The sink is located outside of the bathroom and had minimal counter space but aside from that, we found the room perfectly functional. We slept well and were taken care of well by the staff.
This is a great hotel choice if you want to be right in the midst of all the main tourist sights. If you want something with a more authentic feel, you might want to venture across the Golden Horn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJReid1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 2,983 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

10 days in Istanbul in this gem was fabulous. From the minute we arrived here we felt at home! The reception staff were just hilarious as well as bring so helpful and knowledgeable this fabulous city. The hotel is situated in the old part of Istanbul and is so easy to get to the Hagia Sophia, The Blue Mosque Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar are all about 10 or so minute walk from here.
The hotel is in a small precinct with other small hotels and quite a number of restaurants all vying for your attention. The staff of each all battle with each other for your patronage. Have heard some people getting irate at these people but we had a ball and laughed with them the whole time.
The hotel's accommodation is lovely. Lovely decorated rooms, not too big, not too small. The bathroom setup is a bit strange but you get used to it. Breakfast is in a small restaurant on street level and is buffet style with all the good basics.
Had a great time here and will go back there next time I'm in Istanbul without any hesitation! YAY!!!

Room Tip: Pick a room up high because of the restaurants downstairs - nice, lively noise that doesn't go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for just 14 hours on our transit to Antalya and me and my partner didn't want to leave this hotel.

We arrived around 8pm, the process was fairly quick. Receptionist was generous and gave us a free upgrade to romantic suit for which we were really grateful.

The room decor was awesome, the ambience makes you feel nothing but love ! The washroom was great and we did slept tight !

We lost our room card when we went out for a stroll and were very worried about it but the staff acted so cool and professionally as if nothing happened. Gave us two extra access cards just like that.

I will never ever forget this hotel and the room and memories associated to this hotel would be strong. I am definitely coming back and would recommend it to anybody who is staying at Istanbul.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room which doesn't face the street. You will have a better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sami1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A great little hotel well situated and within walking distance of all the top tourist sights and some great little restaurants on the doorstep. The room décor was amazing with mood lights under the bed and we were welcomed by wine, and Turkish sweets. the standard of the room was high with attention to detail. Breakfasts were great. The staff were very friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay here again. It certainly made our break in Istanbul a great one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 838wilbur101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We visited Istanbul as a stop-over to Livigno (a group of 12). We arrived at 5am in the morning and the transfer done by the hotel was efficient and friendly. Even though we were too early to check in, the staff kindly offered us a seat in the reception room, and to enjoy breakfast while we waited for the appropriate time to check in.
The rooms were amazing. The location is great. The staff are friendly, helpful and kind.
A must visit, must see hotel. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Of the 6 different rooms we stayed in, every single person was happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danita k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A gem of a hotel, amazing decor, the room was out of this world gorgeous. A must for a romantic stay in istanbul. The customer service made us feel so very special, and was faultless in every way, It was so comfortable, immaculately clean, and the breakfast was gorgeous. Superb location, we ate at a great restaurant next door, and then sat outdoors for a drink next to the hotel. The rooftop bar was also delightful for a late drink with views of the sights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a great find, the people are so friendly and helpful, the location is perfect for any kind of break (long or short) and the atmosphere in the hotel created by the overall cleanliness, decor and people, made our visit even more special. We would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatscot4thattempt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,136 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,498 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,175 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,346 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#9 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £55 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing