We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #10 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel located close to the major tourist attractions - Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkai Palace and Basilica Cistern. You can also walk to the Spice and Grand Bazaar.

The staff at the hotel are excellent, very helpful and friendly. I would certainly recommend staying here. We were in Despina Hatun Room which was big roomy and had a balcony.

We also included a package with the hotel which included transfers, sightseeing, etc. We found this to be good value.

I also visited the spa for a lovely relaxing massage - again I would recommend this if you have the time.

Thanks again to the staff who made our stay enjoyable and if we visit Istabul again this would certainly be the place we would stay at.

The only downside was the small lift - we didn't manage to find any stairs. However there was another lift which linked to the main Olive restaurant.

Room Tip: The Desina Hatun room is a lovely large room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairif1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,241 of 3,028 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sultania for four nights in the middle of November.
The hotel is in a fantastic location in the middle of the Sultanahmet area. It’s within walking distance of all the major attractions, loads of great restaurants nearby and a tram station virtually at your door step. Due to its great location, we didn’t bother buying the prepaid tram passes and in the 5 days of our stay only used the trams once.

Customer service was excellent. Starting with the welcoming cup of Turkish tea, the introduction to the hotel and city we received from the front of house staff on our arrival to the attention to detail from the waiting staff at breakfast, nothing could be faulted.

I also want to pass on a big thank you to Serap Kurtdere, the customer relations manager who even arranged a surprise birthday cake for me which was presented by the chef and restaurant team at breakfast. It was delicious!

Room and hotel amenities were of the highest standards, cotton bath robes, towels changed daily, complimentary mineral water (replaced daily) and even freshly made Turkish delight in our room on arrival.

Breakfasts were filling and varied. We especially enjoyed the fresh honey cut straight off the honeycomb. We ate in the Olive restaurant on the night of our arrival and can highly recommend the set taster menu. Each course was a meal in its own right.

Lots of small things make this a fantastic place to stay: free WIFI in all the rooms (not just the lobby area), business centre with free printing service for boarding cards/tickets/vouchers, free afternoon tea/coffee and pastries in the lobby, the presence of a spa with gym and pool (rarely found in central Istanbul hotels) was an added bonus.

If you’re going to Istanbul, I’d also recommend you purchase a Museum Pass. For 85 TLR you get entry into a number of the major museums and discounts at other outlets. We made full use of the card over its 72 hour validity period.

Room Tip: We were in room 1407 which overlooked a pedestrianised road to the side of the hotel. Rooms ovelook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We reached this hotel on Friday evening and were greeted by two very helpful receptionists who checked us in. The senior receptionist then told us that although they have our room ready for us, they have two rooms out of service due to a leak in the hotel, and if we would mind moving to another good hotel, only 2 mins away, for 2 nights and we can then move back to this hotel on our last night. We were quite hesitant and gutted as we were really looking forward to staying here for the duration of our trip to Istanbul. The receptionist offered us a free three course meal for two on their roof top restaurant, free transfers back to the hotel (although we'd already booked ours), free use of the turkish bath and even try and upgrade our room on our return. We decided to have a look at the other hotel, the Sirkeci Konak, which has very good reviews on here too and decided that we'll move to the other hotel for two nights.

On our return to this hotel, we were absolutely shocked by the upgraded room. It had a jacuzzi, a TV in the bathroom and main room, as well as our own fireplace. We couldn't have asked for a better room for our final night in Istanbul.

The staff at they hotel were very friendly, and also very grateful to us for moving hotels to help them out.

I was however slightly disappointed with the Swimming Pool and Sauna and Turkish Bath - The swimming pool was absolutely freezing, the Sauna was 85 degrees hot, and my boyfriend and I could only sit in there for a few minutes if that, and the turkish bath was beautifully designed, it wasn't steamed as it should be and there were no oils or massage offered afterwards. It was just us pouring warm water over ourselves. However, the overall experience at this hotel was great, and we couldn't thank the staff enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Location Location Location – 2 blocks from Tram and so much was less than 10 mins walk. It was Ramadan when we were there and loved all the energy at night by the Blue Mosque. Room was nicely appointed, with lots of space for luggage and clothing. We could not hear other guests in their rooms. Breakfast was very enjoyable buffet with local and European choices and great service, including the daily shows from the alley cats. Concierge was fantastic and gave us lots of good tips as well as restaurant recommendations. We had snacks in the bar once – great view and very tasty spreads. Only drawbacks were the pool was located inside with no outside views and the bed was on the to firm side for me. We were going to stay at the 4Seasons but then my cousin who lives in IST recommended this place. Glad we changed. It was less that ½ the price and IMO better location. I would return here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1503, corner with a Balcony. To hot in summer to use but loved the light from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skijour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were nicely surprised that in the very center there is this cosy and calm hotel, where you feel like home, also thanks to the excellent service and the staff. Very nice SPA, clean and very beautifully decorated. Tasty breakfasts.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the balcony, they are on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My Mum and I had a weekend break in Istanbul 3-6 Nov, and chose Hotel Sultania based on positive feedback on Trip Advisor - we would agree with all the positive feedback previous guests have shared. What a fabulous hotel!

This hotel is outstanding on many levels - the location is excellent with many of the main sights close by and a great selection of restaurants on the doorstep; our room was a good size and spotlessly clean (thanks to Erdogan!); the buffet breakfast selection was huge with lots of fresh fruit, local cheeses, pastries and cooked options, and while we didn't have time to use the spa facilities, they looked great too.

However what really differentiates Sultania Hotel from any other I've stayed in anywhere in the world is their friendly, helpful, efficient and always smiling team. The customer service they provide is truly world class and rivals any 5 star hotel - attentive and perfectly pitched without being over bearing. From our collection at the airport to our welcome glass of tea and cake on arrival at the hotel, every morning at breakfast and whenever we walked through reception, we were always greeted by a cheery team member asking how we were, what plans we had for the day and if they could be of any assistance. Everyone we came into contact with was outstanding, particularly Serap (who made great recommendations on trips/sights), Dilek, Erdogan and Gursoy.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and plan to return. The attentive, helpful team at the Hotel Sultania helped make our weekend in Istanbul a delight!

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms would be to the same high standard (spacious, clean, great shower, Turkish d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacqAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

One of the best hotels you will ever experience. Close to all the major attractions within the tourist area of Istanbul. Beautifully decorated rooms with a turkish look and modern lighting. Upon check in we were given a map and talked through all the major attractions within the city. Breakfast was delicious with a huge selection of breads, cakes, biscuits, nuts, fruits, honey off the honey coomb, cereals, yogurts, cheeses, hot and cold drinks and also freshly prepared omellete/fried egg or waffle. We were presented with a free birthday cake and gifts upon checking out. Includes use of gym and swimming pool.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,612 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,401 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,227 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £52 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing